How to Use an INF to Override the Monitor EDID? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How to Use an INF to Override the Monitor EDID?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-27-2010, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
RankoK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 48
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Greeting,

I have one question:

my monitor's EDID is corrupt. I tried to find on the Internet what it is in this case and I found on Microsoft's site instructions to overide EDID.But I have a problem with making the drivers...

It's in Word 2007 format.

download.microsoft.com/download/a/d/f/adf1347d-08dc-41a4-9084-623b1194d4b2/edid_over.docx

http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/device...edid_over.mspx

For the HTML version try

http://216.239.59.132/search?q=cache...lnk&cd=1&gl=uk


I don't know how...

i need some guide or something
RankoK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-27-2010, 06:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DubGeezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fort McMurray, Canada
Posts: 74
Rep: 11 (Unique: 11)
I read that paper and it is directed more towards the manufacturers.
There was this link in the paper that might help you out though.
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...=VS.85%29.aspx

Sorry I can't be of any further help.

DubGeezie is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-27-2010, 06:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
damric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Azalea City
Posts: 4,643
Rep: 425 (Unique: 330)
I have been dealing with corrupt EDID on my viewsonic for about 4 years. It only works on VGA. If I plug DVI into computer it wont wake up, and if I plug it into a cable box it puts a strange message across screen like unauthorized.
damric is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-28-2010, 01:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 158
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
Your best bet is probably to create new .inf/EDID with this faq and follow each step thoroughly.

You will most likely need your OS to stop checking your monitor for its EDID, so you'll have to do some butchering.

I used those two faqs to go above 60Hz on my old 21" CRT

British is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off