Auto Switching audio HDTV and Monitor Issue - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Auto Switching audio HDTV and Monitor Issue

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-30-2018, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
kaivorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7,131
Rep: 435 (Unique: 364)
Auto Switching audio HDTV and Monitor Issue

Once upon a time, I had the following setup:

HDTV via Stereo Receiver to HDMI Video Card
Monitor via Displayport Video Card

I had set the HDTV audio setting to "Default Device". So whenever the HDTV was on, audio would automatically switch over to that.


Now I have:

HDTV directly to HDMI Video Card
Monitor via Displayport

For some reason, even with the TV off, my computer still sees the HDTV on, and now I gotta fumble with the the audio settings whenever I use my Monitor. This is SOOOO frustrating.

Any solutions? Possibly outputting to both or something?

My System
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard
Asrock B350 Fatal1ty ITX
GPU
Asus GTX1060
RAM
G.Skill 8gb 3000mhz
Hard Drive
250gb Samsung 850 Pro
Optical Drive
SATA LG DVD Burner
Power Supply
EVGA 500w Gold
Case
EVGA Hadron Air
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro X64
Monitor
23" Asus 144hz
Keyboard
Microsoft Ergonomic 4000
Mouse
Logitech G Pro
▲ hide details ▲
kaivorth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-30-2018, 10:17 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,495
Rep: 103 (Unique: 81)
Does the tv have one of those HDMI ports that allows funciton control? I forget the actual temr, but I know my tv allows "HDMI device control" or some crap.


perhaps this type of port always has some sort of power, even when display is off.


An easy way to check, is to simply unplug the tv power cable, and see if the computer now sees it as off or disconnected.


Apologies if my wording is off, I am being aided by some Fireball whiskey.
mattliston is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-31-2018, 09:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
kaivorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7,131
Rep: 435 (Unique: 364)
Quote: Originally Posted by mattliston View Post
Does the tv have one of those HDMI ports that allows funciton control? I forget the actual temr, but I know my tv allows "HDMI device control" or some crap.


perhaps this type of port always has some sort of power, even when display is off.


An easy way to check, is to simply unplug the tv power cable, and see if the computer now sees it as off or disconnected.


Apologies if my wording is off, I am being aided by some Fireball whiskey.
When unplugged, it does indeed turn off in Windows. I have the Vizio P65-F1 for reference. Only option I saw in settings was ECO or Quick Power Mode. It's on ECO which I would assume would be like the power saving feature, IE TURN OFF.

Fixed it! I had to turn CEC to Disabled.

My System
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard
Asrock B350 Fatal1ty ITX
GPU
Asus GTX1060
RAM
G.Skill 8gb 3000mhz
Hard Drive
250gb Samsung 850 Pro
Optical Drive
SATA LG DVD Burner
Power Supply
EVGA 500w Gold
Case
EVGA Hadron Air
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro X64
Monitor
23" Asus 144hz
Keyboard
Microsoft Ergonomic 4000
Mouse
Logitech G Pro
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by kaivorth; 12-31-2018 at 09:21 AM.
kaivorth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-31-2018, 03:18 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,495
Rep: 103 (Unique: 81)
Good deal. Figured it was on the tv side.


Some manufacturers simply dont have the right firmware on the tv to notice if its plugged into a computer.
mattliston is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off