LG 38GL950G - 37.5" 3840x1600/G-Sync/175Hz - Page 11 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

LG 38GL950G - 37.5" 3840x1600/G-Sync/175Hz

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #101 of 139 (permalink) Old 02-02-2020, 03:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rentay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by ChaosAD View Post
By deep sleep do you mean the smart energy savings in general submenu? I have this off.
The cable is the CAC-2068 DP 1.4 HBR3 Cable 2m.
Yes that’s the setting.

Does the cable support 4K @ 144hz?

What hz are you running your monitor?
rentay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #102 of 139 (permalink) Old 02-02-2020, 05:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ChaosAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 680
Rep: 40 (Unique: 36)
Quote: Originally Posted by rentay View Post
Yes that’s the setting.

Does the cable support 4K @ 144hz?

What hz are you running your monitor?
Yes it does support [email protected] and [email protected]
I use [email protected] - 10bpc - RGB Full

Pure Dark TJ07
(17 items)
CPU
[email protected] - 1.34v
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero
GPU
Palit GTX 1060 6Gb Super JetStream
RAM
Gskill Trident Z RBG 2x8Gb 3600C16 @ 4000C17
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo 250Gb
Hard Drive
WD Red 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 850W
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm
Cooling
ThermoChill PA120.3 - 3xAP15
Cooling
Swiftech MCP655V - EK Top
Case
TJ07 Full Matte Black (Modded)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Samsung S27A850D (2560x1440)
Keyboard
Logitech G Pro
Mouse
Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Audio
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Audio
Εpoz Aktimate Mini on IsoAcoustics
▲ hide details ▲


ChaosAD is offline  
post #103 of 139 (permalink) Old 02-02-2020, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saudi Arabia (US Military)
Posts: 8,420
Rep: 522 (Unique: 361)
Turned off deep-sleep and it still occurs. Hopefully the inbound cable fixes it.

GPU: TITAN RTX - 2175 MHz, liquid cooled
CPU: 9900K 5.4 GHz, liquid cooled
MB: ASUS Maximus XI Gene
RAM: G.Skill 16GB 4600 MHz
SSD: Intel Optane 905P - 960GB
DISPLAY: LG 38GL950G
CallsignVega is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #104 of 139 (permalink) Old 02-02-2020, 02:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rentay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by ChaosAD View Post
Yes it does support [email protected] and [email protected]
I use [email protected] - 10bpc - RGB Full
When the monitor is powered from cold boot, can you see your computer posting?

After signing in to windows, does the screen then go black for a second then return to desktop? Sounds like it may be trying to switch between hdmi and dp...

I had an older Asus monitor that used to do this and it was a graphic driver reinstall/update. Have you tried to do this?

I'll have a look tonight and see what other settings I have enabled/disabled.
rentay is offline  
post #105 of 139 (permalink) Old 02-03-2020, 10:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Barney Gumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 40
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Presets

Quote: Originally Posted by CallsignVega View Post
5. Not a huge proponent of the single middle under-front-lip joystick control. The OSD presets also don't save things like brightness and on-screen cross-hair. You have to manually adjust those things every time if you want to change them, as the four presets don't save their status.
.
Vega or anyone - can you advise on how these presets work? I have been through the owner's manual and I can't find anything on this. The reason why I ask is that I flip back and forth between two computers/display inputs fairly regularly. On my current Samsung it's dead easy as there is a dedicated button on the display. I don't know how much of a differentiator it would be for me on deciding on the LG display, but it would suck if I have to go through several layers of menu screens to get to the display input choices. It would help if there was a one or two button push preset.

Thanks in advance.

Barney Gumble is offline  
post #106 of 139 (permalink) Old 02-03-2020, 11:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ChaosAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 680
Rep: 40 (Unique: 36)
Quote: Originally Posted by rentay View Post
When the monitor is powered from cold boot, can you see your computer posting?

After signing in to windows, does the screen then go black for a second then return to desktop? Sounds like it may be trying to switch between hdmi and dp...

I had an older Asus monitor that used to do this and it was a graphic driver reinstall/update. Have you tried to do this?

I'll have a look tonight and see what other settings I have enabled/disabled.
Yes, from cold boot i can see Asus Rog logo etc while posting, then when i get into desktop it goes blank for a sec and it comes back with the displayport logo on the upper right corner. Why would it try to display hdmi when i have set up the input mode to dp in the menu?

No i have not tried to undate my gfx driver. I ll try that and report back.

Pure Dark TJ07
(17 items)
CPU
[email protected] - 1.34v
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero
GPU
Palit GTX 1060 6Gb Super JetStream
RAM
Gskill Trident Z RBG 2x8Gb 3600C16 @ 4000C17
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo 250Gb
Hard Drive
WD Red 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 850W
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm
Cooling
ThermoChill PA120.3 - 3xAP15
Cooling
Swiftech MCP655V - EK Top
Case
TJ07 Full Matte Black (Modded)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Samsung S27A850D (2560x1440)
Keyboard
Logitech G Pro
Mouse
Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Audio
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Audio
Εpoz Aktimate Mini on IsoAcoustics
▲ hide details ▲


ChaosAD is offline  
post #107 of 139 (permalink) Old 02-03-2020, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saudi Arabia (US Military)
Posts: 8,420
Rep: 522 (Unique: 361)
Quote: Originally Posted by Barney Gumble View Post
Vega or anyone - can you advise on how these presets work? I have been through the owner's manual and I can't find anything on this. The reason why I ask is that I flip back and forth between two computers/display inputs fairly regularly. On my current Samsung it's dead easy as there is a dedicated button on the display. I don't know how much of a differentiator it would be for me on deciding on the LG display, but it would suck if I have to go through several layers of menu screens to get to the display input choices. It would help if there was a one or two button push preset.

Thanks in advance.
Two button presses: press the joystick in once to bring up the menu, then move the joystick left to switch inputs. Takes about two seconds for the other input screen to come up.

GPU: TITAN RTX - 2175 MHz, liquid cooled
CPU: 9900K 5.4 GHz, liquid cooled
MB: ASUS Maximus XI Gene
RAM: G.Skill 16GB 4600 MHz
SSD: Intel Optane 905P - 960GB
DISPLAY: LG 38GL950G
CallsignVega is offline  
post #108 of 139 (permalink) Old 02-03-2020, 12:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Barney Gumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 40
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by CallsignVega View Post
Two button presses: press the joystick in once to bring up the menu, then move the joystick left to switch inputs. Takes about two seconds for the other input screen to come up.
Perfect thanks.

Barney Gumble is offline  
post #109 of 139 (permalink) Old 02-14-2020, 08:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ChaosAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 680
Rep: 40 (Unique: 36)
Quote: Originally Posted by rentay View Post
I had an older Asus monitor that used to do this and it was a graphic driver reinstall/update. Have you tried to do this?
Yesterday i had some free time and updated my nvidia driver to the latest one. I have powered on/off the monitor about 4-5 times and it seems that the issue is completely gone (fingers crossed). Hope this was the problem and not the monitor itself.

Pure Dark TJ07
(17 items)
CPU
[email protected] - 1.34v
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero
GPU
Palit GTX 1060 6Gb Super JetStream
RAM
Gskill Trident Z RBG 2x8Gb 3600C16 @ 4000C17
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo 250Gb
Hard Drive
WD Red 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 850W
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm
Cooling
ThermoChill PA120.3 - 3xAP15
Cooling
Swiftech MCP655V - EK Top
Case
TJ07 Full Matte Black (Modded)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Samsung S27A850D (2560x1440)
Keyboard
Logitech G Pro
Mouse
Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Audio
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Audio
Εpoz Aktimate Mini on IsoAcoustics
▲ hide details ▲


ChaosAD is offline  
post #110 of 139 (permalink) Old 02-17-2020, 12:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
asus1889's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 157
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I compared the LG 38GL950G with the Asus PG35VQ. Far i can tell the LG sucks. It's a LG 27GL850 in a bigger format.

Cons:

-worst ips glow for an ultra wide, milky-grey glow is wide spreaded everywhere (also other ips monitors like LG 34GK950G/F are much better)
-bad colors (also other ips monitors like LG 34GK950G/F are much better)
-bad contrast (also other ips monitors like LG 34GK950G/F are much better)
-bad HDR (horrible, same as on the LG 34GK950F => edge led, no dimming zones)
-clouding pretty bad
-homogenity bad (yellow tint)
-no swivel (yes, *** for a 2000 Euro monitor)

Pros:

-a little bit bigger than the PG35VQ
-fan is really quieted (on PG35VQ i had to swap the fans before it was nearly (is a little bit louder, but it wont die, because of overheat ) quiet like the LG), but i heared about overheat and ony a little life span
-blb moderate
.good build
-little bit faster response times than PG35VQ (expect of btg )

Overall the monitor isnt worth more than ~1000 Euros. The PG35VQ is so, so, so much better. In Germany you get the PG35VQ on sale for the same price as the LG 38GL950G. I unterstand LG's price, because the G-Sync HDR dp 1.4 module is costing ~500 Euros. But the edge led panel is pretty cheap so you could archive the price tag of arround 1000 Euros.

Nobody who knows the picture quality of the PG35VQ for 2000 Euro would pay nearly equal for a LG 38GL950G. I've seen on a german forum some people who didnt know the PG35VQ and they think they have made a great deal whith the crappy LG. LOL.

I will return the LG 38GL950G.

Big cutback of the the PG35VQ @ stock (so be warned):

Without swapping the fans is also horrible, because of the disturbing scrubing and rattlieng fan noise of 3 crappy Sunon fans .

Last edited by asus1889; 02-17-2020 at 01:02 AM.
asus1889 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off