[Official] The Qnix/X-Star 1440p Monitor Club - Page 1309 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] The Qnix/X-Star 1440p Monitor Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13081 of 26154 (permalink) Old 02-03-2014, 01:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hammelgammler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 280
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawson67 View Post

Nice good job...if you had took the panel out of the frame you could of got it perfect though...i did just the same as you have just done when i first got mine...yet i found that i kept opening it up every single day trying to make it better...i would strip it down every single night and turn the lights off trying more tape balls paper and cardboard to push pull the frame in the case trying to get it better....i also found on mine all this did was pushing the light from one area of the screen to another part. even though i did improve it alot like you have done and that would make most people happy however for me its different,

I soon realized that if i did not do a full strip down and straighten the frame that i would be opening my case every single night for the rest of my life trying improve it further lol...i think i must have some OCD !...anyhow its just me i need everything perfect or it wont stop bugging me is always on my mind and i wont stop looking for it....the straightening of the frame does fix it 100% though

I'm also that kind of person that wants everything perfect, but i straighted the frame as good as i could do.
How did you straightened your frame?

Other question: Do you guys think its worth to buy a colorimeter for 180€, if i calibrate three of these monitors and a 1080p beamer?
The "X-Rite i1 Display Pro" looks nice, but i dont know if its worth it.
That the colors are not "exactly" the same on every monitor bothers me some kind.
hammelgammler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13082 of 26154 (permalink) Old 02-03-2014, 02:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ImmortalTechniq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 179
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
I'm also that kind of person that wants everything perfect, but i straighted the frame as good as i could do.
How did you straightened your frame?

Other question: Do you guys think its worth to buy a colorimeter for 180€, if i calibrate three of these monitors and a 1080p beamer?
The "X-Rite i1 Display Pro" looks nice, but i dont know if its worth it.
That the colors are not "exactly" the same on every monitor bothers me some kind
Your name sounds german, If so may I ask you how your Monitor got send to you like UPS or Fedex and did they charge you the VAT and zoll cost at the door?
ImmortalTechniq is offline  
post #13083 of 26154 (permalink) Old 02-03-2014, 02:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jetlitheone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 419
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalTechniq View Post

Your name sounds german, If so may I ask you how your Monitor got send to you like UPS or Fedex and did they charge you the VAT and zoll cost at the door?

He's from the UK, also

Jetlitheone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13084 of 26154 (permalink) Old 02-03-2014, 02:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hammelgammler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 280
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalTechniq View Post

Your name sounds german, If so may I ask you how your Monitor got send to you like UPS or Fedex and did they charge you the VAT and zoll cost at the door?

Yeah im german. My two monitors were send with FedEx and i had to pay 19% VAT but as far i can remember no zoll cost.
The third monitor is the one of my girlfriend. She bought it from green-sum, and after asking them they should mark it as a gift and send it with DHL, she doesn't need to pay any other costs at the door at all.
The monitor was also declared with a lower value than it actually was. (220$ instead of 359$)
hammelgammler is offline  
post #13085 of 26154 (permalink) Old 02-03-2014, 02:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
lawson67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Poole Dorset UK
Posts: 927
Rep: 133 (Unique: 91)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammelgammler View Post

I'm also that kind of person that wants everything perfect, but i straighted the frame as good as i could do.
How did you straightened your frame?

Other question: Do you guys think its worth to buy a colorimeter for 180€, if i calibrate three of these monitors and a 1080p beamer?
The "X-Rite i1 Display Pro" looks nice, but i dont know if its worth it.
That the colors are not "exactly" the same on every monitor bothers me some kind.

I did mine by striping the screen out of the frame and using a flat work surface as a straight reference...."my dining room table" ...using just brute force with my hands..the whole job only took me 30-40 mins to strip down repair and reassemble and i had very bad BLB...the picture below is how it turned out,

As for should you get a calibrator if you only had one screen i would say no don't bother cos people like myself who already own a colour calibrator can give you a bloody good 120hz or 96hz and even a 60hz ICC profile...not that at 60hz you really need one cos the out of the box colours are fantastic on this panel...however you totally need a ICC profile at 96hz - 120hz to correct the higher gamma shift ruining at these higher refresh rates....but if you have multiple screens side by side i would get one for sure...however i think if most people just had one Qnix they would not bother...for me i am a gadget man and love owning gadgets so i got my one anyhow tongue.gif





lawson67 is offline  
post #13086 of 26154 (permalink) Old 02-03-2014, 02:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hammelgammler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 280
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Damn, your monitor looks beatiful.
Very nice result you got there.

So yeah, i think i will buy that colorimeter in a few days.
One monitor runs at 96Hz and the other one at 84Hz, limited due to the dual link to mini dp adapter.
So the colors match not exactly, even with a good pre calibrated profile. I also think that not every monitor has the exact same colors, so that a colorimeter would be a nice investement.
Thanks for your support lawson! I think i will open up the second monitor again at the weekend and try the "brute force"-method. biggrin.gif
hammelgammler is offline  
post #13087 of 26154 (permalink) Old 02-03-2014, 02:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Loktar Ogar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Prison Planet
Posts: 279
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawson67 View Post

I did mine by striping the screen out of the frame and using a flat work surface as a straight reference...."my dining room table" ...using just brute force with my hands..the whole job only took me 30-40 mins to strip down repair and reassemble and i had very bad BLB...the picture below is how it turned out
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)


Genius! thumb.gif

Loving your work and dedication to this thread. wink.gif
Loktar Ogar is offline  
post #13088 of 26154 (permalink) Old 02-03-2014, 02:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
lawson67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Poole Dorset UK
Posts: 927
Rep: 133 (Unique: 91)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loktar Ogar View Post

[/SPOILER]

Genius! thumb.gif

Loving your work and dedication to this thread. wink.gif

Thank you very much thumb.gif
lawson67 is offline  
post #13089 of 26154 (permalink) Old 02-03-2014, 02:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dyekid217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 100
Rep: 0
well after much debate and personal thinking.. I just picked up another 660 for SLI !!

Now all I have to do is get my hands on one of these 120hz babys.
Dyekid217 is offline  
post #13090 of 26154 (permalink) Old 02-03-2014, 02:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
lawson67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Poole Dorset UK
Posts: 927
Rep: 133 (Unique: 91)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dyekid217 View Post

well after much debate and personal thinking.. I just picked up another 660 for SLI !!

Now all I have to do is get my hands on one of these 120hz babys.

Good for you i run 2x gtx 660 in SLI and can hit 120fps in tomb raider in ultra at 1440 and world of tanks and a fair few other games...good choice with your other gtx660 card and will make you really appreciate your monitor...good for you thumb.gif
lawson67 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off