[Official] The Qnix/X-Star 1440p Monitor Club - Page 244 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] The Qnix/X-Star 1440p Monitor Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2431 of 26154 (permalink) Old 06-01-2013, 07:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
hamzatm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom
Posts: 822
Rep: 34 (Unique: 29)
That XRite one looks siiiiiick

On my monitor anyway.

hamzatm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2432 of 26154 (permalink) Old 06-01-2013, 08:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Wolf404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
So, does the Qnix come with the DVI-D cable or do I have to buy one separately?
Wolf404 is offline  
post #2433 of 26154 (permalink) Old 06-01-2013, 08:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wrigleyvillain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,343
Rep: 81 (Unique: 60)
Dude the answer to like every single question you've asked (and there have been plenty) is in the OP. This one would be covered in the unboxing part if not elsewhere too. (Hint: YES).

And to Manju--there is an obvious difference between those three images but as we are viewing them on our displays with our color and calibrations (or lack thereof) we are not able to see exactly what you are seeing color-wise. And, as such, your default looks the best to me and has the most "pop" and the last one looks washed out and awful (though personal pref also comes into play).

And can you link me to that wallpaper? thumb.gif

wrigleyvillain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2434 of 26154 (permalink) Old 06-01-2013, 09:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
andygully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 43
Rep: 0
ordered the Matte X-Star DP2710 from hulustar cant wait to get in
andygully is offline  
post #2435 of 26154 (permalink) Old 06-01-2013, 09:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 582
Rep: 26 (Unique: 22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf404 View Post

So, does the Qnix come with the DVI-D cable or do I have to buy one separately?

Yes it comes with a cable.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrigleyvillain View Post

Dude the answer to like every single question you've asked (and there have been plenty) is in the OP. This one would be covered in the unboxing part if not elsewhere too. (Hint: YES).

And to Manju while there is an obvious differenence between those three images--as we are viewing them on our displays with our color and calibrations (or lack thereof) we are not able to see exactly what you are seeing color-wise. And, as such, your default looks the best to me and has the most "pop" and the last one looks washed out and awful (though personal pref also comes into play).

And can you link me to that wallpaper? thumb.gif

I can't find the exact wallpaper sorry, but I got it from this site which has some really nice wallpapers.
http://wallpaperswide.com/

I agree with your first statement 100%, that it's hard to show via a picture why you shouldn't rely on the ICC profiles in the OP for your monitors. My point was that there is so much variation that I'd be surprised if one works as "Intended".

As for your comparison of the Calibrated and Default images, you're pretty much bang on. But the Calibrated one is neutral and is meant to look like that. It is not washed at all. The default one is so over saturated that the picture looks like a Tropical Beach, whilst the calibrated one makes it look like a Beach on an overcast day.

The default image has so much blue that it is showing in the rocks and addition to that the foliage and tress in the far background have no definition or separation at all.

Look at the water reflections too in the default image it doesn't enhance the mud at the shallow bed of the river and there is so much white that it distorts the details - reflections of the clouds and trees. etc etc etc

The best way to explain it is by looking at this video and reading through the campaign:
http://www.avforums.com/home/pictureperfect.html

Anyway I'll upload my Profile and add it to this post shortly.
http://www.4shared.com/file/nExLu2YU/DUAL-DVI_2013-06-01_22_HQ_3xGa.html

9 click brightness from bottom. 110hz.

majnu is offline  
post #2436 of 26154 (permalink) Old 06-01-2013, 09:39 AM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
y2kcamaross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Pekin, Illinois
Posts: 3,890
Rep: 164 (Unique: 137)
With my gtx 780s I can now run @139hz rock solid, but surprisingly even 1 more mhz it black screens, on my 7970s it'd go all the way top 149 on the desktop

y2kcamaross is offline  
post #2437 of 26154 (permalink) Old 06-01-2013, 09:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
erikss0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cessy, France
Posts: 7
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
erikss0n is offline  
post #2438 of 26154 (permalink) Old 06-01-2013, 10:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 582
Rep: 26 (Unique: 22)

Merci smile.gif

majnu is offline  
post #2439 of 26154 (permalink) Old 06-01-2013, 10:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
erikss0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cessy, France
Posts: 7
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Hehe.. I am Swedish so "Tack" would fit even better.... :-)
erikss0n is offline  
post #2440 of 26154 (permalink) Old 06-01-2013, 11:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
fagoatse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 45
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by majnu View Post

Yes it comes with a cable.
I can't find the exact wallpaper sorry, but I got it from this site which has some really nice wallpapers.
http://wallpaperswide.com/

I agree with your first statement 100%, that it's hard to show via a picture why you shouldn't rely on the ICC profiles in the OP for your monitors. My point was that there is so much variation that I'd be surprised if one works as "Intended".

As for your comparison of the Calibrated and Default images, you're pretty much bang on. But the Calibrated one is neutral and is meant to look like that. It is not washed at all. The default one is so over saturated that the picture looks like a Tropical Beach, whilst the calibrated one makes it look like a Beach on an overcast day.

The default image has so much blue that it is showing in the rocks and addition to that the foliage and tress in the far background have no definition or separation at all.

Look at the water reflections too in the default image it doesn't enhance the mud at the shallow bed of the river and there is so much white that it distorts the details - reflections of the clouds and trees. etc etc etc

The best way to explain it is by looking at this video and reading through the campaign:
http://www.avforums.com/home/pictureperfect.html


Anyway I'll upload my Profile and add it to this post shortly.
http://www.4shared.com/file/nExLu2YU/DUAL-DVI_2013-06-01_22_HQ_3xGa.html

9 click brightness from bottom. 110hz.

I'll give it a go, matte or glossy?
edit: cant download w/o logging in, mediafire pretty please.
fagoatse is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off