Repair Advice for an Old Overlord Tempest - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Repair Advice for an Old Overlord Tempest

 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2018, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
Just a Crazy Cat in a Box
Ithanul Level 1
 
Ithanul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hurricane Wreaked Beaches
Posts: 5,530
Repair Advice for an Old Overlord Tempest

Got an old Overlord Tempest 27in. that over the past few months is having an issue. The issue in this case is the screen will on occasions have redish vertical bars that are not solid but semi broken that appear. Sometimes giving a good little wack to top of it make those go away, so makes me think the issue is caused by some internal part. The advice I'm looking for is what a good way with opening one of these monitors up and what should be the first parts I look at for being the culprets for this behavior on screen.

I'm replacing the monitor as my main screen, but would like to see if I can fix it myself to use as a secondary screen.

I'm just a crazy nutty gal that likes computer hardware.
Got bad hardware hoard habit too.

My consoles
Gamecube, Wii, Wii U, PS2 FAT, PS2 Slim, PS4 Pro, Switch, Xbox One S, Xbox
CPU
1950X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX X399-E
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
GTX 1080Ti FTW3
RAM
GSkill 32GB 3200MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro m.2 512GB
Hard Drive
Crucial 512GB SSD
Hard Drive
Shucked WD Helium 10TB
Hard Drive
WD Purple 8TB
Power Supply
EVGA 1300W
Case
Case Lab TX10
Operating System
Stripped W10 LTSB
Monitor
Overlord 27in 1440P (got to replace, still plan to repair)
CPU
1900X
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X399
GPU
GTX 960 FTW
GPU
GTX 1080Ti SC
RAM
Corsair 16GB 3000MHz
Hard Drive
Intel 120GB SSD
Power Supply
AX1200i
Case
Define S
Operating System
Mint Mate 18.3 Modify
Monitor
27inch Overlord 1440P
CPU
E5-2670V3
Motherboard
ASUS X99-A II
GPU
1070 Hybrid
RAM
GSkill 8GB
Hard Drive
Intel 120GB SSD
Power Supply
TX750
Case
Case Lab SM8
Operating System
Ubuntu 18.04
▲ hide details ▲


Ithanul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2018, 09:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
ttnuagmada Level 1
 
ttnuagmada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 366
I would think it might be a bad capacitor.

Still running my x270OC too. It's been a good monitor, but DVI has gone the way of the dinosaur and I'll have to get something new next time I upgrade GPU.

edit: decided to buy a chg70


Last edited by ttnuagmada; 12-13-2018 at 03:58 AM.
ttnuagmada is offline  
Old 12-17-2018, 08:25 AM - Thread Starter
Just a Crazy Cat in a Box
Ithanul Level 1
 
Ithanul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hurricane Wreaked Beaches
Posts: 5,530
Quote: Originally Posted by ttnuagmada View Post
I would think it might be a bad capacitor.

Still running my x270OC too. It's been a good monitor, but DVI has gone the way of the dinosaur and I'll have to get something new next time I upgrade GPU.

edit: decided to buy a chg70
Any idea where I can look for a break down of getting into the monitor? Hopefully it is just a bad capacitor that I can replace.

The plan is to repair and have it as a side monitor. Still got GPUs with DVI connections on them and no plans to upgrade those untill 7nm shows up.
Got a Predator X27 being shipped to be the main monitor.

I'm just a crazy nutty gal that likes computer hardware.
Got bad hardware hoard habit too.

My consoles
Gamecube, Wii, Wii U, PS2 FAT, PS2 Slim, PS4 Pro, Switch, Xbox One S, Xbox
CPU
1950X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX X399-E
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
GTX 1080Ti FTW3
RAM
GSkill 32GB 3200MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro m.2 512GB
Hard Drive
Crucial 512GB SSD
Hard Drive
Shucked WD Helium 10TB
Hard Drive
WD Purple 8TB
Power Supply
EVGA 1300W
Case
Case Lab TX10
Operating System
Stripped W10 LTSB
Monitor
Overlord 27in 1440P (got to replace, still plan to repair)
CPU
1900X
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X399
GPU
GTX 960 FTW
GPU
GTX 1080Ti SC
RAM
Corsair 16GB 3000MHz
Hard Drive
Intel 120GB SSD
Power Supply
AX1200i
Case
Define S
Operating System
Mint Mate 18.3 Modify
Monitor
27inch Overlord 1440P
CPU
E5-2670V3
Motherboard
ASUS X99-A II
GPU
1070 Hybrid
RAM
GSkill 8GB
Hard Drive
Intel 120GB SSD
Power Supply
TX750
Case
Case Lab SM8
Operating System
Ubuntu 18.04
▲ hide details ▲


Ithanul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2019, 10:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
stinger608 Level 1
 
stinger608's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
I also have one of these monitors and am having issues with it as well.

Mine however will work great and all of a sudden go blank. The power light just sits and blinks blue. I suspect that the PCB is bad internally and have been doing research to try and find a replacement with no luck. I've had my power supply for it plugged in now for several days and believe I have ruled that out..........Dang it as they are available on eBay and Amazon. Haven't found anyone carrying the replacement PCB's as of yet.

For you Ithanul

I read on another forum while doing the research, can't seem to find it though, on the procedure for opening these up;
There are 8 screws on the back that need to be removed first. Then a person has to use something to pry the bezel off. The person righting this said he used a flat screw driver but damaged the bezel due to using steel. He suggested using something plastic.

That was all he wrote about pulling it apart so I'm not sure if that allows a person to get to the internal boards or not.

There are a couple of shields inside I guess, and they have to be removed. He said something about there being two different PCB's inside. Not sure why there would be two.

Anyhow, I hope this helps if you are still looking at pulling your monitor apart.

I'm also hoping that if I pull mine apart I just find bad capacitors.

Asus Crosshair IV Extreme
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T running stock @ 3.3ghz
GSkill Red Ripjaws 1600 [email protected]
[email protected] ATI HD4870's 512mb running in Crossfire
[email protected] WD Caviar Black 1tb
Ikonic Vulcan 850W modular
Cooler Master HAF 932 AMD Limited Edition

stinger608 is offline  
Old 02-07-2019, 07:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
stinger608 Level 1
 
stinger608's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
Have been hoping to have some feedback on this thread.

Dang it.

Asus Crosshair IV Extreme
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T running stock @ 3.3ghz
GSkill Red Ripjaws 1600 [email protected]
[email protected] ATI HD4870's 512mb running in Crossfire
[email protected] WD Caviar Black 1tb
Ikonic Vulcan 850W modular
Cooler Master HAF 932 AMD Limited Edition

stinger608 is offline  
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off