I perform better on my 75hz monitor than on my 144hz one - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

I perform better on my 75hz monitor than on my 144hz one

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 06:20 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,631
Rep: 6211 (Unique: 3519)

Oh, that's good. It sounds like you know better performance is achieved with those settings. I'm glad to rule that out. I immediately became curious to see if what you found was really more of a band-aid kind of solution, but maybe not.


OCN Classic 2.0

Semi-Classic Firefox Add-ons Manager (CSS script)

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (storage)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 06:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nick7269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,602
Rep: 115 (Unique: 107)
Sometimes upgrades are not smooth as we would like, so don't give up! So assuming that you have already checked to see your gpu drivers are up to date, I am curious about the rest of the rig. An AMD 460 may not be the best but it should still perform well. Does the computer have at least 4 gig of memory or hopefully 8 gig? Have a decently strong cpu? Need more power to drive those higher speeds we are all looking for. Maybe you have a bottle neck somewhere slowing you down?
Nick7269 is offline  
post #23 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 06:44 PM
Overclocker
 
EastCoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,893
Rep: 132 (Unique: 88)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Passante View Post

Ok EastCoast, I did it. But I am curios why is it needed one grayed out copy?

Anyway, I have a great news for me and you all. Just minutes ago I found out a new tab in my GPU software under Display -> specs -> Override. There I have 2 options: "Adjust Voltage Swing" and "Adjust PreEmphasis". Both have a minimum value of 0 and max of 2. Just tried to play with both of them at 2 and viola, finally, this monitor started to run properly. thumb.gif

I suppose the PreEmphasis should be the equivalent of the prerendered frames for the Nvidia Gpus?
To rule out any conflicts between old and new device drivers for your monitor. They sometimes accumulate in upwards of 5-7 of the same type of monitor device which are then grayed out (one at a time can be used). None of which is a problem as long as it's the same driver version.
But from reading your post looks like you got it sorted so congrats!!
EastCoast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 06:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Passante's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 56
Rep: 0
Yes, now that "delay" and sense of heaviness is gone. But I wonder why does it have to be so not intuitive. That "voltage swing" setting should be set by default! It is almost hidden in sub menus...
Passante is offline  
post #25 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 06:56 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,631
Rep: 6211 (Unique: 3519)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Passante View Post

Yes, now that "delay" and sense of heaviness is gone. But I wonder why does it have to be so not intuitive. That "voltage swing" setting should be set by default! It is almost hidden in sub menus...

 

This may be a very isolated and unique situation.


OCN Classic 2.0

Semi-Classic Firefox Add-ons Manager (CSS script)

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (storage)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is online now  
post #26 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 07:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Leopardi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,405
Rep: 14 (Unique: 14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables View Post

This may be a very isolated and unique situation.
It's an AOC, so this is definitely related to overclocking somehow.

Leopardi is offline  
post #27 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 07:05 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,631
Rep: 6211 (Unique: 3519)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leopardi View Post


It's an AOC, so this is definitely related to overclocking somehow.

 

Ok. Can you explain?


OCN Classic 2.0

Semi-Classic Firefox Add-ons Manager (CSS script)

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (storage)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is online now  
post #28 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 07:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Leopardi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,405
Rep: 14 (Unique: 14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables View Post

Ok. Can you explain?
The 2460 AOC's are cheap because they are overclocked to 144Hz, and are known to have lots of units with missing frames etc.

Leopardi is offline  
post #29 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 07:13 PM
Overclocker
 
EastCoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,893
Rep: 132 (Unique: 88)
Oh, I see so the monitor was the problem after all. Wow, amd driver's come a long way to detect that monitor and allow the option to tweak it.
Impressive!
EastCoast is offline  
post #30 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 07:43 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,631
Rep: 6211 (Unique: 3519)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leopardi View Post


The 2460 AOC's are cheap because they are overclocked to 144Hz, and are known to have lots of units with missing frames etc.

 

No, that's not it. The Acer XB241H and ASUS PG248Q are 120Hz native panels as well, just the same as the AOC G2460PG and G2460PF. All 4 of these monitors are using pretty much the same panel and 144 Hz is a factory overclock.

 

The reason why the AOC monitors are cheap is, they have far less features (they are much more basic) and you're not paying for the Acer or ASUS brand name (which also includes many other things you're paying for).


OCN Classic 2.0

Semi-Classic Firefox Add-ons Manager (CSS script)

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (storage)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off