Getting static randomly when gaming at 4k - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Getting static randomly when gaming at 4k

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,326
Rep: 81 (Unique: 64)
Quote: Originally Posted by rluker5 View Post
I get a similar problem with the Fury Nitro and Samsung Q65fn where the video cuts out at 4k60 using a Plugable active DP1.2 to HDMI 2.0 adapter. Intel and Nvidia work fine. 1440p60 and 1080p120 work fine. I am using a 10ft HDMI cable though. Maybe the signal is just kind of weak out of those cards. I'll try a shorter cable.

Edit: Good so far, will have to use it some more tonight before I can make a judgement on whether it is stable. I don't like that I had to move the small bookshelf that the itx is on closer to the tv, but maybe I can get used to it. It does make it slightly roomier to get into the living room so there is that.
We will see what this adapter does when it comes in.

Quote: Originally Posted by J7SC View Post
I had similar issues on a LG IPS 55 inch and a pair of GTX980s / SLI...turned out to be the HDMI cable - since a new, better HDMi cable solved it. Also, does your monitor have DisplayPort ? I ask because on my other 4K system (40 inch Philips; dual 2080 Tis), DisplayPort is what I used from day one and it never caused an issue, even when oc'ing monitor to 4K/75Hz
I have tried multiple cables, all different ranges of quality. So far none of them have made a difference.

The TV I am using does not have a DisplayPort connection though.

Quote: Originally Posted by EmL View Post
Have you checked Event viewer?
I have before, but I will check for anything again tonight. I don't remember anything showing up related to video errors.

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲
Destrto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 04:34 PM
Not a linux lobbyist
 
rluker5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,171
Rep: 59 (Unique: 43)
Since switching to the shorter cable I haven't lost signal once. Watched some video and played some BL2 at 4k, tv has been at that res since I posted last. Looks like just as J7SC said, it was the cable for me. A cable with thicker wires or cleaner copper would also probably lower the resistance and improve signal in my case.

Hope your adapter does the trick. Maybe check your ground. I've had a badly ground outlet make a case charged and that gave me some video problems as well once.

L5
(16 items)
Lea2
(11 items)
L7
(11 items)
CPU
5775c
Motherboard
Maximus VII Hero
GPU
Aorus 1080ti Waterforce
RAM
16 Gb Gskill Trident @ 2400,cas10,1.575v
RAM
Team 16GB [email protected]
Hard Drive
1Tb Team sata+1TB Team sata+1TB 42mm msata
Hard Drive
seagate barracuda 3T
Hard Drive
Optane 900p 480G OS
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 1300 G2
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterLiquid Pro 120 (cpu)
Cooling
2 140mm case fans, 2 120mm
Case
Fractal Design C (no window)
Operating System
W10 64 pro
Monitor
panasonic TC-58AX800U
Audio
Focal Elear, Nova 40, 598se, M1060, DT990pro, Fidelio2
Audio
SoundbasterX AE-5, onboard
CPU
4770k
Motherboard
Asus Z87 Deluxe
GPU
Fury Nitro
RAM
8Gb klevv urbane 2133
Hard Drive
ROG Raidr 240Gb pcie
Hard Drive
1Tb WD blue
Power Supply
Pc Power&Cooling silencer Mk2 950w
Cooling
Deepcool Lucifer V2
Case
DIYPC P48-W
Operating System
W10 64 pro
Monitor
40"tv
CPU
4980hq
Motherboard
Asus H81T/CSM
RAM
16GB Samsung cheap
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 evo 120gb
Power Supply
Skyvast 90w brick for hp pavilion something
Cooling
SilverStone Tek Super Slim
Case
SilverStone Tek PT13B
Operating System
W10 64 pro
Monitor
24" samsung 1080p
Keyboard
Logitech K400+
Other
Intel wifi ac card and noname antennas
▲ hide details ▲
rluker5 is offline  
post #33 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 09:05 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,979
Rep: 361 (Unique: 258)
Quote: Originally Posted by Destrto View Post
I believe you are right here. I have tried 2 different GPU's and get the same problem occurring.

Which prompted me to look at something. I was noticing that anytime I would switch my resolution on the TV from 1080p to 4K, the HZ would default back to 30 instead of 60. Now, I am able to go into the advanced display settings and change it back. However, I thought to try something. I left the monitor in 4K at 30Hz, and decided to see what happened in a game.

Well, aside from the obvious 30 FPS cap, I noticed after about 5 minutes that I had not gotten any sort of flicker or static. So, i closed down the game, switched back to 60HZ, loaded the game again. And BOOM. Static.
Then it's the TV, either TV having issues itself or doesn't go to black screen when input signal is not of good enough quality due to bad cable.

Quote: Originally Posted by Ashura View Post
Any DP(1.2) to HDMI cable rated @4K should support [email protected]
Cables are a huge snake oil unfortunately. Tons of marketing but most cables are the same, the connectors matter too and their changes may not always be cosmetic only. Especially cables over 2 m can have trouble meeting their specs even for DP1.4 and HDMI2.0 bandwidth.
Conversion adapters are a whole another can of worms.

---

Eliminate one component after another, there is no other way unless you like guessing.
JackCY is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 09:07 PM
Vermin Supreme 2020
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 25,252
Rep: 736 (Unique: 388)
Quote: Originally Posted by Destrto View Post
Sorry to Necro my own thread. Just wondering if anyone could offer some insight to this. As it still appears to be happening.

I have noticed that the static issue does not happen while benchmarking the card at 4k. I tried running GPU-Z's tool to test the card last night while running in 4K. Left it running for about 15 minutes (static issue would normally appear before then) and I did not experience any static on screen.

Just for a recent update, My RX 580 Red Devil is running a Bykski full cover waterblock. So temps aren't an issue anymore. Even at 4K, max temps are only reaching about 52C.
i had a similar issue that persisted thru multiple GPUs, and short DP cables.

retired the screen, hasn't happened since.

i would get a single frame of woi4tuhinwefds on one half of the screen, randomly. didn't seem to happen in synthetics, but it was hella random.

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #35 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 09:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,326
Rep: 81 (Unique: 64)
Quote: Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
Then it's the TV, either TV having issues itself or doesn't go to black screen when input signal is not of good enough quality due to bad cable.



Cables are a huge snake oil unfortunately. Tons of marketing but most cables are the same, the connectors matter too and their changes may not always be cosmetic only. Especially cables over 2 m can have trouble meeting their specs even for DP1.4 and HDMI2.0 bandwidth.
Conversion adapters are a whole another can of worms.

---

Eliminate one component after another, there is no other way unless you like guessing.
I believe in that as well. So far, I have eliminated everything except the TV. Different GPU, different HDMI cables. Issue persists. If the DP to HDMI adapter I ordered doesn't provide any benefit, then I will chalk it up to the TV being at fault. Either falsely advertised, or a faulty TV. I think either way, I can reach out to the company I bought it from or the manufacturer directly to see what they offer.

I may also see about getting a beefier cable. I have had good experience with Monoprices line up of HDMI cables in the past. But it could be worth it to try a heavier gauge cable since I do need one longer than 6 feet.

Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
i had a similar issue that persisted thru multiple GPUs, and short DP cables.

retired the screen, hasn't happened since.

i would get a single frame of woi4tuhinwefds on one half of the screen, randomly. didn't seem to happen in synthetics, but it was hella random.
Thats what I'm experiencing now. It's so random when it happens. I just tried to pull up a game to see if I could catch it in action, but my fingers weren't fast enough to hit the button before it flashed back to normal.

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲
Destrto is offline  
post #36 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-12-2020, 02:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,975
Rep: 892 (Unique: 643)
Quote: Originally Posted by Destrto View Post
I believe in that as well. So far, I have eliminated everything except the TV. Different GPU, different HDMI cables. Issue persists. If the DP to HDMI adapter I ordered doesn't provide any benefit, then I will chalk it up to the TV being at fault. Either falsely advertised, or a faulty TV. I think either way, I can reach out to the company I bought it from or the manufacturer directly to see what they offer.

I may also see about getting a beefier cable. I have had good experience with Monoprices line up of HDMI cables in the past. But it could be worth it to try a heavier gauge cable since I do need one longer than 6 feet.



Thats what I'm experiencing now. It's so random when it happens. I just tried to pull up a game to see if I could catch it in action, but my fingers weren't fast enough to hit the button before it flashed back to normal.
Adapters may cause more issues. BTW, im using an ordinary hdmi cable that is 6ft in length with my RX 570 when i hooked it to the TV. What i did not check is - if it was running 4K 60 or 30. I did play a game and watched some 4K YT vids.

By Built-in Benchmark Queen:
My 2.5 years old delidded 7980xe @ 4600mhz all core with 49ns memorylatency (4000c16 twekaed) is faster than 3950x max overclocked on water in every scenario. Pretty good for a ancient cpu
In gaming it has no chance vs my new 10900k @ 5400mhz and 4600c16 tweaked memory. ~35ns memorylatency.
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #37 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-12-2020, 06:19 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,326
Rep: 81 (Unique: 64)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Adapters may cause more issues. BTW, im using an ordinary hdmi cable that is 6ft in length with my RX 570 when i hooked it to the TV. What i did not check is - if it was running 4K 60 or 30. I did play a game and watched some 4K YT vids.
I think you would notice if it were running at 30Hz. Your mouse movement would feel sluggish. At least mine does.

Since my TV is mounted to the wall, with the cabling hidden inside the wall. I am unfortunately limited to cable lengths, as I don't have much room to move things closer haha.

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲
Destrto is offline  
post #38 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-12-2020, 06:38 AM
Bench, Dead, Squat
 
Bad5ector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 309
Rep: 25 (Unique: 17)
Howdy, what is your colour settings for your display set to in the AMD driver software? And do you have HDR enabled?

If you have it set to 4k 60hz at 4:4:4 and turn on HDR (assuming your outputting 10bit), I can see that happening as it will exceed the 18GB/S of HDMI 2.0.

ShadowMoses
(21 items)
CPU
i7 7700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus IX Formula LGA1151
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition
RAM
Corsair Vengenace Lpx 32GB DDR4 3200MHZ
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DX001 SSHD 1TB 3.5in SATA3 64MB Cache Internal Solid State Hybrid Drive
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX Predator 240GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G1 80 Plus Gold Certified 1000W Fully Modular
Cooling
RAD - EK-CoolStream XE 360
Cooling
CPU Block - EK-Supremacy EVO - Nickel
Cooling
GPU Block - EK-FC Titan X Pascal - Nickel
Cooling
Pump / Res - EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM (incl. sleeved pump)
Cooling
Fans - 3 x EK-Vardar F4-120ER (2200rpm)
Cooling
Coolant - EK-Ekoolant Pastel BLUE (concentrate 250mL)
Cooling
Tubing - EK-DuraClear 11,1/15,9mm
Case
Thermaltake Core P3 SE Snow Edition
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
Monitor
BenQ XL2720Z 27in LED 144HZ 1ms GTG FPS Gaming Monitor
Monitor
42" LG TV
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming K65 Lux RGB Compact Mechanical Keyboard
Mouse
Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB Optical Gaming Mouse
Mouse
Corsair Gaming MM300
▲ hide details ▲
Bad5ector is offline  
post #39 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-12-2020, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,326
Rep: 81 (Unique: 64)
Quote: Originally Posted by Bad5ector View Post
Howdy, what is your colour settings for your display set to in the AMD driver software? And do you have HDR enabled?

If you have it set to 4k 60hz at 4:4:4 and turn on HDR (assuming your outputting 10bit), I can see that happening as it will exceed the 18GB/S of HDMI 2.0.
I currently have things set to YCbCr 4:4:4. This TV does not support HDR (even though the spec sheet says it does), and is only outputting 8bit.

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲
Destrto is offline  
post #40 of 61 (permalink) Old 03-12-2020, 12:14 PM
Bench, Dead, Squat
 
Bad5ector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 309
Rep: 25 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by Destrto View Post
I currently have things set to YCbCr 4:4:4. This TV does not support HDR (even though the spec sheet says it does), and is only outputting 8bit.
Give this a try, setting it to 4:2:0 or 4:2:2 and see if you get the same problem... or try setting the refresh rate to like 24hz (as a test) to see if the screen cuts out on you or not. I feel like it is bandwidth of HDMI issue. Everything is good until it isn't... when the screen is looking for more data but there isn't bandwidth to supply the data, the screen will cut out.

ShadowMoses
(21 items)
CPU
i7 7700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus IX Formula LGA1151
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition
RAM
Corsair Vengenace Lpx 32GB DDR4 3200MHZ
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DX001 SSHD 1TB 3.5in SATA3 64MB Cache Internal Solid State Hybrid Drive
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX Predator 240GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G1 80 Plus Gold Certified 1000W Fully Modular
Cooling
RAD - EK-CoolStream XE 360
Cooling
CPU Block - EK-Supremacy EVO - Nickel
Cooling
GPU Block - EK-FC Titan X Pascal - Nickel
Cooling
Pump / Res - EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM (incl. sleeved pump)
Cooling
Fans - 3 x EK-Vardar F4-120ER (2200rpm)
Cooling
Coolant - EK-Ekoolant Pastel BLUE (concentrate 250mL)
Cooling
Tubing - EK-DuraClear 11,1/15,9mm
Case
Thermaltake Core P3 SE Snow Edition
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
Monitor
BenQ XL2720Z 27in LED 144HZ 1ms GTG FPS Gaming Monitor
Monitor
42" LG TV
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming K65 Lux RGB Compact Mechanical Keyboard
Mouse
Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB Optical Gaming Mouse
Mouse
Corsair Gaming MM300
▲ hide details ▲
Bad5ector is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off