4k HDR in Windows? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

4k HDR in Windows?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-21-2019, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
kaivorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7,131
Rep: 435 (Unique: 364)
Quote: Originally Posted by Anzial View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by kaivorth View Post
Ended up shortening my HDMI cable so I think it's a length related issue?
Yeah, i've read that long HDMI cables limit the bandwidth of the signal.
I'll confirm my findings tonight. Find it hard to believe adding 3ft to a cable to not allow it HDR. 4K works fine without it, kinda strange.

My System
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard
Asrock B350 Fatal1ty ITX
GPU
Asus GTX1060
RAM
G.Skill 8gb 3000mhz
Hard Drive
250gb Samsung 850 Pro
Optical Drive
SATA LG DVD Burner
Power Supply
EVGA 500w Gold
Case
EVGA Hadron Air
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro X64
Monitor
23" Asus 144hz
Keyboard
Microsoft Ergonomic 4000
Mouse
Logitech G Pro
▲ hide details ▲
kaivorth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-21-2019, 09:38 AM
User
 
GoLDii3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Home
Posts: 2,334
Rep: 117 (Unique: 81)
Quote: Originally Posted by kaivorth View Post
Wanted to update this with the solution I found.

I'm running a non-hdr monitor with a HDR TV in extended mode. It won't let me just set the TV to HDR.

Soon as I unplug the monitor, the TV can do HDR 4K @ 60hz.

Game looks BEAUTIFUL, however, my RTX2080 can only produce about 45-50fps even with DLSS which is kinda sad.

It's playable though, and doesn't distract me too much. Was worth the wait
It's not surprising,if you are using extended mode. You can save yourself the hassle of unplugging the monitor by choosing to display only in the TV when you want to use HDR.

Phantom 410
(17 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard
ASRock Z87 Killer
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1070 Windforce
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 750 EVO 120 GB
Hard Drive
W.D Caviar Green 1 TB
Hard Drive
W.D Caviar Blue 500 GB
Power Supply
Corsair CX550M
Cooling
Raijintek Themis
Case
NZXT Phantom 410
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell P2416D
Keyboard
Tacens MKHA0
Mouse
Logitech G100S
Mouse
Steelseries QcK Mini
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
Audio
Superlux HD 662 EVO
▲ hide details ▲
GoLDii3 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-21-2019, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
kaivorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7,131
Rep: 435 (Unique: 364)
Quote: Originally Posted by GoLDii3 View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by kaivorth View Post
Wanted to update this with the solution I found.

I'm running a non-hdr monitor with a HDR TV in extended mode. It won't let me just set the TV to HDR.

Soon as I unplug the monitor, the TV can do HDR 4K @ 60hz.

Game looks BEAUTIFUL, however, my RTX2080 can only produce about 45-50fps even with DLSS which is kinda sad.

It's playable though, and doesn't distract me too much. Was worth the wait
It's not surprising,if you are using extended mode. You can save yourself the hassle of unplugging the monitor by choosing to display only in the TV when you want to use HDR.
How do you do this? Google has failed me

My System
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard
Asrock B350 Fatal1ty ITX
GPU
Asus GTX1060
RAM
G.Skill 8gb 3000mhz
Hard Drive
250gb Samsung 850 Pro
Optical Drive
SATA LG DVD Burner
Power Supply
EVGA 500w Gold
Case
EVGA Hadron Air
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro X64
Monitor
23" Asus 144hz
Keyboard
Microsoft Ergonomic 4000
Mouse
Logitech G Pro
▲ hide details ▲
kaivorth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-22-2019, 07:01 AM
User
 
GoLDii3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Home
Posts: 2,334
Rep: 117 (Unique: 81)
Quote: Originally Posted by kaivorth View Post
How do you do this? Google has failed me
In the windows display options,although i havent checked if it works like i said with HDR but i do use it to keep both my TV and monitor hooked to my GPU but display only on my monitor and unplug it when i want to use my TV.

Phantom 410
(17 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard
ASRock Z87 Killer
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1070 Windforce
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 750 EVO 120 GB
Hard Drive
W.D Caviar Green 1 TB
Hard Drive
W.D Caviar Blue 500 GB
Power Supply
Corsair CX550M
Cooling
Raijintek Themis
Case
NZXT Phantom 410
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell P2416D
Keyboard
Tacens MKHA0
Mouse
Logitech G100S
Mouse
Steelseries QcK Mini
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
Audio
Superlux HD 662 EVO
▲ hide details ▲
GoLDii3 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off