refresh rate - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

refresh rate

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-23-2004, 05:46 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 3,953
Rep: 391 (Unique: 203)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash
Lando, Would you care to elaborate on that?
Sure. Since most of us are gamers, we are looking for the highest framerates possible, so we can get the smoothest gameplay. By running a high refresh rate, one is able to turn vsync on and keep those framerates as high as possible(assuming you have a decent video card). Vsync synchronizes the refresh rate of the monitor with the frames per second of the video card. This will ensure that the video card will not run higher framerates than the refresh rate of the monitor. This in turn eliminates what is called "tearing". Tearing is the visual effect that is produced when the framerates are very erratic, that is, really high one second, and really low the next. It depends on your video card and monitor, but most should be able to run an 85hz refresh rate. Personally, I run a 100hz refresh rate, with a screen resolution of 1280 X 1024, with vsync turned on. As others have stated, once you get around 65hz or so, games may be choppy.

Main Rig:3.4E @ 4.15ghz, P5WD2, X1900XTX, 2X512 Corsair PC8000UL, Raptors Raid 0, OCZ Powerstream 520.
Rig #2: (folding 24/7)
2.8E @ 3.22, IS7, BFG 6800 Ultra, 2X512 Geil PC4000, 60GB Maxtor, Aspire 500 watt.
Rig #3: (folding 24/7 @ 75%)
2.6B @2.9, IC7, 9800XT, 2X256 Corsair PC3200, 120GB WD, Aspire 500 watt.
Fold for Overclock.net!

Lando95 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-23-2004, 07:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 422
Rep: 73 (Unique: 43)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lando95
Sure. Since most of us are gamers, we are looking for the highest framerates possible, so we can get the smoothest gameplay. By running a high refresh rate, one is able to turn vsync on and keep those framerates as high as possible(assuming you have a decent video card). Vsync synchronizes the refresh rate of the monitor with the frames per second of the video card. This will ensure that the video card will not run higher framerates than the refresh rate of the monitor. This in turn eliminates what is called "tearing". Tearing is the visual effect that is produced when the framerates are very erratic, that is, really high one second, and really low the next. It depends on your video card and monitor, but most should be able to run an 85hz refresh rate. Personally, I run a 100hz refresh rate, with a screen resolution of 1280 X 1024, with vsync turned on. As others have stated, once you get around 65hz or so, games may be choppy.
Superb explanation ...

"For those who understand, no explanation is neccesary. For those who dont, no explanation is possible."- ARV
Northwood226 is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-23-2004, 08:23 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 3,953
Rep: 391 (Unique: 203)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Northwood226
Superb explanation ...
Do I get some brownie points for that???? Thanks

Main Rig:3.4E @ 4.15ghz, P5WD2, X1900XTX, 2X512 Corsair PC8000UL, Raptors Raid 0, OCZ Powerstream 520.
Rig #2: (folding 24/7)
2.8E @ 3.22, IS7, BFG 6800 Ultra, 2X512 Geil PC4000, 60GB Maxtor, Aspire 500 watt.
Rig #3: (folding 24/7 @ 75%)
2.6B @2.9, IC7, 9800XT, 2X256 Corsair PC3200, 120GB WD, Aspire 500 watt.
Fold for Overclock.net!

Lando95 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-23-2004, 10:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
meggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
Rep: 16 (Unique: 15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xavier1421
Right click on your Desktop, properties>settings>advanced>MonitorTab> there should be a box to check "Hide modes that this monitor cannot display"

That will allow you to find your max refresh. (for that particular monitor, given that your computer knows what it is)
yeh
thats what i did when i wanted to level up my hz
it makes a lot a difference
not to mention that my graphics are better now, and my monitor is crystal clear
if i knew that i would never sell my 17"CRT screen for this tft

meggy is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-24-2004, 06:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 422
Rep: 73 (Unique: 43)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lando95
Do I get some brownie points for that???? Thanks
Sure why not ....

"For those who understand, no explanation is neccesary. For those who dont, no explanation is possible."- ARV
Northwood226 is offline  
post #16 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-25-2004, 05:38 AM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Northwood226
Sure why not ....
How do I find this Vsync Adjustment?
Crash is offline  
post #17 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-25-2004, 11:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
meggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
Rep: 16 (Unique: 15)
desktop>right click>properties>settings>advanced>Your GFC CARD NAME>find vsync and set it either off or on

note: this is for nvidia cards i dont know how it is with ati

meggy is offline  
post #18 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-14-2004, 07:36 PM
Overclockiit
 
|2A|N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,408
Rep: 364 (Unique: 216)
Higher is usually better especially when playing games if u want here is a link to a utility that sets your refresh rate as high as your monitor will support so u dont have to full around with it anymore http://www.pagehosting.co.uk/rf/



|2A|N is offline  
post #19 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 10:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: OR.
Posts: 579
Rep: 20 (Unique: 17)
ATI 4.9 driver under Control center; no preview (is easiest) turn on "wait for display refresh" to on unless app says, or always on..

although in games is still notice quite a bit of tearing and joint operations and bf vietnam anyways, i duno maybe its not turning on

:withstupiAnd stupids with meheart.gif

RyKnow is offline  
post #20 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-22-2004, 06:42 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,669
Rep: 1182 (Unique: 629)
Quote:
Originally Posted by VulcanDragon
You should be able to find the monitor's max Hz either in its docs or on the web. Just set it to the highest the docs say will work.

I'm not exactly sure what will happen if you set it TOO high. I guess you could damage the monitor, unless it prevents itself from actually trying a damaging setting. Best not to tempt fate, I say.
Try it EVERYONE will like it!!!
http://www.lavalys.com/products.php?lang=en
My IBM P202 is actually a HP1110. I learned it through the free Everest Home Edition and it had a hot link to the drivers.
Not only did I find more current drivers it listed the monitors refresh rates and resolutions.
YOU can NOT set it as high as you want, excessive refresh rate beyond the monitors capability cand damage it.

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif


The Duke is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off