Acer nitro XV2 XV272UP optimal settings - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Acer nitro XV2 XV272UP optimal settings

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-04-2019, 07:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 25 (Unique: 17)
Acer nitro XV2 XV272UP optimal settings

Hey,

Long time I haven't posted here.

Just bought the 27" 1440p 144hz freesync Innolux-based XV272UP from Caseking as I could get it for a decent price (<400€ new). I pulled the trigger despite the mixed reviews and the lottery factor, I'll see how it goes. Coming from a BenQ XL2411 (24" TN 144hz) that I've been using for the past 5 years, hopefully this will still be a nice upgrade. I intend to keep the XL2411 as a secondary monitor.

I pretty much know nothing about monitors thus am looking for some advice:
- should I use DP or HDMI (currently using DVI for my XL2411 lol) ?
- what are the optimal settings (general work use + competitive gaming, namely CS:GO) ?

Thanks a lot !

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-04-2019, 08:07 AM
Overclocker

Rep: 337 (Unique: 240)
DP, DP 1.2 cable is fine and the 1.4 cables are either expensive or nothing more than renamed 1.2 or even HDMI cables/wires with DP connectors so beware there is a lot of snake oil in cables and they don't really seem to do any bandwidth testing before leaving factory.
Would not go over 3m length.

Try and get it neutral sharp if you even can, I think now with this monitor, you can check on lagom.nl sharpness.

You can also check gamma at different color levels there so you set it to gamma 2.2. Check that blacks nor whites are being clipped and adjust contrast or even color levels and gamma accordingly.

Response times you can check on testufo and other, in games, and see which overdrive setting works best without causing artifacts.
Download pendulum demo from NV and check for adaptive sync working.

The rest... check for defects, pixels, dust, yellowing and excessive BLB or glow.