Pixio PX277 good WQHD for gaming - Page 19 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Pixio PX277 good WQHD for gaming

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 216 (permalink) Old 01-11-2017, 12:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Carniflex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tallinn
Posts: 5,535
Rep: 237 (Unique: 187)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welliam View Post

very good info. I wonder why most companies do freesync not gsync

Only nvidia provides gsync modules and these have a little premium. While adaptive sync (whose commerical name is freesync) can be done without even telling AMD they are doing it. for example this Pixio is not even in the official list, but it sort of works. Because they can read the standard and make the display to do the "right magic" so driver knows its adaptive sync capable and is able to work with it.
Carniflex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 216 (permalink) Old 01-13-2017, 02:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sonixmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Hello Everyone!

Based on reviews and online comments I decided to go with the PX277 to replace me Dell SE2717H (75hz Freesync) which is a great monitor with awesome colors!

It arrived today and the additional DPI is definitely noticeable! I started searching for settings (though out of the box it is awesome) and found this thread. It arrived with Version 07 and I saw comments for overdrive issues and version V08 mentioned here? I went to the website and they had V06, I went ahead and downloaded and flashed the monitor with no issues and the color bleed issue is fixed for me! thumb.gif

Did they pull V08? I can't wait to get into a game, I have it set at 144hz with Freesync on.

Other notes, with complete black image there is minimal backlight glow in the bottom right (maybe just a tad more than the Dell had). Dead pixel test yielded no results (once I wiped of dust spec from screen) smile.gif

So far I would definitely recommend this monitor for the price it is a great value!

Does anyone care to share their color/brightness settings?

Edit:

After trying a few games I had flashing etc with Freesync on. I was able to play with CRU and tried a few different settings. In the end what seems to work best is setting the vertical sync range from 60hz - 144 hz. I tried 55-143 as someone else had recommended but that didn't work and kept me locked at 145hz for some reason.

I am surprised the freesync range is not part of the communication from the monitor to the graphics card automatically but it is a fairly new technology. Maybe one day it will be part of EDID. Oh well just glad it worked.

I am very happy with my purchase for sure!
sonixmon is offline  
post #183 of 216 (permalink) Old 01-18-2017, 07:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
andydabeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 808
Rep: 25 (Unique: 24)
I have never used a display with adaptive sync or with over 70 fps. Is freesync nice to have over 60fps? I thought it was mostly for under 60fps where it would truly make a difference.

stop spawn-killing and SAY NO TO ABORTION!!!



GPU/CPU History (Click to show)2010...Phenom II x6 1055T.... GTX 460....
2012...Phenom II x6 1055T.....GTX 460 x2
2013...Phenom II x6 1055T.....6950 x2......
2013...Phenom II x6 1055T.....7950...........
2014...Phenom II x6 1055T.....R9 290x......
2015...FX-8350.......................R9 290x......
2016...FX-8350.......................RX 480 8gb
2017...R5 1600x.....................GTX 1080...
andydabeast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #184 of 216 (permalink) Old 01-18-2017, 08:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rancor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,228
Rep: 102 (Unique: 93)
Quote:
Originally Posted by andydabeast View Post

I have never used a display with adaptive sync or with over 70 fps. Is freesync nice to have over 60fps? I thought it was mostly for under 60fps where it would truly make a difference.

It does make a greater difference down there and with the freesync range of the PX277 or a modified MG279Q freesync works from 0-144Hz. It is definitely nice to have over 90Hz but the impact is lower.


On a side note if you can get your hands on the electronics from a MG279Q you can switch your pixio's screen into the housing. I managed to find one with a broken LCD on ebay and swapped one of my PX277 panels into the MG279Q shell.

i7-4770K Overclock
Blue
(18 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770K (4.4GHz 1.35V)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF
GPU
XFX Radeon RX VEGA 64
RAM
16GB G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 10-12-12-31
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 840 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX1050W
Cooling
EK Supreme HF + mpc355 + 2 x Xspc RX360 + EK-FC Radeon Vega
Case
Corsair 700D with Side Window
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Nixeus EDG 27
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q
Keyboard
Xarmor U9BL-S
Mouse
Steelseries QcK+
Mouse
Roccat Pure Owl-Eye
Audio
Swan M50W
Audio
Odac+O2 & Sennheiser GSX 1000
Audio
Sennheiser 6XX
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
Sapphire R9-290 Vapour-X
RAM
G.Skill Flare X
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 650W
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S SE-AM4
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C - Dark
Monitor
Pixio PX277
Audio
Swan M10
▲ hide details ▲


rancor is offline  
post #185 of 216 (permalink) Old 01-21-2017, 08:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dizzean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankyplz View Post

Mine does the same thing.. ARe you on an r9 fury by any chance?

I am on the R9 Fury, did you find a solution?

dizzean is offline  
post #186 of 216 (permalink) Old 01-22-2017, 11:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Frankyplz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
There is none.. apparently the ASUS IPS panel has the same problem
Frankyplz is offline  
post #187 of 216 (permalink) Old 01-22-2017, 02:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dizzean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Yep, I did some googling and found the same thing.

I tried the custom resolution fix and that didn't fly.

I'm going to return my GPU and try a Fury X

dizzean is offline  
post #188 of 216 (permalink) Old 01-25-2017, 02:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sonixmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I had the same Freesync issues as you all mention. I have an RX480 as well. What ultimately worked for me was using CRU to make a resolution with a range of 60-144hz. If I did 55-144 the monitor would lock at 145 hz and Freesync would not work!

Keep in mind I have downgraded to V06 and it looks like they pulled V07 and V08 from the site.

The only issue I am experiencing with the V06 is noise along the right edge of the screen with Response time on. It is mostly noticeable when there are any lines on the edge or mouse pointer etc. I contacted support and they confirmed V06 is the most stable but my issue is a bug in this FW. The are working on a new FW and will email me when it is ready. It isn't that bad so I can wait.

Overall this monitor is working great now!
sonixmon is offline  
post #189 of 216 (permalink) Old 02-22-2017, 05:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
0tt4r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Does this monitor have color configuration as good as the Asus MG279Q? ICC profiles included?
0tt4r is offline  
post #190 of 216 (permalink) Old 02-22-2017, 08:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rancor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,228
Rep: 102 (Unique: 93)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0tt4r View Post

Does this monitor have color configuration as good as the Asus MG279Q? ICC profiles included?

Not exactly sure what you mean but it has both gamma and user color control along with color temperature. I don't know of any ICC profiles though.

i7-4770K Overclock
Blue
(18 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770K (4.4GHz 1.35V)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF
GPU
XFX Radeon RX VEGA 64
RAM
16GB G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 10-12-12-31
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 840 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX1050W
Cooling
EK Supreme HF + mpc355 + 2 x Xspc RX360 + EK-FC Radeon Vega
Case
Corsair 700D with Side Window
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Nixeus EDG 27
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q
Keyboard
Xarmor U9BL-S
Mouse
Steelseries QcK+
Mouse
Roccat Pure Owl-Eye
Audio
Swan M50W
Audio
Odac+O2 & Sennheiser GSX 1000
Audio
Sennheiser 6XX
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
Sapphire R9-290 Vapour-X
RAM
G.Skill Flare X
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 650W
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S SE-AM4
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C - Dark
Monitor
Pixio PX277
Audio
Swan M10
▲ hide details ▲


rancor is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off