[Official] The Qnix/X-Star 1440p Monitor Club - Page 805 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] The Qnix/X-Star 1440p Monitor Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8041 of 26154 (permalink) Old 10-11-2013, 10:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ds84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 267
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nazrule View Post

No

Quote:
Originally Posted by mboner1 View Post

Yes.

Lol, yes or no? I know that the Basic model with DVI-D can be overclocked to 120hz, though i haven read up yet. But, can the DPort ver do it as well?
ds84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8042 of 26154 (permalink) Old 10-11-2013, 11:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 26
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ds84 View Post


Lol, yes or no? I know that the Basic model with DVI-D can be overclocked to 120hz, though i haven read up yet. But, can the DPort ver do it as well?

I'm assuming he just looked at your post and assumed your asking if this model will hit 120hz which yes alot of them will but not the multi port version that has hdmi, a dport, vga. I don't have the multi port version but have been going this this thread for several months and several people have reported that the multi port version of this monitor does very little overclocking. Just google QX2710 LED Evolution ll DPort overclock and I'm sure you'll see what I'm talking about.
Nazrule is offline  
post #8043 of 26154 (permalink) Old 10-11-2013, 11:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ds84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 267
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I have a crazy idea, need pro's opinion.

If i get the qnix qx2710 evolution II DVI-D only ver, and pair with a hdmi switcher, will it work? It goes something like this:

PC ---> DVI-D to HDMi cable ---> HDMI Switcher ---> HDMI to DVI-D cable ---> monitor

PS4 ---> HDMI cable ---> HDMi Switcher ---> HDMI to DVI-D cable ---> monitor

Reason is coz the basic model is able to OC up to 120hz. im not sure if the DVI-D plays a part or not, but i doubt HDMI will be able to support 120hz.

Plz give ur inputs. thanks.
ds84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8044 of 26154 (permalink) Old 10-11-2013, 11:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Camberwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 201
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante`afk View Post

To the owners here, how is the picture quality compared for example to other IPS panels not from Korea? Are they equal or worse?

I can imagine since you have to calibrate colours on your own if you OC to 120hz that they are not that optimal?
How is the picture quality if you stay at 60hz compared to 120hz?

Furthermore, 1440p @120hz just cries for CF or SLI, a single card is just not sufficient, unless you play on low settings or like 30 fps gaming on max settings.

edit, another question: what is the benefit of 120hz if you cannot use it if you are on a single card?
edit2, if someone wants 120hz, wouldnt it be just better to get the BenQ XL2420T?
See my reply on [H] wink.gif

Camberwell is offline  
post #8045 of 26154 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 05:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nikola-Tesla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mamucium, Britannia
Posts: 145
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Anybody tried downsampling in games with that monitor? Is downsampled [email protected] doable?
Simple pcb and thick cable look promising.
Nikola-Tesla is offline  
post #8046 of 26154 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 06:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
bloodycliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
first tme posting. got the QNIX. one dead pixel, 0 BLB. Running a geek squat cable (but tried a different one and the problem stays the same)

the problem involves the over clocks. is can hit 120 fine, but when it boots at the oc, it gets really weird. the screen will be almost completely black, and when I use ctrl/shift/dlelete it only shows me half of the screen. most oc's work on the fly, but only 90 and below work on boot. on most things between 120 and 95, I get gray flashing lines going across my screen (mostly happens when im on a web browser at full screen

running 2 (non identical) 580gtx's
used the sli patch and cru.
paring this monitor with a 1920x1080 asus monitor
when the computer starts, I have it set the qnix to be my main display, however, the asus was the monitor and gpu that windows was primarily installed on. I was wondering if that might cause the problem also. what I mean to say, windows was installed on gpu 1 and the qnix is on gpu 2, so the bios still runs on the asus.

any help would be appreciated

also I am using lcd reduced in all my cru settings, didn't really make a differenct, but thought it would help
bloodycliff is offline  
post #8047 of 26154 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 06:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
A Monell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Several months ago I purchased a Qnix QX2710LED monitor (matte) from IPSledmonitors. It appeared to have no dead pixels and very minimal backlight bleed. I ran the Nvidia driver patch and was able to overclock to 120Mhz immediately with no problems (using the suggested heavy-duty cable and a GTX 760 2gig card ).
I have been running it at 60 Mhz for the most part with an occasional rainy weekend at 96 MHZ for RC sims.

Three weeks ago at 96 I started getting horizontal black bands that progressed to a dark screen with bands of my desktop jittering around. Originally this took several hours to develop but showed up immediately at 120 Mhz. I could also force this with the white screen in the TTi screen test utility. It is now constant at 90Mhz.

This week at 60 MHZ my brightness has started flickering.

Is this a common failure mode for these monitors?
I did purchase the three year extended warranty from IPSledmonitors so I am wondering whether to contact them and start the replacement process.

I was also wondering how reliable the power supplies for these are and if my symptoms pointed to a bad one.
Thanks for any ideas, Alex
A Monell is offline  
post #8048 of 26154 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 06:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
gockelmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 69
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
i think my QNIX QX2710 just died frown.gif
Now I get flickering at 60Hz, but as soon as I go up with Hertz the flickering lessens.
I had the Qnix at 112Hz for aboout 4 months I think.
I tried another monitor PSU, another DVI-D cable, and another PC.
The monitor also flickers when im in BIOS, so it has nothing to do with the drivers.



Can anyone help me or did anyone already have a similar issue and managed to solve it?

@A Monell: Well that#s what I call a coincidence^^ almost same minute same flickering.
Im also getting horizontal darker lines

gockelmax is offline  
post #8049 of 26154 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 07:44 AM
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by gockelmax View Post

i think my QNIX QX2710 just died frown.gif
Now I get flickering at 60Hz, but as soon as I go up with Hertz the flickering lessens.
I had the Qnix at 112Hz for aboout 4 months I think.
I tried another monitor PSU, another DVI-D cable, and another PC.
The monitor also flickers when im in BIOS, so it has nothing to do with the drivers.



Can anyone help me or did anyone already have a similar issue and managed to solve it?

@A Monell: Well that#s what I call a coincidence^^ almost same minute same flickering.
Im also getting horizontal darker lines

Well that was a bad hour for QNIX's lol. Wish i could help but i don't know' personally i'm not overclocking for the fear of what you guys are dealing with. Hope it's temporary and someone knows how to fix it with timings or something??
mboner1 is offline  
post #8050 of 26154 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 10:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
gockelmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 69
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
OK guys I dunno why but the flickering is gone.
I let the monitor cool down for about an hour or so and the flickering was still there but not as bad as before.
another hour of usage and the flickering is gone.

gockelmax is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off