Increasing Freesync range advice. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Increasing Freesync range advice.

post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-14-2016, 02:32 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 23 (Unique: 22)
Hey guys, I have been looking for a way to increase the operating range of Freesync on my Samsung S24F350 from 48-72Hz. So far I found these 2 sources:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/4ddqdp/best_way_to_overclock_freesync_monitor_and/

http://www.guru3d.com/news-story/owners-of-freesync-monitors-can-enlarge-hz-range-with-simple-hack.html

Now the one using CRU seems less complicated but I wonder if it has the same efect, it's my first time using any of these programs so I would gladly take any kind of advice. thumb.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-15-2016, 05:39 AM
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
CRU does the job, I think the other method only exists before CRU was updated to have this ability.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-15-2016, 05:53 AM

Cru is great. You can overclock your display up to its maximum kHz rating: 81 kHz.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-16-2016, 02:10 AM
Meddling user

Rep: 729 (Unique: 342)
@RaduZ

Use CRU, it definitely works smile.gif .

I have an Asus MG279Q, stock FS range 35-90Hz, as it's 144Hz panel I went 57-144Hz FS range smile.gif .

Method:-

i) Download CRU.
ii) Click edit across the top.
iii) Make sure "Range Limits" is ticked.
iv) Change the freesync limits to what you want.
v) Restart the driver with restart.exe or restart64.exe.

Even with that range LFC will work as max refresh is ≥2.5X min. refresh.

How I verified mod had worked was running game with overlay showing FPS (ie FRAPS, etc) and then compared that with the Hz shown in OSD of monitor, as they matched at FPS changes, FS was working (plus no tearing, etc).