Any way to play ps2 on my computer? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Any way to play ps2 on my computer?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-19-2004, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
AthlonXpM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Flushing Mi
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
My monitor is 27 inches and my tv is only 20 and on my computer I have surround sound that can be hooked up to my ps2. But I do not have a video card that allows video in. Is there there some low cost hardware that I can get to be able to use my ps2 with this monitor?
thanks for any help.

AthlonXpM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-19-2004, 09:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ge-Force's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 516
Rep: 22 (Unique: 22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AthlonXpM
My monitor is 27 inches and my tv is only 20 and on my computer I have surround sound that can be hooked up to my ps2. But I do not have a video card that allows video in. Is there there some low cost hardware that I can get to be able to use my ps2 with this monitor?
thanks for any help.
Yeah...dld an Emulator and be sure you have a DVD rom..then you can play your PS2 games ON your PC!

AQUAMARK3 TRISCORE
GFX 33,534
CPU 17,747


172,400
Ge-Force is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-19-2004, 09:47 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Manhattan, Kansas
Posts: 1,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by AthlonXpM
My monitor is 27 inches and my tv is only 20 and on my computer I have surround sound that can be hooked up to my ps2. But I do not have a video card that allows video in. Is there there some low cost hardware that I can get to be able to use my ps2 with this monitor?
thanks for any help.
I hate you ... I want a 27" flat screen monitor... that would just be godly.
MrSmiley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-19-2004, 09:53 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,430
Rep: 1130 (Unique: 519)
Not sure about PS2, but xBox has a RCA to VGA converter, so I'd bet there's one for PS2 too...

Heh, Computers... sozo.gif
I'm back, yo! Be gentle! biggrin.gif
YiffyGriffy is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-19-2004, 10:09 AM
Retired Staff
 
Evil XP2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,555
Rep: 475 (Unique: 269)
Quote:
Originally Posted by YiffyGriffy
Not sure about PS2, but xBox has a RCA to VGA converter, so I'd bet there's one for PS2 too...
Yes there is!!! I got mine on ebay for like 18 bucks about a year ago. Just do a search for PS2 VGA adapter, you should even be able to find it at local videogame stores like Gamestop, EBX, ETC...




Evil XP2400 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-19-2004, 10:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Zeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 2,912
Rep: 222 (Unique: 155)
I've got my PS2 connected to my PC via the composite input on my TV Card and the audio via the line-in input of the mobo. Then I use WinDVR to select the composite input.

Quote:
Colin McRae: - "If in doubt, flat out"
Zeus is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-19-2004, 10:34 AM
Retired Staff
 
ShawnMcGrail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,990
Rep: 356 (Unique: 194)
This is from a Canadian site, but I'm sure you'll be able to find it on tigerdirect.com, or newegg.com. It's a USB 2.0 device so it should work pretty good.

ShawnMcGrail is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-27-2004, 08:40 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Chipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 21,999
Rep: 589 (Unique: 377)
I would reccomend getting a cheap TV tuner with a SVideo and RCA input. Then just plug the PS2 into htat and your set. (I did this, it works great. I have a Conextant BT878)

post-flame-small.gifKeep the standards high and the noise low. Do YOU have quality content?post-flame-small.gif

Can't get enough of Overclock.net? Keep up with us on Facebook!

For any time-sensitive issues, or anything pertaining to our business operations, email is a far better way to contact me than PM. Please remember you can contact any staff member via email to their username @overclocked.net.


Chipp is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-27-2004, 08:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 579
Rep: 30 (Unique: 25)
I have been looking for a PS2 emulator for a Long time.... Theres that Gleem or Bleem or whatever but i never got it to work... I would lover to run PS2 games on my comp but its just a pipe dream isnt it....

PaulB is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-27-2004, 08:54 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Chipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 21,999
Rep: 589 (Unique: 377)
Yeah, i've tried all the emulators while my PS2 was broke, but they all suck. You have flash the PS2 bios, and just alot of work for nothing to special.

post-flame-small.gifKeep the standards high and the noise low. Do YOU have quality content?post-flame-small.gif

Can't get enough of Overclock.net? Keep up with us on Facebook!

For any time-sensitive issues, or anything pertaining to our business operations, email is a far better way to contact me than PM. Please remember you can contact any staff member via email to their username @overclocked.net.


Chipp is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off