Nvidia Extend Freesync Range - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Nvidia Extend Freesync Range

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 06:56 PM - Thread Starter
Questionnaire galore!
 
Speedster159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines ≥ U.S.A
Posts: 5,897
Rep: 65 (Unique: 57)
Nvidia Extend Freesync Range

Okay! I'm using the Nvidia implementation of Freesync and I'm trying to lower my Freesync range to take advantage of LFC, which apparently works to what I've read.

I tested with Nvidia custom resolution everything from 39 - 35 hz, everything was fine. Lowered range and added datablock in CRU for 35 - 75 and restarted the system itself.

Enabled Freesync and went into Pendulum to test, and I'm getting blackouts or I think what you call flickering specifically at 37 and 38 fps / hz, 39 and everything below 37 works just fine and it's smoother than before.

Any input?

Using a LG29UM69G and 1060 if it matters.

EDIT: Tried 30 - 75 and I'm still only getting flickering at 37 and 38 but everything else above and below that works fine.


Sunkissed Beauty
(26 items)
Alienware M17x R4
(17 items)
Quirky
(12 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K [ 4.5Ghz | 1.370V ]
Motherboard
AsRock Z77 OC Formula
GPU
ASUS GTX 1060 Strix OC
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Elite 16GB 1866Mhz CL9 1.5V [ 4 x 4 ]
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB [ WD5000AAKX ]
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB [ WD10EZEX ]
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Green 1TB [ WD10EARS ]
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Green 1TB [ WD10EARS ]
Power Supply
Seasonic X760
Cooling
Corsair H100i Push&Pull
Cooling
Corsair SP120 PWM High Peformance [ 2X ][ H100 i]
Cooling
NZXT FN 140RB [4X][Case]
Cooling
Cooler Master Sickleflow 120 Red [ 2X ][ Case ]
Cooling
Corsair SP120L PWM [ 2X] [ H100i ]
Case
NZXT Swtich 810 Black
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
LG 29" Ultrawide 29UM69G
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K95 RGB [ MX Brown ]
Mouse
Logitech G402
Mouse
Razer Goliathus Alpha Control / Steelseries Qck Mass
Audio
Audio-Technica M40x
Audio
Creative Inspire T7900
Audio
Audio-Technica ATR2500-USB
Other
NZXT Sentry LX
Other
NZXT Sleeved LED Kit | Orange 2M
CPU
Intel Core i7 3630QM
Motherboard
Alienware M17x R4
GPU
Nvidia GTX 660M 2GB
GPU
Intel HD400
RAM
Alienware OEM 6GB [ 1x4, 1x2 ]
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
Optical Drive
Alienware OEM
Power Supply
Alienware OEM
Cooling
Alienware OEM
Case
Alienware M17x R4
Operating System
Windows 8 Pro 8.1
Monitor
Alienware OEM 1080p
Keyboard
Alienware OEM
Mouse
Logitech G602
Mouse
Steelseries Qck Mass
Audio
Alienware OEM
CPU
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E2200
Motherboard
MSI 945GCM5-F V2 (FSB 1333)
GPU
Inno3D Nvidia GeForce GTS 450 1GB (Cooler Ripoff)
Optical Drive
Benq DVD-R,CD-R,DVD-ROM,CD-ROM
Power Supply
AcBel R8 PowerII 650W 80+
Cooling
Intel Stock Fan
Case
Vertu Santa Fe "Blue"
Monitor
MAG InnoVision 770FS
Keyboard
Logitech Internet Pro
Mouse
Logitech Internet Pro
Mouse
CM Storm Pad
Audio
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Speedster159; 01-17-2019 at 07:08 PM.
Speedster159 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 07:18 PM
GPU Enthusiast
 
rv8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,378
Rep: 185 (Unique: 140)
The scalar in the monitor can't handle switching the refresh rate through the larger range. You're technically "overclocking" the monitor and unfortunately there's not really anything you can do to get the monitor to not blank at those lower refresh rates.

If you're daring you can create custom resolutions and mess with the monitors timings, pixel clocks, etc... but from attempting to do the same with my ACER XR342CK, pretty much everything you'll try won't help. You might be able to increase the top end, but make sure you check for frame skipping above the default max.

*For reference my XR342CK had a VRR range of 48-75hz by default. I was able to successfully increase the range to 42-75hz without any blanking. Your mileage may vary.

Steins Gate
(16 items)
CPU
i7 8700k
Motherboard
EVGA Z390 Dark
GPU
Radeon 7
RAM
2x8GB DDR4 3600 c17 @ 4300 c19 2T
Hard Drive
960 Evo
Hard Drive
850 Evo
Power Supply
EVGA 750w G2
Cooling
Thermalright True Spirit 140 Direct
Case
Fractal Design S2
Monitor
Acer ed323qur
Keyboard
CM MK Pro S
Mouse
G703
Mousepad
Logitech Powerplay
Audio
Polk tsi 100
Audio
HD518
Audio
Topping MX3
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rv8000; 01-18-2019 at 05:35 AM.
rv8000 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-19-2019, 09:45 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,873
Rep: 293 (Unique: 214)
You have to set it just right so that the GPU switches to LFC before you get out of range of your monitor. If your max is 75Hz then you need 75/2 = 37.5Hz, but Nvidia switches to LFC earlier, so when I set 36-76Hz it switches at 38Hz to LFC, otherwise same as you most of these scalers/input boards will start to flicker below 38Hz, so what you do is run 75,74,73,...40,39,38,74,73,72,... Hz with LFC and it won't flicker.

You will very likely need 38Hz to be flicker free, but you don't need 37Hz to be.

This is what I set, I don't use any custom resolution in NVCP or what ever and don't create new Freesync range datablocks in the extended part as the random online guides love to recommend.



This is all you need to do, set range limits, change lower limit to "lowest flicker free refresh rate - 2". If your last flicker free is 39 you would set 37Hz and hope LFC will work, it just might since 37 < 37.5.
Set it, run restart64, wait until it blinks and you get back to normal, learn the recovery procedure if you have issues or learn how to run reset while not being able to see anything. I think F8 is recovery after running restart.

You really have to luck out and be able to run 76,...,39,76,... Hz. If you can raise the higher limit by 1 or 2 and it works, that could help.

It's not overclocking either, most input boards will tell you "input out of range" etc. when you do such when I try to run anything above 76.5Hz. The monitor is marketed as 48-75Hz I think but the monitor itself reports range 48-76Hz, so I set 36-76Hz and get LFC under 38Hz, as such 37Hz is not run but 74Hz is instead, this up to the GPU and it's driver to double up and deal with low FPS. It works 0-75fps for me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Q3279VWFD8 FreeSync range 36-76Hz uses LFC under 38fps.PNG
Views:	379
Size:	45.0 KB
ID:	247762  


Last edited by JackCY; 01-19-2019 at 10:06 AM.
JackCY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-20-2019, 12:42 AM - Thread Starter
Questionnaire galore!
 
Speedster159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines ≥ U.S.A
Posts: 5,897
Rep: 65 (Unique: 57)
Quote: Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
You have to set it just right so that the GPU switches to LFC before you get out of range of your monitor. If your max is 75Hz then you need 75/2 = 37.5Hz, but Nvidia switches to LFC earlier, so when I set 36-76Hz it switches at 38Hz to LFC, otherwise same as you most of these scalers/input boards will start to flicker below 38Hz, so what you do is run 75,74,73,...40,39,38,74,73,72,... Hz with LFC and it won't flicker.

You will very likely need 38Hz to be flicker free, but you don't need 37Hz to be.

This is what I set, I don't use any custom resolution in NVCP or what ever and don't create new Freesync range datablocks in the extended part as the random online guides love to recommend.



This is all you need to do, set range limits, change lower limit to "lowest flicker free refresh rate - 2". If your last flicker free is 39 you would set 37Hz and hope LFC will work, it just might since 37 < 37.5.
Set it, run restart64, wait until it blinks and you get back to normal, learn the recovery procedure if you have issues or learn how to run reset while not being able to see anything. I think F8 is recovery after running restart.

You really have to luck out and be able to run 76,...,39,76,... Hz. If you can raise the higher limit by 1 or 2 and it works, that could help.

It's not overclocking either, most input boards will tell you "input out of range" etc. when you do such when I try to run anything above 76.5Hz. The monitor is marketed as 48-75Hz I think but the monitor itself reports range 48-76Hz, so I set 36-76Hz and get LFC under 38Hz, as such 37Hz is not run but 74Hz is instead, this up to the GPU and it's driver to double up and deal with low FPS. It works 0-75fps for me.
Alright I stopped putting in the Freesync datablock.

I then reverted everything back to stock and edited the range from 40 - 75 to 40 - 80, with desktop resolution and refresh still at the stock 75Hz. Tested with Pendulum at 39FPS and below and I can't tell a difference.

How would I verify LFC is working without OSD monitoring? Here's my stock configuration.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LG.PNG
Views:	31
Size:	97.7 KB
ID:	248010  



Sunkissed Beauty
(26 items)
Alienware M17x R4
(17 items)
Quirky
(12 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K [ 4.5Ghz | 1.370V ]
Motherboard
AsRock Z77 OC Formula
GPU
ASUS GTX 1060 Strix OC
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Elite 16GB 1866Mhz CL9 1.5V [ 4 x 4 ]
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB [ WD5000AAKX ]
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB [ WD10EZEX ]
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Green 1TB [ WD10EARS ]
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Green 1TB [ WD10EARS ]
Power Supply
Seasonic X760
Cooling
Corsair H100i Push&Pull
Cooling
Corsair SP120 PWM High Peformance [ 2X ][ H100 i]
Cooling
NZXT FN 140RB [4X][Case]
Cooling
Cooler Master Sickleflow 120 Red [ 2X ][ Case ]
Cooling
Corsair SP120L PWM [ 2X] [ H100i ]
Case
NZXT Swtich 810 Black
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
LG 29" Ultrawide 29UM69G
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K95 RGB [ MX Brown ]
Mouse
Logitech G402
Mouse
Razer Goliathus Alpha Control / Steelseries Qck Mass
Audio
Audio-Technica M40x
Audio
Creative Inspire T7900
Audio
Audio-Technica ATR2500-USB
Other
NZXT Sentry LX
Other
NZXT Sleeved LED Kit | Orange 2M
CPU
Intel Core i7 3630QM
Motherboard
Alienware M17x R4
GPU
Nvidia GTX 660M 2GB
GPU
Intel HD400
RAM
Alienware OEM 6GB [ 1x4, 1x2 ]
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
Optical Drive
Alienware OEM
Power Supply
Alienware OEM
Cooling
Alienware OEM
Case
Alienware M17x R4
Operating System
Windows 8 Pro 8.1
Monitor
Alienware OEM 1080p
Keyboard
Alienware OEM
Mouse
Logitech G602
Mouse
Steelseries Qck Mass
Audio
Alienware OEM
CPU
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E2200
Motherboard
MSI 945GCM5-F V2 (FSB 1333)
GPU
Inno3D Nvidia GeForce GTS 450 1GB (Cooler Ripoff)
Optical Drive
Benq DVD-R,CD-R,DVD-ROM,CD-ROM
Power Supply
AcBel R8 PowerII 650W 80+
Cooling
Intel Stock Fan
Case
Vertu Santa Fe "Blue"
Monitor
MAG InnoVision 770FS
Keyboard
Logitech Internet Pro
Mouse
Logitech Internet Pro
Mouse
CM Storm Pad
Audio
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
▲ hide details ▲
Speedster159 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-20-2019, 05:57 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,873
Rep: 293 (Unique: 214)
The pendulum FPS isn't super accurate and a bit finicky to set at times. Stock range 40-75Hz, set 20-75Hz and you will find out that 38Hz is not working correctly, so you set lower range to 40, check again if you can push FPS down to 1 from say 45fps without issues and tearing or stutter. Set 39, and test again, set 38 and test, set 37 and test, ... until you get and issue say at 38fps, so you back up by 1Hz. Because you're upper limit may not be as high as required the LFC may not kick in, if your monitor supports above 75Hz then raising max will definitely help.

For me I can see it that LFC works because the overdrive artifact starts to look as if I have double the refresh rate. And I get no tearing or stutter all the way to 1fps, though pendulum demo has minimum 20fps, you have to test lower in games with ingame limiter or RTSS.
With my GPU and monitor LFC turned ON at minimum range + 1, so if I set 36Hz it would run LFC at 37Hz = 74Hz, well probably anywhere below 38Hz, so 37.999Hz, since the reported range max is 76Hz.

When you set 35-75Hz and cannot get issue free 37 and 38..., LFC will turn ON at 36.999Hz = <37Hz = below 37Hz, as such it will run 75-39Hz fine, 38+37 with issue and 36, 35, ... and below will be doubled to 72, 70, ...

You should thus set 37-75Hz (or what ever other max your monitor supports be it by default or OCed) and it will run: 75-39Hz fine and anything below 39 should get doubled, the problem is 38*2 = 76Hz, and 39*2=78Hz, so if your monitor can't run 78Hz it may not work unless it locks itself to 75Hz and you raise the upper range limit to 78Hz.

For me it works without having to change upper limit because 36-76Hz ==> LFC at <38Hz ==> 38*2 = 76Hz and everything is OK. Maybe you can set the upper range to like you did to 80Hz, maybe it will not run 76Hz+ issue free but you can tell it not to with Vsync or FastSync to limit it to 75Hz, kind of trick the LFC to start is all you really need. On my monitor raising the upper range had no effect as far as I remember, it would go out of sync above 75Hz, it would work but with a tear.

Try 37-144hz It's what I did, well I did 1-144Hz and checked for when tearing start on upper end and when issues starts on lower end. You can probably set 37-78Hz or 37-80Hz and get tear free 1-75Hz experience with LFC under 39Hz.
JackCY is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-20-2019, 06:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ha-Nocri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,174
Rep: 110 (Unique: 71)
Is free-sync working in windowed mode also, like it doe with AMD GPU?

Ha-Nocri is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-22-2019, 06:24 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,873
Rep: 293 (Unique: 214)
I think it works but I can't retest right now. Of course with windowed mode you're trying to spot a difference between Windows enforced Vsync and adaptive sync mode. It can depend on an application used. Game I tested: when not using adaptive sync it would run Vsynced with lag because of it's windowed mode (windowed windowed and windowed fullscreen is all it supports, no exclusive fullscreen (well it does via config changes but it's broken LOL with unusable performance and other issues, so I didn't test that one with this game since it's more of a broken hack)).

In NVCP you can select between fullscreen and fullscreen+windowed modes. To me it seems the windowed mode does work.
JackCY is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off