XL2720Z V5 firmware (AMA low blur reduction off trick) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

XL2720Z V5 firmware (AMA low blur reduction off trick)

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-11-2015, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,932
Rep: 380 (Unique: 272)
Just randomly ran into this while being bored and testing photo mode and wondering why the AMA was crystal clear......

XL2720Z Blur Reduction off AMA LOW TRICK* --absolutely NO OVERDRIVE GHOSTING.
(this has been tested on XL2720Z V5....I do not know if it works on V4).


1) activate XL2720Z blur reduction AMA low mode by (a) first setting blur reduction to enabled, then going to AMA, moving AMA slider from high to off/premium then back to high (or just highlight high and press cancel (button #4).

2) use profile presets or S-switch to activate Standard mode (you must have blur reduction set to off previously in this mode you are switching to).

Unlike blur reduction AMA low mode, changing brightness does not reset the AMA if blur reduction is off. Changing refresh rate or resolution, however, will revert the AMA.

(note: blur reduction on AMA high (setting AMA to high when blur reduction is off and then enabling blur reduction) by default has a slightly lower overdrive setting than blur reduction off AMA high). You can get blur reduction off use the "slightly lower" AMA high setting by doing the same thing--switching to a preset profile that has blur reduction off. Doesn't look as good as AMA low blur reduction off, though!

No, people, you cant just set MBR AMA to low then turn OFF blur reduction...for some reason turning off blur reduction directly resets the AMA. But changing the profile preset seems to avoid this (Another beneficial bug, eh, Benq ? Just like our VT tweaks?)

This now makes the XL2720Z (with blur reduction off) look identical to Asus VG248QE with Tracefree=60.
And you can keep the contrast high also without needing to lower it
(AMA low with blur reduction enabled requires contrast 5-15 or there's a lot of normal, instead of inverse ghosting).


(remember in order for this to work with blur reduction off, you must first enable AMA low with blur reduction ON, then switch directly to a preset that has blur reduction off. Just turning off MBR does not work).

I might flash back to V4 later with the Mstar ISP unit to see if this works on V4 firmware.

*THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO reason in the world NOT to use this AMA low mode if you do NOT use blur reduction! There is absolutely NO drawbacks to it, unlike blur reduction on AMA low, where the drawback is you have to lower the contrast to not have too much normal ghosting. Looks PERFECT with contrast 43.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-11-2015, 07:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,932
Rep: 380 (Unique: 272)
Got some blur reduction off image porn to show off the AMA low profile trick.
And sorry for the blurry pictures...$150 camera can't handle blurry pursuit camera pictures of blurry 60hz very well...

60hz, blur reduction off, Default AMA high setting. LOOK AT DEM RTA ARTIFACTS AND CORONAS ! There's also ugly spectral white ghosting of dark objects but I can't screen capture that.


60hz, AMA low, after using the blur reduction on AMA low toggle and then exploiting the profile switch bug
NO CORONAS AT ALL and NO "spectral" white ghosting of dark objects! This is Iiyama ProLite GB2488HSU quality overdrive here.
(or Asus Tracefree=60 quality)


Just to show you overdrive is working, here is AMA completely off at 60hz.




Some 100hz pictures MBR=Off pictures, which the camera can handle a bit better.
1) AMA off (disabled).



2) AMA low (blur reduction on ->ama low MBR toggle ->profile switch to blur reduction off toggle bug exploiting
Again--absolutely NO OVERDRIVE ARTIFACTS. NO CORONAS and no spectral ghosting.


3) AMA high (this is the default setting). Notice how ugly the coronas are, folks? And the spectral ghosting is horrendous. This Is actually -worse- than the blur reduction ON AMA premium setting!


Not going to bother with 144hz pics.
Suffice it to say there is very little difference between AMA Low and AMA off now, since the response time is much faster, although its still there

This is the best TN panel ever made, folks.
Only two other TN panels look this good.

1) Iiyama ProLite GB2488HSU
http://us.hardware.info/reviews/5606/7/gaming-monitors-review-on-overdone-overdrive-test-samplen3

2) VG278 @ tracefree=60 (ignoring the Eizo Foris FG2421 which looks perfect but that isn't a TN panel).
http://us.hardware.info/reviews/5606/5/gaming-monitors-review-on-overdone-overdrive-test-samplen1


I've posted the AMA low with blur reduction on pics in other threads already.
Thank you very much to Benq for making a monitor with so many firmware bugs you can exploit !!
1440p PANEL LOTTERY AVOIDED !

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-25-2016, 01:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rafael-org's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Hey man! Sorry to bother you! I am trying to find the V5 firmware and instructions as to flash it and I am having a hard time!

I can only find instructions to flash the V4 using a very specific commit from flashrom (1846). Scary stuff by itself, nevertheless for flashing v5!

I kinda found the v5 image on a link of a onedrive that supposed to point to v4, so I guess it got updated, but it does not make me anymore assured that it will work.

Any pointers would be helpful!

Thanks!
rafael-org is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-25-2016, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,932
Rep: 380 (Unique: 272)
That link is my onedrive.
The flash instructions for Linux on the blurbusters page (on page 220 of the Linux thread) still work. V5 instructions are the exact same as V4
http://forums.blurbusters.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=779&start=220

But apparently some UEFI Bioses may cause problems with the DVI EDID and having the EDID get corrupted. I can't help with that nor can I offer support if that happens. The Mstar ISP device http://www.yoycart.com/Product/5278188206/LCD_TV_development_tool/ and the rt809f flasher ( https://www.aliexpress.com/item/free-shipping-RT809F-LCD-ISP-programmer-with-7-adapters-sop8-test-clip-ICSP-board-ISP-cable/32282316644.html) can recover from a corrupted EDID and flash easily. The rt809f apparently supports flashing over HDMI (and VGA) But it doesn't identify the benq firmware chip properly over hdmi. The Mstar ISP device can flash over DVI And VGA.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-25-2016, 03:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
T15KEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Hi I've just purchased this for gaming predominately csgo and normal cs with some bf1

I'm trying to set up the monitor to have as low lag as possible and look as good as possible. Have you any ideas on what would give the fastest smoothes lagg free experience?
T15KEY is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off