144Hz TN @ 60Hz... What gives!? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

144Hz TN @ 60Hz... What gives!?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-08-2019, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JBG84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 95
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
144Hz TN @ 60Hz... What gives!?

Hi Guys,

I need some guidance or opinions from fellow 144Hz TN panel users.

My Acer KG271U (144Hz TN 1ms) looks smooth from 100Hz+ .... but if I drop the refresh rate to 60Hz (maybe to play an old game) it looks soooo choppy more akin to 20-30hz!! It's awful.

Why?

Is this a common 144Hz TN panel symptom/issue? Would a 144Hz IPS panel suffer the same?

Thanking you!
Jason

JBG84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-09-2019, 08:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Malinkadink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,949
Rep: 107 (Unique: 83)
Why do you need to drop the refresh rate to 60hz to play older games? Do they not run at 144hz? Trying using windowed mode as then you'd be using the refresh rate set at the desktop which would be 144hz. Maybe you just got used to 144hz because 60hz looks choppy to me after using 165hz for so long lol, but i also use gsync so 60hz isn't as bad as it could be.

Malinkadink is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-09-2019, 09:20 PM
4790k for Life!
 
snoball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,694
Rep: 86 (Unique: 79)
Welcome to 144 Hz, you are now stuck here forever.

Honestly it's probably just your perception. 60 feels bad compared to 100+ Hz

Main PC
(6 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 4790k 4.8 GHz
GPU
EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
G.Skill 16GB DDR3 2133
Hard Drive
Corsair Neutron XTi 480 GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX760
Cooling
Noctua NHD15S
▲ hide details ▲


snoball is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-10-2019, 12:02 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JBG84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 95
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Malinkadink View Post
Why do you need to drop the refresh rate to 60hz to play older games? Do they not run at 144hz? Trying using windowed mode as then you'd be using the refresh rate set at the desktop which would be 144hz. Maybe you just got used to 144hz because 60hz looks choppy to me after using 165hz for so long lol, but i also use gsync so 60hz isn't as bad as it could be.
Hi! Thanks for your thoughts. I tried the borderless mode with a variety of refresh rates. If there was a difference, it was difficult to percieve.

Some games (like Chivalry: Medieval Warfare or South Park: Stick of Truth) are software locked to 60fps. Some console game ports to PC do the same.

My previous monitor was 60Hz IPS 5ms and I am thinking it's lower pixel response time (verse my current 1ms rated monitor) meant it naturally provided smoothing (I'll call it micro-blurring) between the 60 frames drawn per second. Where as the 1ms TN at 60Hz is too fast at drawing the frames and thus the transition to the next frame appears chopppy. My guess.

JBG84 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-10-2019, 12:12 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JBG84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 95
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by snoball View Post
Welcome to 144 Hz, you are now stuck here forever.

Honestly it's probably just your perception. 60 feels bad compared to 100+ Hz
Hi Snoball! No it's not a perception thing, the day I setup the new 1ms monitor and took down the old 60Hz 5ms monitor, it immediately was perceptionally worse at 60Hz.

I think it has to do with differences in monitor response times at lower refresh rates, is my best guess just thinking it through. (but I don't have the money to buy a bunch of monitors to test this Lol). Just not something I've ever read in a review, but I feel it is there.

JBG84 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-10-2019, 06:44 AM
4790k for Life!
 
snoball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,694
Rep: 86 (Unique: 79)
Might be FreeSync bugging out if you have an NVIDIA card. Otherwise maybe RMA that monitor and get another one

Main PC
(6 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 4790k 4.8 GHz
GPU
EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
G.Skill 16GB DDR3 2133
Hard Drive
Corsair Neutron XTi 480 GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX760
Cooling
Noctua NHD15S
▲ hide details ▲


snoball is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-10-2019, 07:53 AM
►¿¿¿
 
Axaion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,965
Rep: 48 (Unique: 41)
Do you have FPS and Hz confused?, theyre not the same thing.

Have you tried 144hz, and just allowing the game to have its own life at its locked 60fps? what happens then?

Axaion is online now  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-10-2019, 07:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JBG84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 95
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Axaion View Post
Do you have FPS and Hz confused?, theyre not the same thing.

Have you tried 144hz, and just allowing the game to have its own life at its locked 60fps? what happens then?
Yeah that's what I did. Technically that should make it worse, as the monitor pixel response time is at it's peak (1ms) but you're only drawing 60 frames per second on game screen so each frame transition is sudden, not smooth. But weirdly I think it helped a little, but hard to perceive could have been imagining it.

JBG84 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-10-2019, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JBG84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 95
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by snoball View Post
Might be FreeSync bugging out if you have an NVIDIA card. Otherwise maybe RMA that monitor and get another one
Yeah have an nVidia at the moment. Have tried the G-Sync compatible thing with latest drivers but get occasional random black screens much like these guys...

https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...-w-gtx-1080ti/

JBG84 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-10-2019, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JBG84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 95
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Thanks everyone for your thoughts and feedback!

Soo... I found my monitor has an "Overdrive" setting that is on by default but when turned off, improves smoothness at lower Hz refresh rates. I believe it does this by loosening the response timings (so like 3ms instead of 1ms for example). Although it's desirable turned on for higher refresh rates (120Hz-144Hz). It's helped a lot!

JBG84 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off