Do expensive 4k monitor have a good scaler like TVs? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Do expensive 4k monitor have a good scaler like TVs?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,014
Rep: 7 (Unique: 5)
Do expensive 4k monitor have a good scaler like TVs?

Title. I am actually considering going to 27/32" 4k and want to buy something that can also play games or videos at 1080p without the usual jaggy monstrosity that average monitor do when dealing with non native resolution.

Tryndamere
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asus C7H Hero Wifi
GPU
Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G-Skill Tridentz OC 16 gb 3800 c14-16-17-16-32-48
Power Supply
EVGA G3 Gold
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Phanteks Enthoo pro TG
Operating System
Win 10 1903 build 18950 64bit
Monitor
Viewsonic XG2401
Keyboard
Fnatic RGB Cherry mx brown
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless 950 dpi
Mousepad
Artisan ZERO Fx
Audio
JBL305
▲ hide details ▲
Synoxia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 05:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 20,473
Rep: 589 (Unique: 329)
isn't that the main difference between TVs and monitors?

i'm no expert here though.

I typically use the custom resolution setting via NVCP, or in-game scalers if I need to drop below 4K for some reason. Either way, its always going to introduce some amount of blur... thus where driver level, or monitor HUD sharpening come into play.

I wonder why there isn't a Star Wars - Jedi: Fallen order QQ thread? It's an even hotter mess than RDR2 was. Stutter city. Is the subject matter just too holy?

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.

Last edited by skupples; 11-16-2019 at 05:42 PM.
skupples is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 06:01 PM
Not New to Overclock.net
 
Diablosbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Infernal Gate
Posts: 1,683
Rep: 80 (Unique: 63)
Can you not just use GPU scaling instead of display scaling? Running at a lower resolution always looks clear for me by using that setting. You can even make it scale by aspect ratio to prevent stretching with 4:3 content.

Edit: I'm not sure if this method would work with video playback. But it certainly does for games.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-1.png
Views:	12
Size:	70.7 KB
ID:	306662  


CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 3.875 GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X370-Pro
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 2114 MHz 356 GB/s
RAM
G.SKILL 2x8GB 3126 MHz 12-13-13-32-1T 48 tRC
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB
Power Supply
Seasonic Platinum 660XP
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Cooling
2 x Cougar CF-V12HP Top Intake
Cooling
Noctua NF-F12 2000 RPM Rear Exhaust
Cooling
2 x Phanteks F140SP Front Intake
Cooling
Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut TIM
Case
Corsair Carbide Air 540
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q 1440p IPS 150 Hz OC
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 5 MX Brown
Mouse
Logitech G203 Prodigy
Audio
Schiit Asgard 2
Audio
OPPO PM-3
Audio
HIFIMAN HE-560
Audio
Cambridge DacMagic 100
CPU
AMD Phenom 9650 2.83 GHz
Motherboard
Foxconn A74MX-K
RAM
OCZ 1x1GB DDR2 533 MHz 5-4-4-15-1T 15 tRC
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB
Power Supply
OCZ StealthXStream 2 500W
Cooling
Ryzen Wraith + Zip Ties
Cooling
Corsair AF140 Quiet Edition
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Diablosbud; 11-16-2019 at 06:07 PM.
Diablosbud is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 06:45 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,484
Rep: 35 (Unique: 31)
1080P scales perfectly on 4K since 4K is exactly 4 times 1080p, meaning if you are using 1080p on a 4K screen, the screen will just have 4 pixels on screen for every 1 pixel from the source.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti

Last edited by UltraMega; 11-16-2019 at 06:51 PM.
UltraMega is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 11:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,648
Rep: 63 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
1080P scales perfectly on 4K since 4K is exactly 4 times 1080p, meaning if you are using 1080p on a 4K screen, the screen will just have 4 pixels on screen for every 1 pixel from the source.
Wow I did not know that. Is there a any down side to running 4k at 1920x1080 besides resolution?

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
ASUS VG279Q 27" 1920x1080p 144Hz IPS panel G-Sync compatible
wingman99 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 03:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 91
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
It isn't that simple. 1080p on 4k monitor will not be so clear, same is with 720p on 1440p monitor.
dmr2 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 04:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,898
Rep: 868 (Unique: 634)
Quote: Originally Posted by Synoxia View Post
Title. I am actually considering going to 27/32" 4k and want to buy something that can also play games or videos at 1080p without the usual jaggy monstrosity that average monitor do when dealing with non native resolution.
I had my cheap Acer 4K for about 5 yrs now. You do not want to go as low as 1080P. You can and it is not going to be jaggy but the text, icons and stuffs will be too big. You can go down to 1440, and again, not suffer any IQ, especially in games. The screenshot may not represent actual IQ but you'll get an idea about the difference in text and icon sizes (left side is 1440 and rt side is 4K).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4K.JPG
Views:	10
Size:	287.3 KB
ID:	306700  


[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 04:27 AM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,484
Rep: 35 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
I had my cheap Acer 4K for about 5 yrs now. You do not want to go as low as 1080P. You can and it is not going to be jaggy but the text, icons and stuffs will be too big. You can go down to 1440, and again, not suffer any IQ, especially in games. The screenshot may not represent actual IQ but you'll get an idea about the difference in text and icon sizes (left side is 1440 and rt side is 4K).
do not listen to this guy, you will be absolutely fine doing 1080p video on a 4K screen, TV or monitor.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 04:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,898
Rep: 868 (Unique: 634)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
do not listen to this guy, you will be absolutely fine doing 1080p video on a 4K screen, TV or monitor.
I said why go down to 1080 from 4K. You can watch 1080 vid at 1440 or even at 4K.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 05:54 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,288
Rep: 344 (Unique: 243)
Quote: Originally Posted by Diablosbud View Post
Can you not just use GPU scaling instead of display scaling? Running at a lower resolution always looks clear for me by using that setting. You can even make it scale by aspect ratio to prevent stretching with 4:3 content.

Edit: I'm not sure if this method would work with video playback. But it certainly does for games.
It's GPU scaling of the output, it doesn't care what is at that output. It works all the time.

Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
1080P scales perfectly on 4K since 4K is exactly 4 times 1080p, meaning if you are using 1080p on a 4K screen, the screen will just have 4 pixels on screen for every 1 pixel from the source.
4k=2160p is 2 times 1080p for scaling purposes. Obviously an area of this has 4 times the amount of pixels.

Quote: Originally Posted by dmr2 View Post
It isn't that simple. 1080p on 4k monitor will not be so clear, same is with 720p on 1440p monitor.
An nearest neighbor scaling at whole number scale will have no issues other than loss of resolution. If you want to you can use better scaling algorithm and actually have better than native 1080p output that is smoother thanks to supersampling.
Some GPU drivers now offer the whole number scaling, as useless as it is for 99.99% of people.

TVs can have crazy post processing including scaling to deal with all the low quality and low resolution sources. On PC you deal with it on GPU using your video player and renderer.
Monitors are made to show what is sent to them, not to add tons of rubbish effects like TVs that can't even be turned off at times. Though monitors in the "gaming" part of the market do tend to have some of the crappies firmwares with added undesirable effects at times, usually they mess with sharpness and don't even let you change it back to neutral but there can be more than that nowadays on some of the gaudy models.

Want 4k TV, just get a 4k TV.
JackCY is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off