Dell U2414H overclocking? - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Dell U2414H overclocking?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-16-2016, 11:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
steffeeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 99
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Just waking up this thread...

I just got myself 2x of these sweet monitors. These are connected to an Asus Geforce GTX 970 STRIX - one via HDMI, and the other via Display Port (my primary).
While I love these new screens, I can't seem to get them above 67 Hz.

I first tried in the Nvidia control panel just to test it, and they wouldn't let me exceed 67 Hz.
So then I downloaded the CRU as this program is the one being used in this thread, and followed tutorials on how to use the program, and I even copied your screenshots (were these the "custom timings"?) into my new resolution profiles with 70 Hz (as a starter).
I then rebooted my computer and headed over to the control panel to try out the new framerate, but the new one isn't even listed among the various Hz - I only have the 50, 59, and 60 Hz rates to choose from.
Also, the "Hide modes that this monitor cannot display" is greyed out if that's helpful info.

Asus X99-A w/ BIOS 3402 | Intel i7 5820k OC @4.4GHz 1.28V w/ Noctua NH-U14S | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 OC @2666MHz 12-14-14-28 | Asus Geforce GTX970 STRIX OC | EVGA 750 G2 750W | Samsung 850 Evo 1 TB | Windows 10 64-bit | Be-Quiet Silent Base 800 w/ Silent Wings | 2x Dell U2414H OC @72Hz w/ Display Port
steffeeh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-17-2016, 02:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TekWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,024
Rep: 93 (Unique: 80)


I'm running this monitor through HDMI on a GTX970 so your monitors should definitely be capable (especially the displayport one). Just copy my settings as shown above exactly and press "Test", the screen should go black and come back with the new resolution. Select "Yes" on the popup dialog to keep the new resolution and press "OK" on the Customise screen. Your new resolution should be listed under the Custom section as shown below:



When it comes to refresh rates, it is best to settle on a multiple of 12, so only I would only use the following values: 12, 24, 36, 48, 60, 72, 84, 96, 108, 120, 132, 144

Quote:
Originally Posted by GodofGrunts go_quote.gif
Delete the system32 folder. Its holding you back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by edo101 go_quote.gif

My mother and I have expressed interest in buying out AMD.
TekWarfare is offline  
post #23 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-17-2016, 03:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
steffeeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 99
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Thanks it works now! smile.gif I tried going as far as I could, until I reached 75 Hz, but I backed it down to 72 Hz.

However, when trying going up in the framerate, only one of the monitors stayed black and showed the error message that the framerate was too high - and it was the screen with the DP-cable.
Is this how it normally reacts when you have dual monitors, or does this mean that the monitor which didn't go black managed the higher framerate but the other didn't? If the latter one, then I may have a bad DP-cable...?

EDIT: Sorry I just forgot that I only change one screen at a time... Which is why only one screen showed the error message. Anyway, my DP-screen could go up to 75 Hz, and my HDMI-screen went up to 74 Hz. I suppose I'd have to edit the timings even further if I want an even higher framerate, at least on my DP-screen.
But I'm happy with my 72 Hz and don't want to squeeze too much out of my screens smile.gif

Asus X99-A w/ BIOS 3402 | Intel i7 5820k OC @4.4GHz 1.28V w/ Noctua NH-U14S | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 OC @2666MHz 12-14-14-28 | Asus Geforce GTX970 STRIX OC | EVGA 750 G2 750W | Samsung 850 Evo 1 TB | Windows 10 64-bit | Be-Quiet Silent Base 800 w/ Silent Wings | 2x Dell U2414H OC @72Hz w/ Display Port
steffeeh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-17-2016, 04:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
steffeeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 99
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Umm... one of my screens has suddenly got stuck in power saving mode? The one connected with HDMI.
It still works as it's displaying when Windows 10 is loading when I boot/reboot, but then it instead goes into powersaving mode.
I'm not sure if this error is on my GPU or what because I can't detect this screen in the control panel.

EDIT: Seems like the GPU is the issue as whenever I pull out the screen that is working from the computer, the black screen suddenly works again. Likewise it works if I connect it to my other computer which is a laptop. It seems like my GPU suddenly doesn't want to run 2 monitors anymore...
It's a relief though as now I know the overclocking didn't kill the monitor, but it's probably more of a Geforce driver issue.
I updated the Nvidia drivers, but it didn't work, neither did deactivating and then reactivating the GTX 970 in the Device Manager. THe computer itself though can see both my monitors in the Device Manager.

EDIT #2: So I managed fixing the issue by switching over to a daisychain, so both of my monitors are now running DP. However I still don't like the thought that HDMI doesn't seem to work...

Asus X99-A w/ BIOS 3402 | Intel i7 5820k OC @4.4GHz 1.28V w/ Noctua NH-U14S | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 OC @2666MHz 12-14-14-28 | Asus Geforce GTX970 STRIX OC | EVGA 750 G2 750W | Samsung 850 Evo 1 TB | Windows 10 64-bit | Be-Quiet Silent Base 800 w/ Silent Wings | 2x Dell U2414H OC @72Hz w/ Display Port
steffeeh is offline  
post #25 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-17-2016, 07:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TekWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,024
Rep: 93 (Unique: 80)
I have no experience with overclocking multiple monitors so I can't help you in that regard, but I've been running mine through HDMI at 72Hz for nearly a year now so HDMI isn't the issue.

When using the displayport cables provided sometimes it would never wake out of power saving mode, so I switched to HDMI and haven't had any issues since. I'm not sure if it's the cables themselves or the monitor.

Anyway, thanks for posting your solution. thumb.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by GodofGrunts go_quote.gif
Delete the system32 folder. Its holding you back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by edo101 go_quote.gif

My mother and I have expressed interest in buying out AMD.
TekWarfare is offline  
post #26 of 36 (permalink) Old 08-25-2016, 03:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 691
Rep: 32 (Unique: 28)
Just got mine and was able to overclock it to 74hz with those timings, using mini display port thanks everyone.
Any idea how these timings affect colors?

zefs is offline  
post #27 of 36 (permalink) Old 08-25-2016, 10:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
steffeeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 99
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Yeah I also noticed it affected the color saturation... though I actually like it.
However I wouldn't do video/photo editing with those settings on the screen wink.gif

How does these settings affect the pixel delay?

Asus X99-A w/ BIOS 3402 | Intel i7 5820k OC @4.4GHz 1.28V w/ Noctua NH-U14S | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 OC @2666MHz 12-14-14-28 | Asus Geforce GTX970 STRIX OC | EVGA 750 G2 750W | Samsung 850 Evo 1 TB | Windows 10 64-bit | Be-Quiet Silent Base 800 w/ Silent Wings | 2x Dell U2414H OC @72Hz w/ Display Port
steffeeh is offline  
post #28 of 36 (permalink) Old 10-22-2016, 04:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
steffeeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 99
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Bump.

How does the custom timings affect monitor response time and input lag?

Asus X99-A w/ BIOS 3402 | Intel i7 5820k OC @4.4GHz 1.28V w/ Noctua NH-U14S | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 OC @2666MHz 12-14-14-28 | Asus Geforce GTX970 STRIX OC | EVGA 750 G2 750W | Samsung 850 Evo 1 TB | Windows 10 64-bit | Be-Quiet Silent Base 800 w/ Silent Wings | 2x Dell U2414H OC @72Hz w/ Display Port
steffeeh is offline  
post #29 of 36 (permalink) Old 10-23-2016, 01:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
steffeeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 99
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I decided to test the response time with the overclock on/off, and while I didn't have any real equipment to measure any difference and such, at least I couldn't notice any difference, so there doesn't seem to be any noticable delay in the response time because of the overclock with custom timings.

Asus X99-A w/ BIOS 3402 | Intel i7 5820k OC @4.4GHz 1.28V w/ Noctua NH-U14S | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 OC @2666MHz 12-14-14-28 | Asus Geforce GTX970 STRIX OC | EVGA 750 G2 750W | Samsung 850 Evo 1 TB | Windows 10 64-bit | Be-Quiet Silent Base 800 w/ Silent Wings | 2x Dell U2414H OC @72Hz w/ Display Port
steffeeh is offline  
post #30 of 36 (permalink) Old 12-09-2016, 12:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
pindle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 404
Rep: 12 (Unique: 12)
Fairly old thread but decided to give this a go on my U2414H and I'm stuck at 67, anything higher won't display, even with custom timings suggested earlier. My settings are somewhat different though as I lack a couple of options which I couldn't set. Maybe a new driver since then? Does anyone know of something else to try or is mine stuck at 67Hz? Using 66Hz for some headroom and better dividability - not even sure if that matters though.
pindle is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off