1440p windowed gaming on 4k ? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

1440p windowed gaming on 4k ?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-17-2018, 10:32 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Kaltenbrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,272
Rep: 17 (Unique: 16)
1440p windowed gaming on 4k ?

I like to watch stuff on utube when gaming sometimes, does windowed 1440p gaming on a 4k monitor present any real problems? What size screen would be needed to match 27" @1440 p? I'm getting a rtx 2070, so if I wanted I could still play lots of games at 4k

I could get a 32" 4k later this winter. A 32" 1440p doesn't seem like much of an upgrade from 27" 1440p.

Kaltenbrunner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-17-2018, 10:39 PM
High Clocker
 
bmgjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,152
Rep: 188 (Unique: 162)
Why not just 2 screens?


SLI Voodoo 2 - > GeForce4 MX 420 -> GF 6600GT -> GF 6800GT -> GF 8800Ultra -> AMD 4870 -> AMD 4890 -> CF AMD 5820 -> CF AMD 6850 -> CF AMD 7970 -> SLI GF 680 -> SLI GF 780 -> CF AMD 290X -> GF 980ti -> SLI GF 980ti -> GF 1080ti -> SLI GF 1080ti -> <- RTX 2080ti (DOA/Refunded)
CPU
AMD 8120
CPU
FX 8350
GPU
7970 CFX
GPU
680 SLI
▲ hide details ▲


bmgjet is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-19-2018, 06:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Kaltenbrunner View Post
What size screen would be needed to match 27" @1440 p?
40.5 inch 4k would be the same as 27 inch 1440p.


The only problems I can think of, is there might be fps drops when running in windowed mode, so try whatever game you're planning on playing, in borderless windowed mode with your current monitor first, to make sure it works fine. Also, if it's a game where you have a cursor then there's the possibility of accidentally clicking out of the window but you could just train yourself not to overshoot. Also If you're using windows 10 or windows 8 there will be forced double buffering but in windows 7 you just have to turn off aero and then windows won't add forced buffering.
skTear is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-19-2018, 07:14 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,010
Rep: 339 (Unique: 240)
Windowed mode sucks, always did and always will. Latency, even enforced sync, lower FPS of what you're rendering, etc.
If you have 4 eyes or use 1 eye per application, well you're not a normal human per se and I would recommend two monitors, one for each eye or pair of eyes.
Another thing would be to use PBP or PIP of a monitor and feed it two inputs. That way you could have your YT video as PIP while in fullscreen exclusive game for example. Not all monitors offer PBP and PIP, some do.
JackCY is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-19-2018, 08:00 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Kaltenbrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,272
Rep: 17 (Unique: 16)
I don't have the space for 2 monitors, and I guess I'm not getting a 40.5" 4k monitor for under $50k. I really wish I could try different monitors, they are tricky and expensive to buy , and expensive to return.

It's 32" 1440p 144hz vs 4k 60hz, IPS vs TN, free-sync vs g-sync w/ a rtx 2070, matte vs glossy, let alone what the actual monitor is like, and the price

Kaltenbrunner is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-19-2018, 08:22 PM
-
 
go4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11,085
Rep: 585 (Unique: 416)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kaltenbrunner View Post
I don't have the space for 2 monitors, and I guess I'm not getting a 40.5" 4k monitor for under $50k. I really wish I could try different monitors, they are tricky and expensive to buy , and expensive to return.

It's 32" 1440p 144hz vs 4k 60hz, IPS vs TN, free-sync vs g-sync w/ a rtx 2070, matte vs glossy, let alone what the actual monitor is like, and the price
Out of curiosity I searched up 40inch monitors, and found that they where more affordable than first thought. Like this 40" Philips 3840x2160 VA 60hz: https://www.usa.philips.com/c-p/BDM4...with-multiview
Found it on Amazon UK for £380 or ~$480 and free shipping.

Also recommend that you stay away from TN panels, not good colours.

EDIT: 43" IPS to a similar price as the last linked: https://www.philips.com.ph/c-p/BDM43...splay/overview



Last edited by go4life; 12-19-2018 at 08:26 PM.
go4life is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-22-2018, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Kaltenbrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,272
Rep: 17 (Unique: 16)
yeah that\s cheaper than expected.

I wonder what it would look like bolted to the wall ? Certainly I wouldn't want it on my desk, too easy to trip into it in the dark

I admit I broke 2 LCD panels by accident, at least they were cheap.

Kaltenbrunner is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off