ASUS 23.8" XG248Q 240hz - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS 23.8" XG248Q 240hz

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-24-2018, 11:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MistaSparkul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,050
Rep: 29 (Unique: 25)
I just got mine from newegg. Any tips on making ELMB look the best? For some reason the streetmap test on blurbusters looks worst than my Eizo FG2421. On the Eizo it is perfectly clear but on the Asus I cannot read the words on the map it almost appears like when you run 120Hz strobing but have 60fps content.

EDIT: I rebooted the monitor and now it looks a lot better but still doesn't seem as clear as other strobed monitors I used. Kinda hard to get a good picture but can you try the street map test? Do you get as much ghosting as I do?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20181024_114237_1540406671597.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	5.63 MB
ID:	226712  


Z370
(16 items)
X99
(14 items)
CPU
i7 8700k
Motherboard
Msi Z370-A Pro
GPU
EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z 16GB DDR4 3200MHz
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex 4 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Cooler Master V750
Cooling
Cryorig H7
Case
Cooler Master H500P
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Asus XG248Q
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 3 Cherry MX Blue
Mouse
Logitech G402
Audio
AKG K7XX
Other
SMSL M6 DAC/AMP Combo
CPU
I7 5820k
Motherboard
Msi X99S SLI Plus
GPU
Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 16GB DDR4 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 3TB 7200rpm
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 4TB 7200rpm
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000
Case
Corsair 750D
Monitor
Acer X27
Keyboard
Corsair K63 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech G900
Audio
Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro 250ohm
Other
Objective ODAC+O2 Amp
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by MistaSparkul; 10-24-2018 at 11:45 AM.
MistaSparkul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-24-2018, 12:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jesyjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 92
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by gene-z View Post
I've come across an annoying problem. I'm not sure if it's my system, but I think the monitor is to blame, as never had this issue with Alienware or Dell. When you wake from sleep, sometimes it will just display a lost signal and will never display picture unless you switch the displayport cable to a new slot on your GPU. Power cycling it, clearing the power plug - nothing gets it back unless you swap the displayport on the GPU. I had this happen 2-3 times in a week span. Then last night, I had the "lost signal" come up while I was using it! Really annoying having to get up and swap ports.

I've tried swapping cables and all other obvious stuff like double checking connections, etc.

Talking to the CS to see if I can swap it and if so, will report back if the replacement suffers same issue.

Edit: It's out of stock, so probably going to be a while and they have no ETA on new shipment. Going to wait it out, as I really like the monitor.
Mine does the exact same thing. I've noticed it happens more often if I have ELMB on.
jesyjames is offline  
post #13 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-25-2018, 05:59 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
gene-z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 909
Rep: 37 (Unique: 34)
Quote: Originally Posted by MistaSparkul View Post
I just got mine from newegg. Any tips on making ELMB look the best? For some reason the streetmap test on blurbusters looks worst than my Eizo FG2421. On the Eizo it is perfectly clear but on the Asus I cannot read the words on the map it almost appears like when you run 120Hz strobing but have 60fps content.

EDIT: I rebooted the monitor and now it looks a lot better but still doesn't seem as clear as other strobed monitors I used. Kinda hard to get a good picture but can you try the street map test? Do you get as much ghosting as I do?
This is the best I could come up with my tablet map test with ELMB on, but my tablet is just too slow to capture sharp text at this speed:



My monitor look messed up when I first plugged it in, I had to switch it in NVCP to "PC" in the resolution section and manually set 240hz. It defaulted to the "Ultra HD" resolutions, which I think are for TV. Not sure if it's related to seeing those weird scanlines in your monitor.

Quote: Originally Posted by jesyjames View Post
Mine does the exact same thing. I've noticed it happens more often if I have ELMB on.
I've had ELMB off for about a week, so I think it might be unrelated. Did you install the drivers by any chance?
gene-z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-25-2018, 08:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
jesyjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 92
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by gene-z View Post
This is the best I could come up with my tablet map test with ELMB on, but my tablet is just too slow to capture sharp text at this speed:



My monitor look messed up when I first plugged it in, I had to switch it in NVCP to "PC" in the resolution section and manually set 240hz. It defaulted to the "Ultra HD" resolutions, which I think are for TV. Not sure if it's related to seeing those weird scanlines in your monitor.



I've had ELMB off for about a week, so I think it might be unrelated. Did you install the drivers by any chance?
No, I never installed the drivers. Interestingly, mine hasn't done it in about a week, where as before it was doing it every time I first booted up my computer.
jesyjames is offline  
post #15 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-25-2018, 01:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MistaSparkul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,050
Rep: 29 (Unique: 25)
Quote: Originally Posted by gene-z View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by MistaSparkul View Post
I just got mine from newegg. Any tips on making ELMB look the best? For some reason the streetmap test on blurbusters looks worst than my Eizo FG2421. On the Eizo it is perfectly clear but on the Asus I cannot read the words on the map it almost appears like when you run 120Hz strobing but have 60fps content.

EDIT: I rebooted the monitor and now it looks a lot better but still doesn't seem as clear as other strobed monitors I used. Kinda hard to get a good picture but can you try the street map test? Do you get as much ghosting as I do?
This is the best I could come up with my tablet map test with ELMB on, but my tablet is just too slow to capture sharp text at this speed:



My monitor look messed up when I first plugged it in, I had to switch it in NVCP to "PC" in the resolution section and manually set 240hz. It defaulted to the "Ultra HD" resolutions, which I think are for TV. Not sure if it's related to seeing those weird scanlines.
If you set the monitor to UHD resolutions you cannot even select 240Hz, only 120Hz max. It has to be on PC to make 240Hz available. Do you mind sharing your exact OSD settings? I'll try copying it and see if I can get better results with ELMB. Also, overdrive is completely greyed out if ELMB is turned on, would configuring OD without ELMB first then turning it back on actually change anything?

Z370
(16 items)
X99
(14 items)
CPU
i7 8700k
Motherboard
Msi Z370-A Pro
GPU
EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z 16GB DDR4 3200MHz
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex 4 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Cooler Master V750
Cooling
Cryorig H7
Case
Cooler Master H500P
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Asus XG248Q
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 3 Cherry MX Blue
Mouse
Logitech G402
Audio
AKG K7XX
Other
SMSL M6 DAC/AMP Combo
CPU
I7 5820k
Motherboard
Msi X99S SLI Plus
GPU
Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 16GB DDR4 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 3TB 7200rpm
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 4TB 7200rpm
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000
Case
Corsair 750D
Monitor
Acer X27
Keyboard
Corsair K63 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech G900
Audio
Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro 250ohm
Other
Objective ODAC+O2 Amp
▲ hide details ▲
MistaSparkul is offline  
post #16 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-25-2018, 07:11 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
gene-z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 909
Rep: 37 (Unique: 34)
Overdrive is typically hidden when strobing is on, at least my experience with other monitors. I think they have a pre-defined setting that gets auto-toggled when you switch ELMB on.

My settings are:

User mode color
Stock OD (Level 3)
Contrast 15
Brightness 5
Saturation 25
Color Temp, User - B:95 R:100 G:100 (I use this as a slight blue light filter, as the actual blue light filter resets my color profile from user to a predefined one)
ASCR OFF
FreeSync OFF
All the RGB/LED stuff OFF
Power LED OFF
Everything else is default

Last edited by gene-z; 10-25-2018 at 07:17 PM.
gene-z is offline  
post #17 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-26-2018, 01:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MistaSparkul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,050
Rep: 29 (Unique: 25)
Hmm it seems that dropping the contrast is what slightly improves the ELMB performace.

Z370
(16 items)
X99
(14 items)
CPU
i7 8700k
Motherboard
Msi Z370-A Pro
GPU
EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z 16GB DDR4 3200MHz
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex 4 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Cooler Master V750
Cooling
Cryorig H7
Case
Cooler Master H500P
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Asus XG248Q
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 3 Cherry MX Blue
Mouse
Logitech G402
Audio
AKG K7XX
Other
SMSL M6 DAC/AMP Combo
CPU
I7 5820k
Motherboard
Msi X99S SLI Plus
GPU
Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 16GB DDR4 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 3TB 7200rpm
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 4TB 7200rpm
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000
Case
Corsair 750D
Monitor
Acer X27
Keyboard
Corsair K63 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech G900
Audio
Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro 250ohm
Other
Objective ODAC+O2 Amp
▲ hide details ▲
MistaSparkul is offline  
post #18 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-26-2018, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
gene-z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 909
Rep: 37 (Unique: 34)
Today my display went completely black (like signal lost, but without the message) and came back on nearly instantly. This thing is acting really weird.

Are you having these issues described mista, with lost signal, etc?

Last edited by gene-z; 10-26-2018 at 04:35 PM.
gene-z is offline  
post #19 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-26-2018, 04:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jesyjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 92
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by gene-z View Post
Today my display went completely black (like signal lost, but without the message) and came back on nearly instantly. This thing is acting really weird.

Are you having these issues described mista, with lost signal, etc?
Other than lost signal, the other issue I've had is where the refresh rate gets reported wrong. I've had it lock to 200hz with no other selectable 240hz option in the menu. I assumed it was my cord because it's a little flakey at times(and it maybe), but now I'm starting to wonder.
jesyjames is offline  
post #20 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-26-2018, 10:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MistaSparkul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,050
Rep: 29 (Unique: 25)
Quote: Originally Posted by gene-z View Post
Today my display went completely black (like signal lost, but without the message) and came back on nearly instantly. This thing is acting really weird.

Are you having these issues described mista, with lost signal, etc?
Not yet but I haven't had the monitor for very long, only 3 days. I'll report back if anything strange starts to happen.

Z370
(16 items)
X99
(14 items)
CPU
i7 8700k
Motherboard
Msi Z370-A Pro
GPU
EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z 16GB DDR4 3200MHz
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex 4 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Cooler Master V750
Cooling
Cryorig H7
Case
Cooler Master H500P
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Asus XG248Q
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 3 Cherry MX Blue
Mouse
Logitech G402
Audio
AKG K7XX
Other
SMSL M6 DAC/AMP Combo
CPU
I7 5820k
Motherboard
Msi X99S SLI Plus
GPU
Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 16GB DDR4 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 3TB 7200rpm
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 4TB 7200rpm
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000
Case
Corsair 750D
Monitor
Acer X27
Keyboard
Corsair K63 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech G900
Audio
Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro 250ohm
Other
Objective ODAC+O2 Amp
▲ hide details ▲
MistaSparkul is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off