ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144 Hz Adaptive Sync Thread - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144 Hz Adaptive Sync Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 293 (permalink) Old 03-18-2016, 12:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ha-Nocri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,204
Rep: 110 (Unique: 71)
You must set refresh rate on desktop to 90 Hz. And in game if the game has the refresh rate setting.

Ha-Nocri is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 293 (permalink) Old 03-18-2016, 12:21 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
JunkaDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Vallensbaek, Denmark
Posts: 330
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
But the panel is a 144hz.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ha-Nocri View Post

You must set refresh rate on desktop to 90 Hz. And in game if the game has the refresh rate setting.

Why is that? because the standard freesync range is only from 35-90hz? I mean the panel is a 144hz and while doing other stuff than gaming, i would like to take advantage of that nice refresh rate. So setting it to 90hz does not make sense while i understand what you are saying smile.gif

The way i understand the freesync is just that it should activate whenever the FPS dips below 90 FPS.. or am i mistaken? smile.gif

- Dan Case A4-SFXv3
- Intel i7-8086K
- Asus Z370-i ITX
- 32 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000Mhz
- Samsung 970 Pro 1TB m.2
- Nvidia Founders Edition RTX 2080 ti (pre-ordered)
JunkaDK is offline  
post #23 of 293 (permalink) Old 03-18-2016, 12:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ha-Nocri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,204
Rep: 110 (Unique: 71)
did you try it? working now?

Usually max. freeSync range is max refresh rate of the monitor, which is not the case here. That is why I "hack" freeSync range from 56 to 144 Hz.

Ha-Nocri is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 293 (permalink) Old 03-18-2016, 12:24 AM
Mining the DB
 
SystemTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 2,248
Rep: 116 (Unique: 100)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Majorhi View Post

I love my monitor, picked it up this past September on newegg for $575. It's now my center piece in my monitor setup for work/gaming. Haven't gone up to 120 or 144 yet. I game at 1440p so 90 is all I have it set to with freesynch enabled.



Dude, thats an epic setup. I love it.

Intertwined Desk
(13 items)
The virtualizer
(11 items)
Sufrfacing
(4 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700X or 3700
Motherboard
Gigabyte Auros Gaming 7 Wifi
GPU
AMD VEGA 64
RAM
GSKILL Trident Z Royal
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 PRO
Hard Drive
Crucial BX100 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G3
Cooling
EK custom Watercooling
Case
My Desk
Monitor
Acer XR341ck
Keyboard
Logitech G410
Mouse
Logitech G700s
Mousepad
Roccat Taito 3mm
CPU
E5-2670
CPU
E5-2670
Motherboard
Dell PowerEdge R720
RAM
Dell Default
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500 256GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 5TB Barracuda(ST5000LM000)
Power Supply
Dell PowerEdge 750W
Power Supply
Dell PowerEdge 750W
Case
Dell PowerEdge R720
Operating System
Windows Server 2016 Hyper-V
CPU
i7 6850U
GPU
Gtx 1060
RAM
Standard
Hard Drive
nVME SSD
▲ hide details ▲


SystemTech is offline  
post #25 of 293 (permalink) Old 03-18-2016, 12:26 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
JunkaDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Vallensbaek, Denmark
Posts: 330
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ha-Nocri View Post

did you try it? working now?

Usually max. freeSync range is max refresh rate of the monitor, which is not the case here. That is why I "hack" freeSync range from 56 to 144 Hz.

I am at work so i cannot try it. :/ I also hacked the freerange range to 56-144.. Are you using CRU or a custom driver? i tried going back to the original driver but that didn't change anything..

- Dan Case A4-SFXv3
- Intel i7-8086K
- Asus Z370-i ITX
- 32 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000Mhz
- Samsung 970 Pro 1TB m.2
- Nvidia Founders Edition RTX 2080 ti (pre-ordered)
JunkaDK is offline  
post #26 of 293 (permalink) Old 03-18-2016, 12:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ha-Nocri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,204
Rep: 110 (Unique: 71)
CRU, since it's so easy to do. But resets every-time I install new drivers.

Ha-Nocri is online now  
post #27 of 293 (permalink) Old 03-18-2016, 01:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Malinkadink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,975
Rep: 107 (Unique: 83)
Anyone use this monitor with a console hooked up as well? I know with a 30 fps game it shouldn't be a problem since we're looking at a 33.33ms frame time, but for 60hz capped games its 16.66ms, and tft shows a total lag of 17ms at 60hz, so i'd expect there to be some frame skipping in such a scenario.

Malinkadink is offline  
post #28 of 293 (permalink) Old 03-18-2016, 02:10 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
JunkaDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Vallensbaek, Denmark
Posts: 330
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ha-Nocri View Post

CRU, since it's so easy to do. But resets every-time I install new drivers.

After a little research i suspect that RadeonPro could have something to do with it.. i will try to uninstall it when i get home smile.gif

- Dan Case A4-SFXv3
- Intel i7-8086K
- Asus Z370-i ITX
- 32 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000Mhz
- Samsung 970 Pro 1TB m.2
- Nvidia Founders Edition RTX 2080 ti (pre-ordered)
JunkaDK is offline  
post #29 of 293 (permalink) Old 03-21-2016, 02:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Malinkadink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,975
Rep: 107 (Unique: 83)
Went ahead and put down an order on one of these threw newegg on the count of the sale, came out to $525. Yeah i use an nvidia card so i cannot use freesync, but with polaris on the way it won't be long until i will get to use it.

Essentially i weighed my options between this and the xb271hu and with this current sale im saving $250 going with the mg279q over the Acer. That's $250 that will go towards a new GPU instead of a monitor that is more or less equal to the asus but uses Gsync instead. The 35-90hz window is rather disappointing when Gsync can work from 30-144hz, but i plan to change it to 57-144hz as i never plan to drop below 60fps in any game ever.

Fingers crossed i don't get backlight bleeding mess, else the lottery begins tongue.gif

Malinkadink is offline  
post #30 of 293 (permalink) Old 03-21-2016, 10:46 PM
Ooh, custom titles :D
 
xTesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Posts: 1,246
Rep: 74 (Unique: 52)
I'm picking up mine tomorrow, was originally set on an ultrawide but hen I learned about the MG279Q. My R9 Furies should push that display nicely. I do planon getting 2 more for Eyefinity.

i7 6800K @ 4.4GHz | 32GB Trident Z RGB 3200MHz CL14 | Rampage V Edition 10 | Titan Xp @ 2088MHz | 960Evo 500GB | Full EK Custom Loop 360+240
xTesla1856 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off