Getting static randomly when gaming at 4k - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Getting static randomly when gaming at 4k

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,317
Rep: 81 (Unique: 64)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ashura View Post
I'd suggest trying with disabling some of the display features such as HDR etc..
HDR is not supported on this TV. I have tried disabling a lot of other features on this TV. Just to see if any of them made a difference. MEMC, no change. All of the noise reduction options, DT noise, white noise. No change with either of them. Film mode. No change there either.

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲
Destrto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 10:06 AM
PC Enthusiast
 
Ashura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 931
Rep: 50 (Unique: 38)
Quote: Originally Posted by Destrto View Post
HDR is not supported on this TV. I have tried disabling a lot of other features on this TV. Just to see if any of them made a difference. MEMC, no change. All of the noise reduction options, DT noise, white noise. No change with either of them. Film mode. No change there either.
Only thing I can think of, is that maybe your GPU's HDMI output is not capable of [email protected] You could try a DP to HDMI cable.

PolaRyz
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R7 1700x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Asus GTX 1060 6Gb
RAM
Hyper X Predator 32gb 3000Mhz
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256 GB
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DM003
Hard Drive
Toshiba DC01ACA300
Power Supply
SeaSonic S12G 750w 80+ Gold
Cooling
Phanteks TC14PE
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
LG 23MP68VQ
Monitor
LG 23MP68VQ
Mouse
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Mousepad
Steelseries Qck Mass
▲ hide details ▲
Ashura is online now  
post #23 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,317
Rep: 81 (Unique: 64)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ashura View Post
Only thing I can think of, is that maybe your GPU's HDMI output is not capable of [email protected] You could try a DP to HDMI cable.
I will look into that. Any recommendations on a DP to HDMI cable that is rated for 4K at 60Hz?

Will one of these adapters I keep seeing work?

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Destrto; 03-11-2020 at 10:33 AM.
Destrto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 10:59 AM
PC Enthusiast
 
Ashura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 931
Rep: 50 (Unique: 38)
Quote: Originally Posted by Destrto View Post
I will look into that. Any recommendations on a DP to HDMI cable that is rated for 4K at 60Hz?

Will one of these adapters I keep seeing work?
Any DP(1.2) to HDMI cable rated @4K should support [email protected]

PolaRyz
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R7 1700x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Asus GTX 1060 6Gb
RAM
Hyper X Predator 32gb 3000Mhz
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256 GB
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DM003
Hard Drive
Toshiba DC01ACA300
Power Supply
SeaSonic S12G 750w 80+ Gold
Cooling
Phanteks TC14PE
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
LG 23MP68VQ
Monitor
LG 23MP68VQ
Mouse
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Mousepad
Steelseries Qck Mass
▲ hide details ▲
Ashura is online now  
post #25 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 11:00 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,317
Rep: 81 (Unique: 64)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ashura View Post
Any DP(1.2) to HDMI cable rated @4K should support [email protected]
Ok, the reason I ask is that I have a hard time finding one long enough for my needs. 6 feet is just a bit too short to reach my rig from the TV on the wall.

I googled a bit, and people are saying this DP 1.2a to HDMI active adapter from Monoprice is a good pick. So im trying that.

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲
Destrto is offline  
post #26 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 11:15 AM
Tech Enthusiast
 
deafboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 12,382
Rep: 446 (Unique: 338)
A lot of longer cables will work, you just might need to put some tin foil over the connectors (after plugging it in of course, lol). Most of the cheaper cables have fine shielding around the length of the cable but cheap out at the ends.

As for your static issue do you happen to have a picture? It's not the card artifacting is it? GPU might be fine but the memory might be meh

IN HONOR OF SYRILLIAN, R.I.P.
ASUS ROG Rampage IV Black Owners Club || PNW Overclockers Club
BMW TJ07 Build Log -- The Ultimate Cooling Machine
2 year anniversary In Remembrance of a Great - RIP Syrillian
HTPC
(15 items)
Overkill FreeNAS
(10 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R5 3600
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix B450-I
GPU
nVidia Titan XP
RAM
Corsair LPX 3200C16 8GBx2
Hard Drive
Samsung PM981 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
IS-60 w/ A12x15 Chromax
Cooling
Accelero Xtreme III
Cooling
2x Noctua NF-A12x25
Case
Fractal Design Node 202
Monitor
LG C9
Keyboard
Logitech G613
Keyboard
Logitech K400
Mouse
Logitech G602
Audio
LG SK8Y and LG SPK8-S
CPU
E5-2670v1
CPU
E5-2670v1
Motherboard
Supermicro X9DRL-iF
Hard Drive
12x HGST 4TB CoolSpin
Hard Drive
6x WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX750
Cooling
2x Noctua nh-u9dxi4
Cooling
3x Scythe AP-30
Case
Norco 4224
Operating System
FreeNAS
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-1680 V2
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
GPU
nVidia Titan XP (2100/5200)
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 400GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 1.2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung PM981 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200i
Cooling
2x Swiftech D5 w/ EK Dual Pump Top
Cooling
XSPC EX480, EX360 & 2x Phobya 1080
Cooling
EK Supremacy EVO CPU Block
Cooling
EK Advanced 250mL Res
Cooling
Lamptron FC-5V2
Cooling
EK Rampage IV BE Water Block
Cooling
Copper Tubing w/ push fittings
Cooling
EK-FC Titan XP Copper/Acetal
Case
Silverstone TJ07, heavily modified
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG297Q
Keyboard
Leopold Otaku
Mouse
Corsair M65
Mouse
Corsair MM600
Audio
Sennheiser HD595 / HD428 / HD280
Audio
Corsair SP2500
▲ hide details ▲


deafboy is offline  
post #27 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 01:33 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,317
Rep: 81 (Unique: 64)
Quote: Originally Posted by deafboy View Post
A lot of longer cables will work, you just might need to put some tin foil over the connectors (after plugging it in of course, lol). Most of the cheaper cables have fine shielding around the length of the cable but cheap out at the ends.

As for your static issue do you happen to have a picture? It's not the card artifacting is it? GPU might be fine but the memory might be meh
Yea I tried to spring a little for a better cable. I got the Dynamic View Active HDMI cable from monoprice.

And i dont think its the card artifacting. Ill try to get a photo of it tonight. It looks like the static you see on an older TV when you hit a channel with nothing broadcasting. Like white noise. It shows that for a second, and then the image returns to normal.

I had attributed it previously to the card overheating. But I've now ruled that out by putting the card under water.

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲
Destrto is offline  
post #28 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 02:23 PM
Not a linux lobbyist
 
rluker5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,093
Rep: 56 (Unique: 42)
I get a similar problem with the Fury Nitro and Samsung Q65fn where the video cuts out at 4k60 using a Plugable active DP1.2 to HDMI 2.0 adapter. Intel and Nvidia work fine. 1440p60 and 1080p120 work fine. I am using a 10ft HDMI cable though. Maybe the signal is just kind of weak out of those cards. I'll try a shorter cable.

Edit: Good so far, will have to use it some more tonight before I can make a judgement on whether it is stable. I don't like that I had to move the small bookshelf that the itx is on closer to the tv, but maybe I can get used to it. It does make it slightly roomier to get into the living room so there is that.

L5
(17 items)
Lea2
(11 items)
L7
(11 items)
CPU
5775c
Motherboard
Maximus VII Hero
GPU
Aorus 1080ti Waterforce
RAM
16 Gb Gskill Trident @ 2400,cas10,1.575v
RAM
8 Gb Gskill Trident @ 2400,cas10,1.575v
Hard Drive
1Tb Team ssd
Hard Drive
seagate barracuda 3T
Hard Drive
Optane 900p 480G OS
Optical Drive
Asus BW-16D1HT
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 1300 G2
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterLiquid Pro 120 (cpu)
Cooling
2 140mm case fans, 2 120mm
Case
Fractal Design R4 (no window)
Operating System
W10 64 pro
Monitor
panasonic TC-58AX800U
Audio
Focal Elear, Nova 40, 598se, HE4xx, DT990pro w b.boost earpads
Audio
SoundbasterX AE-5, onboard
CPU
4770k
Motherboard
Asus Z87 Deluxe
GPU
Fury Nitro
RAM
8Gb klevv urbane 2133
Hard Drive
ROG Raidr 240Gb pcie
Hard Drive
1Tb WD blue
Power Supply
Pc Power&Cooling silencer Mk2 950w
Cooling
Deepcool Lucifer V2
Case
DIYPC P48-W
Operating System
W10 64 pro
Monitor
40"tv
CPU
4980hq
Motherboard
Asus H81T/CSM
RAM
8Gb 1600 samsung
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 evo 120gb
Power Supply
Skyvast 90w brick for hp pavilion something
Cooling
SilverStone Tek Super Slim
Case
SilverStone Tek PT13B
Operating System
W10 64 pro
Monitor
24" samsung 1080p
Keyboard
Logitech K400+
Other
Intel wifi ac card and noname antennas
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rluker5; 03-11-2020 at 02:37 PM.
rluker5 is offline  
post #29 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 02:30 PM
Invalid Media
 
J7SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1,616
Rep: 73 (Unique: 31)
I had similar issues on a LG IPS 55 inch and a pair of GTX980s / SLI...turned out to be the HDMI cable - since a new, better HDMi cable solved it. Also, does your monitor have DisplayPort ? I ask because on my other 4K system (40 inch Philips; dual 2080 Tis), DisplayPort is what I used from day one and it never caused an issue, even when oc'ing monitor to 4K/75Hz
J7SC is offline  
post #30 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 02:33 PM
EmL
New to Overclock.net
 
EmL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 389
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Have you checked Event viewer?
EmL is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off