Dell U2414H overclocking? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Dell U2414H overclocking?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 36 (permalink) Old 04-06-2014, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
registered user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 38
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodcore View Post

Gene-Z thanks for the screenshot, its just that it doesn't show anything. smile.gif
You need to use a camera and use settings on it so that 5-10 squares show at the same time and if a square in the middle of that row is black instead of white..
Then you've got frame skipping, you probably already knew this though.
Him posting that screenshot makes me think that he thought that the green "valid" text means that the test was a success. I hope I'm wrong.
registered user is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 36 (permalink) Old 04-08-2014, 03:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
registered user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 38
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene-z View Post

I'll post them when I can get on that PC sometime tomor.

Bump for the pictures smile.gif
registered user is offline  
post #13 of 36 (permalink) Old 04-11-2014, 10:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gene-z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 923
Rep: 37 (Unique: 34)
Quote:
Originally Posted by registered user View Post

Bump for the pictures smile.gif

So sorry I forgot about the thread, I totally forgot and had no idea it required a picture, but I guess that's what happens when you don't read the instructions. I'm awful with a camera and my exposure settings were very limited, this is the best I could do:



Please keep in mind I'm awful at taking pictures and the monitor looks 10x better in person. The white might also seem a bit warm, but it's currently set to 5000k color temperature for night, I generally use sRGB during the day and the factory calibration is great for this profile. Hope this helps and sorry for the cable mess. biggrin.gif
gene-z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 36 (permalink) Old 04-12-2014, 09:48 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
registered user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 38
Rep: 0
Thanks for the picture! I will get this smile.gif hopefully I get 80Hz with DP tongue.gif At least looking to get 72Hz.

What are the custom timings you are using?
registered user is offline  
post #15 of 36 (permalink) Old 04-12-2014, 11:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
gene-z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 923
Rep: 37 (Unique: 34)
Quote:
Originally Posted by registered user View Post

Thanks for the picture! I will get this smile.gif hopefully I get 80Hz with DP tongue.gif At least looking to get 72Hz.

What are the custom timings you are using?

Last image in this post - http://hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=1038342324&postcount=6

Update thread if you get it and try 80hz over DP.
gene-z is offline  
post #16 of 36 (permalink) Old 06-08-2014, 07:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
xbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
hi all, new to the forum.

went through the entire thread, thank you for all contributions! it was a pretty good read.

I have just purchased 3x U2414H fora multi-monitor setup, currently running 7970.

Will most likely be setting up daisy-chain using DP...if my understanding is correct I'll just use DP->DP cables for all connections?

Please correct me if I'm wrong.
xbull is offline  
post #17 of 36 (permalink) Old 10-21-2014, 01:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
JetPistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Hi, could someone of the 80-Hz-guys please post some custom timings to begin with (CRU or nVidia control panel GTX670)? I'm using rev. A01 of the monitor with a DP > DP cable and I'm stuck at 76 Hz at the moment (same with DP > MiniDP cable). Is there some magic that can be done?

I got another question regarding the online frameskipping test. Control panel says 76 Hz and the image is more clear and smooth than 60 Hz and also games recognize 76 Hz VSync but the test still shows 60 Hz instead of 76 Hz. Why is that?

Thanks a lot. smile.gif
JetPistol is offline  
post #18 of 36 (permalink) Old 10-28-2014, 05:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
itx77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Did anyone have any luck with overclocking rev A00 to 72hz over DP?
I've tried the 76hz timings posted by gene-z, but they were unstable for me, and I'm not so sure what timings I should try next.
itx77 is offline  
post #19 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-02-2014, 08:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
itx77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Update: with a 970gtx, I managed to get stable 72hz without skipping or any issues whatsoever.
It appears my older HD5850 caused the problem, rather than the monitor. Kinda odd, but maybe enabling DP1.2 helped somehow.

Anyhow, for those interested:
itx77 is offline  
post #20 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-04-2015, 08:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TekWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,024
Rep: 93 (Unique: 80)
Quote:
Originally Posted by itx77 View Post

Update: with a 970gtx, I managed to get stable 72hz without skipping or any issues whatsoever.
It appears my older HD5850 caused the problem, rather than the monitor. Kinda odd, but maybe enabling DP1.2 helped somehow.

Anyhow, for those interested:

Thanks for this. I managed to get mine to 72Hz stable with those settings. I'm using HDMI through the HD4000. thumb.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by GodofGrunts go_quote.gif
Delete the system32 folder. Its holding you back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by edo101 go_quote.gif

My mother and I have expressed interest in buying out AMD.
TekWarfare is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off