DisplayPort -- Boot Up Static - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

DisplayPort -- Boot Up Static

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 11:12 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
revlimiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,710
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
DisplayPort -- Boot Up Static

Hi all,

Just recevied my new LG Ultrawide HDR10 monitor and am wondering why I am getting this colourful static when I boot up? It's running on DisplayPort and only shows up during the ASRock / Windows 10 boot up screens. The static goes away when Windows 10 desktop shows up. Is it a sign of damage anywhere?
https://imgur.com/rQt4ZUg

Thanks

revlimiter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-15-2019, 09:53 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,103
Rep: 364 (Unique: 261)
What static? We can't see static (fine) noise from an overcompressed photo.

If you mean the corners looking lighter (when you look at from centered position), that's IPS glow.
JackCY is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-17-2019, 08:55 AM
►¿¿¿
 
Axaion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,250
Rep: 58 (Unique: 49)
Here, i drew circles around a few of what i assume he meant by static, it only appears on the actual screen area so its not camera noise, i assume.

No idea what else to call it, Noise?, snow effect?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rQt4ZUg.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	1.77 MB
ID:	296528  

Axaion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-17-2019, 09:08 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39,381
Rep: 2808 (Unique: 1658)
Are you using the cable that came with the monitor or one you had already
Seems like it might be a bad display port cable

Dreissen
(27 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus GX 650 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
AOC 24G2U
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Other
Delock PCI-E to M.2 NVME Adaptor Card
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 06:45 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,103
Rep: 364 (Unique: 261)
Quote: Originally Posted by Axaion View Post
Here, i drew circles around a few of what i assume he meant by static, it only appears on the actual screen area so its not camera noise, i assume.

No idea what else to call it, Noise?, snow effect?
If that's not a typical camera sensor defect then yes that panel is DOA essentially. Unless somehow magically changing to different input, cable solves that issue, doubtful.
JackCY is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 07:32 AM
Vermin Supreme 2020
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 25,471
Rep: 737 (Unique: 388)
wait, you mean the stars effect isn't intentional?! I figured MS had just gotten creative!

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is online now  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 07:50 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,103
Rep: 364 (Unique: 261)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
wait, you mean the stars effect isn't intentional?! I figured MS had just gotten creative!
I thought it's camera sensor noise but Axaion is right, it's only on the screen not outside so it's not camera sensor issue, it's the poor display. My old camera has shown me quite a few of these and it's a common issue on digital cameras, where some automatically remove it, some don't, some have to be reflashed by manufacturer to get removed with a FW update (mine had that done but you get new spots later anyway).

There is nothing you can do, return the monitor, it's faulty, if you can't then RMA it, if you can't even that, then you're screwed.
JackCY is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 09:29 PM
Computer Arsonist
 
NeoReaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom - England
Posts: 2,620
Rep: 90 (Unique: 76)
I think you need to double check that JackCY, as the OP said: its only happening on bootup, not on the lock screen and not on the desktop. IMO it doesn't make sense if its only happening on bootup but not any further.
Personally I would say more investigation is needed before declaring the monitor dead. OP, can you try different solid colours/different devices on this monitor to see if you can replicate it elsewhere?

Piledriver Reborn
(20 items)
CPU
Intel I7 4770k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Z97-P
GPU
Gigabyte RX 480 4GB (580 BIOS)
RAM
16Gb Corsair Vengeance PRO (4x4Gb) @ 2600Mhz
Hard Drive
Kingston A1000 M.2 NVME 240Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate Constellation ES 2TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Green 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair Modular RM650X
Cooling
Corsair ML RGB 120mm x3 With Lighting Node Pro
Cooling
Corsair H150i Pro
Case
Gamemax Onyx Tempered Glass RGB
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung 27" Curved S27D590C
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Corsair Dark Core SE RGB
Mousepad
Corsair Polaris RGB
Audio
Corsair Void Pro Wireless 7.1
Audio
Blue Raspberry
Audio
Corsair ST100 RGB
Other
Ikea Corner Desk
▲ hide details ▲
NeoReaper is offline  
Reply

Tags
displayport static bootup

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off