Getting static randomly when gaming at 4k - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Getting static randomly when gaming at 4k

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 61 (permalink) Old 08-09-2019, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,326
Rep: 81 (Unique: 64)
Alright everyone, I appreciate all the suggestions and opinions. I believe I have narrowed it down to an airflow issue.

I will try to do some rearranging of my fan layout, and/or try to adjust my fan curve for my water loop (2x240mm rads in P/P each) My MSI 990FXA Gaming board won't let me ramp up the fans until the CPU reaches 45C or above, which almost never happens. So I think my card is getting overheated because of this..

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲
Destrto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 61 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 05:58 AM
Watercooler
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,364
Rep: 145 (Unique: 124)
Quote: Originally Posted by Destrto View Post
Alright everyone, I appreciate all the suggestions and opinions. I believe I have narrowed it down to an airflow issue.

I will try to do some rearranging of my fan layout, and/or try to adjust my fan curve for my water loop (2x240mm rads in P/P each) My MSI 990FXA Gaming board won't let me ramp up the fans until the CPU reaches 45C or above, which almost never happens. So I think my card is getting overheated because of this..
Pretty weird that it's an overheating issue, didn't realise 4k pushes a card that much.. Kind of sounds like a faulty GPU to me i would RMA it.

I like to have fun.
https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/110855
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #13 of 61 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,326
Rep: 81 (Unique: 64)
Quote: Originally Posted by Socks keep you warm View Post
Pretty weird that it's an overheating issue, didn't realise 4k pushes a card that much.. Kind of sounds like a faulty GPU to me i would RMA it.
Unable to RMA it as I bought it second hand.

If I keep the side of my case open, the temps stay under 60C and games run fine. It could very well be a fault with the card.

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲
Destrto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 61 (permalink) Old 01-03-2020, 07:43 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,326
Rep: 81 (Unique: 64)
Hey everyone. I am necro-ing my own thread.

Last I mentioned, I thought it was an overheating issue. Well, I have determined that it is not due to overheating.

I now have the card (Powercolor RX 580 8G Red Devil) on a full cover waterblock. And if I switch my resolution back to 4K, the static appears randomly again. So temps are not the issue, as the card only sees about 45C under heavy load.

So far, I have tried multiple HDMI cables (even an active HDMI cable), and every HDMI port that the TV has. I get the same issue.

My TV has a setting that allows me to switch between HDMI 1.4 and 2.0. But this appears to change nothing in regards to the static.

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲
Destrto is offline  
post #15 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-10-2020, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,326
Rep: 81 (Unique: 64)
Sorry to Necro my own thread. Just wondering if anyone could offer some insight to this. As it still appears to be happening.

I have noticed that the static issue does not happen while benchmarking the card at 4k. I tried running GPU-Z's tool to test the card last night while running in 4K. Left it running for about 15 minutes (static issue would normally appear before then) and I did not experience any static on screen.

Just for a recent update, My RX 580 Red Devil is running a Bykski full cover waterblock. So temps aren't an issue anymore. Even at 4K, max temps are only reaching about 52C.

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲
Destrto is offline  
post #16 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-10-2020, 11:56 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,941
Rep: 361 (Unique: 258)
You have to rule out where the problem is. Trying different 4k60 or what you have problems with display, different GPU, etc.
I would guess it's the display as I've yet to see a GPU bother sending static out on a digital output.
JackCY is offline  
post #17 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,326
Rep: 81 (Unique: 64)
Quote: Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
You have to rule out where the problem is. Trying different 4k60 or what you have problems with display, different GPU, etc.
I would guess it's the display as I've yet to see a GPU bother sending static out on a digital output.
I believe you are right here. I have tried 2 different GPU's and get the same problem occurring.

Which prompted me to look at something. I was noticing that anytime I would switch my resolution on the TV from 1080p to 4K, the HZ would default back to 30 instead of 60. Now, I am able to go into the advanced display settings and change it back. However, I thought to try something. I left the monitor in 4K at 30Hz, and decided to see what happened in a game.

Well, aside from the obvious 30 FPS cap, I noticed after about 5 minutes that I had not gotten any sort of flicker or static. So, i closed down the game, switched back to 60HZ, loaded the game again. And BOOM. Static.

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲
Destrto is offline  
post #18 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 07:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,967
Rep: 891 (Unique: 643)
Quote: Originally Posted by Destrto View Post
Hey everyone, I'm a little stumped at the moment on this issue.

I just recently bought a Sceptre (Don't hate) 55" UHD 4k Tv. And the issue is, when I game at 4k, every few minutes the screen will cut to static, as if the signal is lost. Then a split second later it comes right back as if nothing happened. This happens within minutes of playing most any game I've tried so far (The Crew, NFS Most Wanted, EVE Online as examples).

When I turn the resolution down to 1080P, it never happens.

I thought it may have been my older HDMI cable, so I bought a new one that specified HDMI 2.0 and [email protected] No Change.
I'm running the latest AMD Drivers 19.7.5. Latest Win 10 x64.

My Specs are:
AMD FX 8370 @ Stock (Under full water loop, 2x240mm rads in P/P)
RX 580 Red Devil @ Stock (Reaching 80C under load, possibly an overheating issue?)
16Gb G. Skill Sniper DDR3-2100Mhz

Anyone have any thoughts? This is my first venture into 4k, so admittedly I'm new to any expectations.
Have updated your driver? I just hooked my RX 570 to a 55 4K TV and played Minecraft but no static.

2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #19 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,326
Rep: 81 (Unique: 64)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Have updated your driver? I just hooked my RX 570 to a 55 4K TV and played Minecraft but no static.
I am running AMD's latest 20.2.2. Is that what you mean?

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲
Destrto is offline  
post #20 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 07:58 AM
PC Enthusiast
 
Ashura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 957
Rep: 52 (Unique: 39)
Quote: Originally Posted by Destrto View Post
I believe you are right here. I have tried 2 different GPU's and get the same problem occurring.

Which prompted me to look at something. I was noticing that anytime I would switch my resolution on the TV from 1080p to 4K, the HZ would default back to 30 instead of 60. Now, I am able to go into the advanced display settings and change it back. However, I thought to try something. I left the monitor in 4K at 30Hz, and decided to see what happened in a game.

Well, aside from the obvious 30 FPS cap, I noticed after about 5 minutes that I had not gotten any sort of flicker or static. So, i closed down the game, switched back to 60HZ, loaded the game again. And BOOM. Static.
I'd suggest trying with disabling some of the display features such as HDR etc..

PolaRyz
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R7 1700x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Asus GTX 1060 6Gb
RAM
Hyper X Predator 32gb 3000Mhz
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256 GB
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DM003
Hard Drive
Toshiba DC01ACA300
Power Supply
SeaSonic S12G 750w 80+ Gold
Cooling
Phanteks TC14PE
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
LG 23MP68VQ
Monitor
LG 23MP68VQ
Mouse
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Mousepad
Steelseries Qck Mass
▲ hide details ▲
Ashura is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off