Achieved Overclocking on 2017 LG OLED C7 @ 3840x1600@120hz - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Achieved Overclocking on 2017 LG OLED C7 @ [email protected]

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-03-2018, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
wapeddell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 132
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Achieved Overclocking on 2017 LG OLED C7 @ [email protected]

Good Afternoon,

I wanted to inform everyone that owns this display that it's capable of being overclocked with a Nvidia GPU @ resolutions such as [email protected], [email protected], and [email protected] However, you must be in [email protected] in order to create those resolutions or else the display will fail to do so. Anything above 1920x1080 that is @60hz will fail to create those resolutions.


Last edited by wapeddell; 06-03-2018 at 03:07 PM.
wapeddell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-03-2018, 03:46 PM
Network Enthusiast
 
Shiftstealth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 4,787
Rep: 213 (Unique: 157)
@CallsignVega

Don't miss this, thought you mind find it interesting.

Too much money?
(15 items)
CPU
R9 3950X
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X570 Pro
GPU
eVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC Ultra
RAM
48GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3200 Mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB M.2.
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo 500GB M.2.
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 650W Gold
Cooling
Corsair XC7 CPU Block
Cooling
Corsair ML120 RGB x7
Cooling
Corsair XD5 Pump/Reservoir Combo
Cooling
Corsair XD5 360MM Radiator
Cooling
Corsair XD5 120MM Radiator
Cooling
Corsair XG7 RTX 2080 Ti GPU Block
Case
Corsair 570X
Monitor
XB273K
▲ hide details ▲
Shiftstealth is offline  
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-03-2018, 03:46 PM
Jedi Knight
 
Nick the Slick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 641
Rep: 50 (Unique: 48)
OMG, I'm so glad you posted this. I hadn't bothered playing around with custom res's since getting this display, I just assumed I would be stuck at 1080p for 120Hz. I was able to get 2560x1440 and 3840x2160 working at 120Hz with no fuss at all. I don't like those odd aspect ratios so I'm glad these res's worked. I was really shocked [email protected] worked since HDMI technically shouldn't have the bandwidth for it right?

Vibranium
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 7700k
Motherboard
ASUS Z170-PRO
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Sea Hawk EK X
RAM
G. Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
MyDigitalSSD BPX
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-750KM3
Cooling
Custom Liquid Cooling
Case
Phanteks “Enthoo Pro Series"
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
VIOTEK GN32DB
Keyboard
Logitech K800
Mouse
Logitech G603
Audio
JBL LIVE 650BTNC
Audio
Fiio E10K DAC/AMP
▲ hide details ▲


Nick the Slick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-03-2018, 03:49 PM
Network Enthusiast
 
Shiftstealth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 4,787
Rep: 213 (Unique: 157)
Quote: Originally Posted by Nick the Slick View Post
OMG, I'm so glad you posted this. I hadn't bothered playing around with custom res's since getting this display, I just assumed I would be stuck at 1080p for 120Hz. I was able to get 2560x1440 and 3840x2160 working at 120Hz with no fuss at all. I don't like those odd aspect ratios so I'm glad these res's worked. I was really shocked [email protected] worked since HDMI technically shouldn't have the bandwidth for it right?
4K is 3840x2160. Not 3840x1600.

Too much money?
(15 items)
CPU
R9 3950X
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X570 Pro
GPU
eVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC Ultra
RAM
48GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3200 Mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB M.2.
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo 500GB M.2.
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 650W Gold
Cooling
Corsair XC7 CPU Block
Cooling
Corsair ML120 RGB x7
Cooling
Corsair XD5 Pump/Reservoir Combo
Cooling
Corsair XD5 360MM Radiator
Cooling
Corsair XD5 120MM Radiator
Cooling
Corsair XG7 RTX 2080 Ti GPU Block
Case
Corsair 570X
Monitor
XB273K
▲ hide details ▲
Shiftstealth is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-03-2018, 03:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Seyumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 454
Rep: 28 (Unique: 24)
Isn't there a way to test to make sure frames aren't being skipped? Hopefully someone can verify that. You might be running 120 HZ but maybe you're actually getting less than 120 frames being displayed. Would be nice if Vega can confirm on his 2018 model as well.

LG OLED C9 55" HDR G-Sync 4K 60hz or 1440p 120hz (Future 4K 120hz)
Intel Core i9-9900KS 8C/16T @ 5.2 Ghz (all cores) + Asus 360mm AIO
2x SLI EVGA GeForce RTX 2080Ti FTW3 Hybrid 120mm AIO GPU's
Asus ROG Maximus XI Apex Z390 LGA1151 ATX Motherboard
G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 32GB (16GBx2) DDR4 3733 Mhz CL16 Memory
Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe PCIe M.2 2280 SSD Hard Drive
Asus ROG Thor 1200 Watt 80-Plus Platinum Modular ATX Power Supply
Seyumi is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-03-2018, 03:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Rucker, AL
Posts: 8,454
Rep: 523 (Unique: 361)
Doesn't work on the C8. It just down samples it to 1080p, it is all blurry. Tried all of the scaling options too.

If it truly worked, 3840x1600 would be crystal clear just like 4K but with black bars top and bottom. While I don't have a C7, I highly doubt it works.

GPU: TITAN RTX - 2175 MHz, liquid cooled
CPU: 9900K 5.4 GHz, liquid cooled
MB: ASUS Maximus XI Gene
RAM: G.Skill 32GB 4000 MHz Samsung B-Die
SSD: Intel Optane 905P - 960GB
DISPLAY: LG 48CX OLED / VR: Modified Vive Pro
CallsignVega is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-03-2018, 04:03 PM
Jedi Knight
 
Nick the Slick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 641
Rep: 50 (Unique: 48)
Quote: Originally Posted by Shiftstealth View Post
4K is 3840x2160. Not 3840x1600.
Yes, I'm well aware, and if you had read my post I said I got 3840x2160 working.

Vibranium
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 7700k
Motherboard
ASUS Z170-PRO
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Sea Hawk EK X
RAM
G. Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
MyDigitalSSD BPX
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-750KM3
Cooling
Custom Liquid Cooling
Case
Phanteks “Enthoo Pro Series"
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
VIOTEK GN32DB
Keyboard
Logitech K800
Mouse
Logitech G603
Audio
JBL LIVE 650BTNC
Audio
Fiio E10K DAC/AMP
▲ hide details ▲


Nick the Slick is offline  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-03-2018, 04:20 PM
PC Gamer
 
phenom01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 1,163
Rep: 55 (Unique: 48)
use the blurbusters test to see if it is skipping frames I assume it is.

https://www.testufo.com/frameskipping

Gaming rig
(10 items)
CPU
4790K @ 4.8ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 7
GPU
MSI 1080Ti Gaming X 2063/5900
RAM
Gskill Trident 32GB 2400 CL10
Hard Drive
MX100 256gb Raid-0 games + 128gb 840 pro Boot
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Cooling
Swiftech H240-X Tri Noctua
Case
CM HAF 935
Monitor
Microboard M340CLZ 3440x1440
Audio
Creative Titanium HD+AKG 701+O2 AMP
▲ hide details ▲
phenom01 is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-03-2018, 04:50 PM
Jedi Knight
 
Nick the Slick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 641
Rep: 50 (Unique: 48)
Ok, yea, Vega is right. After switching back and forth between 3840x2160 120Hz, 2560x1440 120Hz, and those res's at 60 Hz, It's definitely doing something funky to make it work. I think it's messing with the subsampling or downsampling or something causing text to be blurry. It wasn't dropping frames and it was definitely at 120Hz (did the frame skip test phenom linked and the UFO test, it passed both), but text was definitely a lot blurrier than those res's at 60 Hz, even messing with scaling as Vega said.

Frame skip test at 2560x1440 120Hz (you'll just have to trust this is the res I used):



UFO Test:



Text at 120Hz (you'll have to zoom in to really see the difference):



Text at 60Hz (again, zoom in):


Vibranium
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 7700k
Motherboard
ASUS Z170-PRO
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Sea Hawk EK X
RAM
G. Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
MyDigitalSSD BPX
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-750KM3
Cooling
Custom Liquid Cooling
Case
Phanteks “Enthoo Pro Series"
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
VIOTEK GN32DB
Keyboard
Logitech K800
Mouse
Logitech G603
Audio
JBL LIVE 650BTNC
Audio
Fiio E10K DAC/AMP
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Nick the Slick; 06-03-2018 at 05:01 PM.
Nick the Slick is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-03-2018, 05:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Rucker, AL
Posts: 8,454
Rep: 523 (Unique: 361)
Ya all it is doing is taking a 3840x1600 image and scrunching it down to fit a [email protected] Hz signal.

GPU: TITAN RTX - 2175 MHz, liquid cooled
CPU: 9900K 5.4 GHz, liquid cooled
MB: ASUS Maximus XI Gene
RAM: G.Skill 32GB 4000 MHz Samsung B-Die
SSD: Intel Optane 905P - 960GB
DISPLAY: LG 48CX OLED / VR: Modified Vive Pro
CallsignVega is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off