New HDTV as second display problems! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

New HDTV as second display problems!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-16-2004, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
KuipeDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: PERTH
Posts: 139
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Yo hey peeps, I havent posted in a bit hows everybody doing?

I just got a JVC 30" Widescreen HDTV,
finally got it to run as my second display but it wont run as a clone [ony extended] and if i try to run games the dont boot, any Ideas?

If what I said was helpfull, or unhelpfull, or even just
slightly interesting EFFECT MY REP
*check out my system-click my profile
KuipeDogg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-16-2004, 05:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,000
Rep: 461 (Unique: 275)
Games dont like dual displays, you might want to search for games that support them.


blob is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-17-2004, 10:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RunningRioT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 930
Rep: 81 (Unique: 62)
there are mods for unreal, quake, and a few others, google them up.

FOLD for OVERCLOCK.net! GO TEAM! #37726

ADD ME A REP IF I HELPED YOU!

The X-Factor of AMD vs. Intel eXplained
headphone.gif
Silence Your Fans and Reduce Dust Without Undervoltingheadphone.gif

L00K at my RIG and COmment!
<<<<<<

RunningRioT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-17-2004, 10:33 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Manhattan, Kansas
Posts: 1,028
hmmm I'm just fine. I am loving my dual display (thanks again slow'puter). I can read people's IM's while "Killing the baddies" in Day of Defeat.
MrSmiley is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-18-2004, 06:11 PM
Retired Staff
 
Burn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 13,843
Rep: 520 (Unique: 309)
can i dual disp 2 CRT's?

My CNC Mill Project
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberDruid
Burn + Electricty + Water =
But the man has the patience of a saint...
We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand.
--Randy Pausch
Current Best Benchmark


Burn is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-19-2004, 12:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
RunningRioT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 930
Rep: 81 (Unique: 62)
if ur fx5200 has a dvi adapter, just get a dvi-vga adapter.

FOLD for OVERCLOCK.net! GO TEAM! #37726

ADD ME A REP IF I HELPED YOU!

The X-Factor of AMD vs. Intel eXplained
headphone.gif
Silence Your Fans and Reduce Dust Without Undervoltingheadphone.gif

L00K at my RIG and COmment!
<<<<<<

RunningRioT is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-19-2004, 09:32 AM
Retired Staff
 
Burn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 13,843
Rep: 520 (Unique: 309)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RunningRioT
if ur fx5200 has a dvi adapter, just get a dvi-vga adapter.
yeah, is there any performance gain from it? cuz i have it hooked up to the blue connector. will the dvi-vga adapter give me better results? also, can i dual setup 2 crt's with it?

My CNC Mill Project
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberDruid
Burn + Electricty + Water =
But the man has the patience of a saint...
We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand.
--Randy Pausch
Current Best Benchmark


Burn is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-19-2004, 07:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RunningRioT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 930
Rep: 81 (Unique: 62)
No, i wouldnt use the dvi-vga for just a single display on a crt.
because the video that comes out of the card is digital, then the converter would have to put it in analog.

then the vga is the same thing, except its better.

vga only for crt,
or adapter for dual display.

so for dual display
display 1 ------------- analog blue
display 2 ----adapter---dvi

FOLD for OVERCLOCK.net! GO TEAM! #37726

ADD ME A REP IF I HELPED YOU!

The X-Factor of AMD vs. Intel eXplained
headphone.gif
Silence Your Fans and Reduce Dust Without Undervoltingheadphone.gif

L00K at my RIG and COmment!
<<<<<<

RunningRioT is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-19-2004, 07:28 PM
Retired Staff
 
Burn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 13,843
Rep: 520 (Unique: 309)
ooooh it makes sense now. so i hook up 1 crt to the blue vga, then another to the dvi using an adapter? i think i have it right... now will i get problems w/ recognizing the two displays?
Quote:
Originally Posted by RunningRioT
No, i wouldnt use the dvi-vga for just a single display on a crt.
because the video that comes out of the card is digital, then the converter would have to put it in analog.

then the vga is the same thing, except its better.

vga only for crt,
or adapter for dual display.

so for dual display
display 1 ------------- analog blue
display 2 ----adapter---dvi

My CNC Mill Project
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberDruid
Burn + Electricty + Water =
But the man has the patience of a saint...
We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand.
--Randy Pausch
Current Best Benchmark


Burn is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-19-2004, 07:34 PM
Retired Staff
 
adas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 5,607
Rep: 595 (Unique: 324)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATVkid*AFZ*
ooooh it makes sense now. so i hook up 1 crt to the blue vga, then another to the dvi using an adapter? i think i have it right... now will i get problems w/ recognizing the two displays?
nope, they both are recognized the same way, and work the same way, jjust depends how u put the displays to function

btw i send the card Atvkid ull get it on wednesday

my crap needs an update laughingsmiley.gif

adas is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off