Predator X27 - Page 180 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Predator X27

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1791 of 1810 (permalink) Old 01-05-2020, 05:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Monstieur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 91
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by AngryLobster View Post
Just to clarify, you guys are suggesting setting the reference nits on this monitor to 203 through the service menu as opposed to leaving it at the default 80?
PC games are probably designed for 80.
Monstieur is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1792 of 1810 (permalink) Old 01-05-2020, 09:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
AngryLobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 548
Rep: 18 (Unique: 18)
Well thanks to this forum revealing how to access the service menu I can finally tolerate the fan noise. I turned "Auto fan" or whatever to off and reduced the duty cycle down to 40% from 49% at idle. Temps were 44C before and went up 2C which I consider more than acceptable for a 400RPM+ drop. I monitored temps during HDR gaming and it doesn't really every break 55C so I'm satisfied.
AngryLobster is offline  
post #1793 of 1810 (permalink) Old 01-08-2020, 01:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
KenjiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,723
Rep: 92 (Unique: 74)
Quote: Originally Posted by D-EJ915 View Post
There's a new version with P in front of the model number though I have no idea what the difference is. I was originally going to get a regular one but they went out of stock everywhere and this was on sale so I ordered it. Nice monitor and text size is not really that much worse than on my old 32" one, plus this has not glitched out yet like that crappy Asus PA329Q did.
Supposedly it can do VRR over HDMI for new consoles and stuff as well (I wonder if you can use a Radeon GPU for Freesync on it in fact) given hardware wise its identical as far as i understand i do not know why we cannot just get a firmware update to enable that.

Also i pulled up my service menu out of curiousity.. ive NEVER heard my fan once

whats the difference in the firmware versions out of curiousity

And yes my monitor was new, i just am absent minded and leave it on
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200108_025517.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	3.75 MB
ID:	317364  


Sony A7 III, 55mm f/1.8 Zeiss, 90mm f/2.8 G Macro, 70-200mm f/2.8 GM, Sigma 150-600mm C + MC-11
Inari Mk 1
(17 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
GPU
Asus STRIX GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
32gb Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB DDR4 3600 CL16
Hard Drive
2x Corsair MP510 960GB NVMe SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
2x 5TB Toshiba X300 7200rpm HDDs
Power Supply
eVGA 1000W T2
Cooling
Corsair H115i Platinum
Case
Corsair Crystal 680X
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Monitor
Acer Predator X27
Keyboard
Razer Huntsman Elite
Mouse
Razer Mamba Hyperflux
Audio
Sound Blaster G5
Audio
Sennheiser GAME ONE
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
▲ hide details ▲
KenjiS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1794 of 1810 (permalink) Old 01-08-2020, 01:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
KenjiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,723
Rep: 92 (Unique: 74)
Quote: Originally Posted by Medusa666 View Post
Did you guys manage to solve this?

I got the same problem, sometimes when I boot up the PC, the monitor shows the Nvidia / Predator splash screen (light turns blue), then screen goes black again and light turns orange, showing "No signal" on screen. Only thing that works for me is pulling the power cord from outlet and putting it back in again.

This happens rarely though, and after long breaks with PC off, seemingly random.

The second issue might be some kind of handshake problem between GPU/monitor? Can you try another cable or even the HDMI input and see if it still does it?

Sony A7 III, 55mm f/1.8 Zeiss, 90mm f/2.8 G Macro, 70-200mm f/2.8 GM, Sigma 150-600mm C + MC-11
Inari Mk 1
(17 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
GPU
Asus STRIX GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
32gb Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB DDR4 3600 CL16
Hard Drive
2x Corsair MP510 960GB NVMe SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
2x 5TB Toshiba X300 7200rpm HDDs
Power Supply
eVGA 1000W T2
Cooling
Corsair H115i Platinum
Case
Corsair Crystal 680X
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Monitor
Acer Predator X27
Keyboard
Razer Huntsman Elite
Mouse
Razer Mamba Hyperflux
Audio
Sound Blaster G5
Audio
Sennheiser GAME ONE
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
▲ hide details ▲
KenjiS is offline  
post #1795 of 1810 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 02:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Hi just stumbled across thread and I have a question regarding the ref nits on the x27p. I’ve just purchased the x27p and I’ve noticed all the picture modes in hdr are locked at 80ref nits while my friends x27 has different ref nit values in the picture modes, for example he uses racing mode in hdr and it’s locked at 180 ref nits and it seems a lot brighter is there anyway this can be adjusted? Or is it just designed to be that way on the newer model
Daniel Owen is offline  
post #1796 of 1810 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 12:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
AngryLobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 548
Rep: 18 (Unique: 18)
They probably changed that to remain consistent across picture modes for the better. I would leave it at 80 as that's how it's suppose to look in games. If you really want to increase it, do it via the service menu as shown a few pages back.
AngryLobster is offline  
post #1797 of 1810 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 12:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
D-EJ915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 292
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
Mine looked really good when I played Destiny 2 in HDR, I didn't feel I needed to adjust anything but my room is not super bright.

Kanna
(13 items)
Dark X299
(7 items)
Mitty
(11 items)
CPU
Intel i7-7820X
Motherboard
Asrock X299 OC Formula
GPU
Asus Strix 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR C14 3200MHz XMP 4x8GB
Hard Drive
Intel P3520 NVMe PCIE AIC 1.2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250 1250 Watt PSU
Cooling
NZXT Kraken 62
Case
NZXT S340
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus PA329Q 32" 4k 60Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Mouse
Logitech G600
Audio
HDMI to my Yamaha CX-A5000 preamplifier and studio monitors.
CPU
Intel i9-9900X
Motherboard
EVGA X299 Dark
GPU
EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 4x8GB C14 3200MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Pro 840 250 GB
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G3 1300
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC14PE
CPU
Intel i7-3930k
Motherboard
Asrock Fatal1ty X79 Champion
GPU
EVGA GTX 780 Ti
RAM
Mushkin Redline
Hard Drive
WD Velociraptor
Optical Drive
Asus DVD±RW
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250
Cooling
Corsair H100i V2
Case
Fractal ARC MIDI
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Audio
Asus Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
D-EJ915 is offline  
post #1798 of 1810 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 01:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 58
Rep: 0
I am slightly annoyed at these stealth revisions Acer has done with both the X27 and XB273k. The XB273K now has 3 different models, with the original being the only one with a proper gsync module as far as I understand, and the other two being basically variations on the XV273K which is freesync.

I didn't see the X27p revision announced anywhere. Would have been nice to also has VRR over HDMI on my $1600 X27, lol. We knew what we were getting into, but it truly does feel like it was way too early to buy into these 4K 144hz monitors. Now with the mini-LED revisions coming this year supposedly, we get burned a tiny bit more.

I still love my X27, it amazes me daily in games. I did end up saving up to get a 2080Ti to power it properly. I wonder though if I should have waited a few years, as I think 2020 is the year where we will really start seeing some decent HDR options in the monitor space. The LG 27GN950 for example looks intriguing, 4K 160hz with OC, HDR600 (could be decent, could be trash).

The one thing I regret about buying the X27 is that it lacks freesync/vrr support over HDMI. That's going to suck when the new consoles release, if games take advantage of VRR on them. I'm not totally convinced they will though, I think its still in the interest of devs to go for framerate locks on console, either 30 (gross) or 60.
Lockjaw333 is offline  
post #1799 of 1810 (permalink) Old 01-14-2020, 06:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
AngryLobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 548
Rep: 18 (Unique: 18)
If they did the P revision soon after the B was released I'd have an issue but the monitor is now coming around to 2 years old so expecting it to some how not be improved by now is kind of crazy.

I don't think the mini LED versions will launch until the 2nd half of the year TBH.

I also can't stand the input switching situation on a console with this monitor since only TV's support HDMI CEC (auto switch upon power up) which is why I relegate console gaming to my C9.
AngryLobster is offline  
post #1800 of 1810 (permalink) Old 01-14-2020, 07:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
USNcole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 68
Rep: 0
@Lockjaw333 Hey, I have a few questions. What were the changes to the new x27 revision? I wasn't aware of any lol. Did you calibrate your monitor? Also would you happen to know what the hole in the top of the hood is used for? I've had my display since launch and have no idea.
USNcole is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off