I perform better on my 75hz monitor than on my 144hz one - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

I perform better on my 75hz monitor than on my 144hz one

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-30-2017, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Passante's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 57
Rep: 0
Hi all, recently purchased the AOC G2460PF as an upgrade from a generic 75hz monitor. I was hoping for a slight boost in my overall gaming experience, but instead everything got worst.
I play mainly FPS games and I constantly underperform on the new monitor. In game I feel heavy and slow, the whole game feels delayed. As soon as I switch back to my old monitor suddenly my score and performance returns to the usual level.

Tried both of the drivers available for the monitor without any result.
I feel like I've thrown money out of the window.
Passante is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-30-2017, 03:58 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,806
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)

Are you using FreeSync or V-Sync? I ask because it sounds like high input lag to me and V-Sync is known for having the worst input lag.



Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is online now  
post #3 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-30-2017, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Passante's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 57
Rep: 0
Have tried with FreeSync (since I got the rx 460), Vsync on or Off. It always feels delayed. "InputLag" would be more appropriate as a definition I guess.
Also, I tried to run it without driver, still the same.
Passante is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-30-2017, 08:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cskippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 105
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Check to see if display scaling is enabled in Nvidia Control Panel. It's under adjust desktop size and position. It should be set to no scaling and let Monitor do the scaling, GPU if Monitor can't be selected.

Also, sometimes with different monitors the Nvidia game settings can change so double check that maximum prerendered frames is set to 1, vsync off in control panel etc.
cskippy is offline  
post #5 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-30-2017, 08:49 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,806
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cskippy View Post

Check to see if display scaling is enabled in Nvidia Control Panel. It's under adjust desktop size and position. It should be set to no scaling and let Monitor do the scaling, GPU if Monitor can't be selected.

Also, sometimes with different monitors the Nvidia game settings can change so double check that maximum prerendered frames is set to 1, vsync off in control panel etc.

 

He has an AMD video card.



Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is online now  
post #6 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-30-2017, 08:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cskippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 105
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
All my information is still relevant to check with their drivers.
cskippy is offline  
post #7 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Passante's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 57
Rep: 0
I have "GPU Scaling" as an option and it is off, in the "Display" tab and in the game specific tab.

Something is terribly wrong here. To give you an example, I was running with a knife chasing a guy, he was with weapon and he outrun me.

At this point I wonder if the GPU is powerful enough for 1080p since my 75hz monitor's native resolution is 1600x900 and games run fast there.

But games such as CS:GO, CS 1.6 shouldn't be any problem for such card.
Passante is offline  
post #8 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 02:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Pinp0int's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Rep: 2 (Unique: 1)

Do you actually have the monitor running at 144hz? :) Often monitors default to 60hz and with certain cables (such as DVI-I or HDMI) can't go above that.

Pinp0int is offline  
post #9 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Passante's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 57
Rep: 0
Yep, it's running at 144hz through a DispalyPort cable.
Passante is offline  
post #10 of 62 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 03:45 PM
Overclocker
 
EastCoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,900
Rep: 133 (Unique: 89)
Let me guess at the start of around where ypou are frozen until the counter expires you and 10+ other guys are running and everyone beating you down the road. Correct?
EastCoast is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off