[Official] The Qnix/X-Star 1440p Monitor Club - Page 52 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] The Qnix/X-Star 1440p Monitor Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 26154 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 05:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BradF1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 102
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dascth View Post

If my calibrations look crap on your monitor, then this one will too! smile.gif Otherwise, give it a try if you're wanting another 96Hz cal. I think there was only one available, so at least you can pick between two now.

QX2710 2013-04-28 D6500 2.2 HQ XYZLUT+MTX - 96Hz.zip 434k .zip file

Just installed it... I'm confused on why both yours and cors gamma looks great, but there is a noticeable difference. His makes my whites more reddish, and yours makes them more blueish.
BradF1979 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 26154 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
wntrsnowg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SD, CA, USA
Posts: 601
Rep: 76 (Unique: 56)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pox67 View Post

question for dascth: I have watched your dismantling videos, nice work. Did you ever test the extra buttons on the control panel?
You showed the Auto and Menu buttons, I just wondered if they actually do anything.

I also wasn't able to find if the electrical tape helped with backlight bleed?

I tested them also. They do nothing




All the posted color calibrations look off on my screen. Some are too cool, some to dull, some make colors look off, etc. I guess i am unlucky that my panel has so much variance. How much do color calibrators cost?
wntrsnowg is offline  
post #513 of 26154 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 05:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
apav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 878
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by y2kcamaross View Post

it's not actually coil whine, it's the capacitors I believe vibrating, you can fix it by dampening them with some adhesive, but as far as I know the qnix don't have this problem

I get some buzzing at 120hz. I can hear it, but it's much less noisy than the buzzing on my Catleap. But it's there if you listen for it, especially on a white page. Not sure if anyone else has got this monitor to 120hz, opened an all white page (wikipedia or google images for some reason were the loudest with my Catleap, but it doesn't make a difference with my Qnix) and put their ear to the screen.
apav is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #514 of 26154 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 05:25 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
y2kcamaross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Pekin, Illinois
Posts: 3,890
Rep: 164 (Unique: 137)
Quote:
Originally Posted by apav View Post

I get some buzzing at 120hz. I can hear it, but it's much less noisy than the buzzing on my Catleap. But it's there if you listen for it, especially on a white page. Not sure if anyone else has got this monitor to 120hz, opened an all white page (wikipedia or google images for some reason were the loudest with my Catleap, but it doesn't make a difference with my Qnix) and put their ear to the screen.

Tried it, no buzzing here, and no scan lines on this monitor, my catleap has very visible scan lines at 120hz, but the deliner program takes care of that, at least in windows

y2kcamaross is offline  
post #515 of 26154 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 05:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
apav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 878
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by y2kcamaross View Post

Tried it, no buzzing here, and no scan lines on this monitor, my catleap has very visible scan lines at 120hz, but the deliner program takes care of that, at least in windows

I hear a light buzzing, but I did get scan lines at 120hz so I had to use LCD Reduced and "Reduce DVI Frequency" in CCC to get rid of them. I think 120hz is fine now, haven't seen any scan lines yet. But this probably means that my board can't really handle 120hz, or it does but it really has to struggle.

On a side note, I've been using UDPixel to get rid of this stuck pixel for days now whenever I'm on the computer and this little freaking thing won't go away! mad.gif Does that mean that there's a very good chance it won't ever un-stuck?
apav is offline  
post #516 of 26154 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 05:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
zhoulander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 37
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Wow just calibrated with my new i1 Display Pro and my original from dream-seller looks fantastic now. My mouse cursor is no longer red thumb.gif

Monitor: QNIX 2710 Glossy
Refresh rate: 100 Hz
Brightness: 10 clicks from bottom
Luminance: 120
Gamma: 2.2

For my red-hue monitor:
http://www.zhoulander.com/projects/qnix/qnix-ds-100hz-b10.icm

For my non-red-hue monitor:
http://www.zhoulander.com/projects/qnix/qnix-hulu-100hz-b10.icm
zhoulander is offline  
post #517 of 26154 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 05:42 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
wntrsnowg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SD, CA, USA
Posts: 601
Rep: 76 (Unique: 56)
Quote:
Originally Posted by apav View Post

I get some buzzing at 120hz. I can hear it, but it's much less noisy than the buzzing on my Catleap. But it's there if you listen for it, especially on a white page. Not sure if anyone else has got this monitor to 120hz, opened an all white page (wikipedia or google images for some reason were the loudest with my Catleap, but it doesn't make a difference with my Qnix) and put their ear to the screen.

I get buzzing from the speakers when they are at high volume. I recommend to have the speakers turned all the way down and use a different audio output
wntrsnowg is offline  
post #518 of 26154 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 05:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dascth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 126
Rep: 21 (Unique: 15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BradF1979 View Post

Just installed it... I'm confused on why both yours and cors gamma looks great, but there is a noticeable difference. His makes my whites more reddish, and yours makes them more blueish.

Neither looks neutral then? Not really that surprising actually. Oh, and here's the reason why you can see similar "gamma values" on that website, but still see perceptual differences:

Gamma values specify the luminosity "curve" or, as simply as I can put it, how fast it gets brighter as you move away from black. Gamma doesn't affect the brightness of your screen; black and white are still the same brightness, it just affect the scale in-between them. There is no single gamma value, for white or for red, green, or blue when you're measuring it on your monitor; that website just helps you guess at an average of sorts. To get your gamma profile, you take measurements at a bunch of different levels ranging from all the way black to all the way white (or red/green/blue if testing gamma of a single subpixel instead of the combined grayscale gamma) and then you compare the SLOPE of each point (rate of increase of brightness at that point) to the slope at that brightness on the perfect gamma curve you are targeting (2.2 usually, 2.4 for dark movie settings). SO, you can see that gamma (expected slope) could be way off at any point, and maybe not so bad at another. There are serious serious limitations with calibrations done via that website, but it is the absolute best your're going to get without any equipment. Gamma and grayscale calibration serves a purpose, but it's not everything. It's really hard to comprehend all the ways a monitor can be "off", it's insane. Gamma only deals with luminosity, there's also saturation and hue, and those aren't really linear simple things either. So, combine them all and you will never be satisfied again, and never have a truly perfectly calibrated monitor. So, yeah a single averaged (and eye-balled) gamma value won't be able to represent the nuances of what you see. What'll really blow your mind is that my two monitors don't look the same even after each goes through really complex calibrations for 3hrs a piece. You'd think you could make them look the same, but you can't. That's why people still talk about IPS vs PLS vs VA and crap like that; if you could just calibrate away the differences, then you would!

Man, I just killed an internet tree on that long message. I really do try to keep these things short; I just have a blab problem.
dascth is offline  
post #519 of 26154 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 05:50 PM
Eh, Wha?
 
Zero4549's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,883
Rep: 716 (Unique: 531)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TarballX View Post

Thanks for the info. What refresh rate are you running it at?

96 currently on my 560ti, but I was running 130 on my 680L before I had to send that in for RMA.

Systems: Fukurou | Prodigy | Tempest | ArcaneServers: Minecraft SMP | Logs: Build Log - Arcane | Video Logs: Project Arcane
Quote:Originally Posted by Zen00 https://www.overclock.net/img/forum/go_quote.gifZero, you are a master story teller, I am sleep now. http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif
Arcane
(33 items)
Sanctum
(9 items)
Fukurou
(14 items)
CPU
Core i7 980x
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1080TI DUKE
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 680 Lightning
RAM
Kingston HyperX T1
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black FASS
Hard Drive
Plextor M5S
Hard Drive
WD Velociraptor
Hard Drive
WD FALS
Optical Drive
Sony DVD Burner w/ Lightscribe
Optical Drive
LG Bluray + HDDVD
Power Supply
EVGA 1000 P2
Cooling
Black Ice GTX 360
Cooling
Black Ice GTX 240
Case
Cooler Master HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro (64)
Monitor
X-Star DP2710
Monitor
ASUS VK266H Black 25.5" 2ms LCD
Keyboard
X-Armor U9BL (Mech)
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Chroma
Mouse
Cougar Control
Audio
ATH-A900X
Audio
Maudio AV-40
Audio
Polk PSW-10
Audio
Zalman Mic-1 (Clip-on Mic)
Audio
Sound Blaster X7 LE
Other
Logitech G13
Other
Wacom Intuos 3
Other
Modded PS4, PS3, Xbox 360, and Logitech PC Controllers
Other
Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS HOTAS
Other
Rocketfish 720p Webcam
Other
Scythe "3-Foot Switch"
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
MSI B350M Mortar Arctic
GPU
RX Vega 64
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 960
Hard Drive
Consatellation
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1050
Case
Raijintek Aeneas White Window
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
Core i5-661
Motherboard
GA-H55-USB3
RAM
12GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black AALS 640GB
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Green EARS 2TB
Hard Drive
Vertex Turbo 60GB (SSD)
Optical Drive
Samsung Blu-ray, Samsung DVD Burner
Power Supply
Seasonic X750 Gold
Cooling
H50 (With push/pull nocturas)
Case
CM690 II
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional 64
Monitor
LG 47inch LED LCD
Keyboard
Saitek Eclipse Lite-touch Wireless
Audio
Passive bookshelfspeakers + amp.
▲ hide details ▲


Zero4549 is offline  
post #520 of 26154 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 05:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cwinston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 21
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
For those who have opened up the monitor, is it possible to remove the silver frame to apply electrical tape without taking out the whole panel?
Cwinston is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off