Running cabling inside my walls? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Running cabling inside my walls?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-23-2015, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Razroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Punggol, Singapore
Posts: 607
Rep: 20 (Unique: 16)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozlay View Post

Looks like cat 3 you have there

you could use a powerline adapter which would get you up to 150mb/s or more maybe

It is possible to use cat 3 however you would not get the speed you want it would be less 100mb/s so a powerline adapter would work just as well if not better.

Cat 3?! What year is this?
But then again my apartment was build just about 13 years ago so...

Well I have a 500mbps plan and for some reason my ISP is kind enough to give me extra 50 so I don't think I would be happy on 150 :/
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cones View Post

If you have carpet you can somewhat tuck the cable under the trim. Just get a cable close to the color of things.

Nope, no carpets, just solid marble tiles frown.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwalkerttu1 View Post

Never mind, I missed the part about solid concrete walls.....

Yeah, I once tried to drill into the wall with my B&D drill, got about half an inch in before my drill bit changed from silver to purple and started bending, Singapore apartments are just built like tanks.
Razroid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-23-2015, 05:11 PM
Cheapest Man On Earth
 
Kleer Kut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 634
Rep: 76 (Unique: 68)
There are 8 bits in a byte, so for example 100MB is roughly equal to 800Mb.

*Comprehensive Memory Overclocking Guide*
Low Power Ryzen
(5 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 2400G
Motherboard
ASRock B450M-PRO4
RAM
Team T-Force Vulcan 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Cooling
Tuniq Tower
Operating System
Lubuntu 18.10
▲ hide details ▲
Kleer Kut is offline  
post #13 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-23-2015, 05:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hanzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 750
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
How I typically do it:
-Attach it to something and pull it through, which is hard to do with long runs, or along bends etc...
-Run it underneath the floor. That is what I'v done at my current house. I run all my cables through the floor, guide it along the basement, and then back up into the room I want. Sounds like this won't work for you though.
-Start cutting. Sounds like this is not an option for you either.
-Like another member mentioned use some visually appealing wire loom and run along the baseboards and the floor. Not usually aesthetically pleasing, but if done right visual impact is minimal and the eye just slides past.
-Other ways I just cant think of.

How do you feel about one of those super fast wireless routers?
I can't comment of them because I don't use them but I suppose it could be a viable option.

“Go then, there are other worlds than these.”

“Every gun makes its own tune... Alive or dead, it's your choice.”

Vin: We deal in lead, friend.
Calvera: So do I. We're in the same business.
Vin: Only as competitors.
hanzy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-23-2015, 08:35 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Razroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Punggol, Singapore
Posts: 607
Rep: 20 (Unique: 16)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kleer Kut View Post

There are 8 bits in a byte, so for example 100MB is roughly equal to 800Mb.

What about shielding and long cable runs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanzy View Post

How I typically do it:
-Attach it to something and pull it through, which is hard to do with long runs, or along bends etc...
-Run it underneath the floor. That is what I'v done at my current house. I run all my cables through the floor, guide it along the basement, and then back up into the room I want. Sounds like this won't work for you though.
-Start cutting. Sounds like this is not an option for you either.
-Like another member mentioned use some visually appealing wire loom and run along the baseboards and the floor. Not usually aesthetically pleasing, but if done right visual impact is minimal and the eye just slides past.
-Other ways I just cant think of.

How do you feel about one of those super fast wireless routers?
I can't comment of them because I don't use them but I suppose it could be a viable option.

Don't think I can run it along the floor, most likely along the ceiling, if I run it across the floor it goes past a balcony with a sliding door.

Super fast router? Too poor for that tongue.gif
Razroid is offline  
post #15 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-23-2015, 09:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,574
Rep: 91 (Unique: 70)
Don't think anyone mentioned it but what about power line adapters?
cones is offline  
post #16 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-24-2015, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Razroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Punggol, Singapore
Posts: 607
Rep: 20 (Unique: 16)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cones View Post

Don't think anyone mentioned it but what about power line adapters?

Has been mentioned, I have heard stuff about noise and powerlines generally not being very good.

Also, quite pricey too.
Razroid is offline  
post #17 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-24-2015, 07:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
NKrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,927
Rep: 105 (Unique: 93)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cones View Post

Don't think anyone mentioned it but what about power line adapters?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razroid View Post

Has been mentioned, I have heard stuff about noise and powerlines generally not being very good.

Also, quite pricey too.

Yep, ive had nothing but trouble with those in two different apartments and two different kits.

[Build Log] - Pizza Under the Sea - SuperNAS - Caselabs/Seasonic/Supermicro
CPU
Integrated - Intel® Xeon D-1540 8c/16t 2Ghz
Motherboard
SuperMicro X10SDV-TLN4F-O
GPU
Integrated - Aspeed AST2400
RAM
Samsung 64GB (2 x 32GB) ECC Registered DDR4 2133
Hard Drive
SuperMicro - 64GB DOM SSD - vSphere & NAS VM
Hard Drive
LSI 9300-8i w/ Noctua NF-A4x10 40mm
Hard Drive
2x SuperMicro CSE-M35T-1B
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO - 250GB - Media Server VM & Seedbox VM
Hard Drive
3x WD Red Pro - 8TB (14TB ZFS Array)
Hard Drive
WD Black - 4TB - NAS Scratchspace
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-660XP2
Cooling
CPU - Noctua A-Series NF-A9x14 w/ 3d printed 50mm/92mm fan adapter
Cooling
Top Exhaust - 2x Noctua NF-A14 ULN 140mm
Cooling
Front Intake - 2x Noctua NF-A9 PWM 92mm
Cooling
Rear Intake - Noctua NF-A12x15 PWM 120mm
Case
Caselabs X2M & MNPCTech ITX Case Feet
Operating System
VMware vSphere ESXi-6.5
Operating System
NAS VM - Ubuntu Server 16.04 - ZFS Array, SMB/NFS
Operating System
Media Server VM - Ubuntu Server 16.04 - PLEX, Owncloud
Operating System
Seedbox VM - Windows 10 Pro - QBittorrent, Sonarr
Other
Travel Case - Pelican Storm iM2875 & Custom Foam
Other
APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 UPS
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX 3270I w/TPM
RAM
Ballistix Tactical 32GB Kit (16GB x 2) DDR4 3000
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 512GB NVMe
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 1TB NVMe
Optical Drive
ASUS External 12X Blu-Ray Writer
Power Supply
CORSAIR SF600 - 600W
Cooling
Noctua NH-C14S w/ Noctua 140mm NF-A14 IndustrialPPC 2000 IP67 PWM
Cooling
4x Noctua NF-F12 IndustrialPPC 2000 IP67 PWM
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Monitor
Samsung - S34E790C - 34" 21:9 Curved Screen
Keyboard
CODE 87 - Cherry MX Green
Mouse
RAZER DeathAdder Chroma
Mouse
Glorious PC Gaming Race 3XL Mouse Mat - 48X24"
Audio
Steelseries - Arctis 7
Audio
Bose Companion 2 Series III
Other
CyberPower UPS - PR1500LCDRTXL2U - 1500w
▲ hide details ▲
NKrader is offline  
post #18 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-24-2015, 07:39 AM
SubZero is the Goal
 
HardheadedMurphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 37.037708 °N, -95.626438 °W
Posts: 1,541
Rep: 73 (Unique: 63)
This + This = win!

I know its technically not quite an option but short of running cable that is the best solution I can think of. My wife was firmly against running cable to the second floor of our house for my son to game on, standard housing, and on the ac band my son can game and stream effortlessly to his hearts content.

"It is impossible to defeat an ignorant man in an argument" McAdoo
Peace begins when we care about someone other than ourselves.
"Hell is still Overburdened, I must stand and wait in line" Disturbed
The Beast
(23 items)
MiniFurnace
(10 items)
ThinClient
(5 items)
CPU
i5-9600k
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW Hydro Copper GAMING, 08G-P4-6299-KR, 8GB GDDR5X, LED, DX12 OSD Support (PXOC)
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 970 04G-P4-2974-KR 4GB SC GAMING w/ACX 2.0, Silent Cooling Graphics Card
RAM
Corsair Vengence RGB Pro
Hard Drive
Mushkin Enhanced Source M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Toshiba
Optical Drive
LG Bluray RW
Power Supply
Rosewill Quark
Cooling
Barrow RGB 115X CPU Block
Cooling
EK-360 Radiator
Cooling
Phobya 12v DC PWM Pump
Cooling
Black Ice Nemisis 240mm stealth Rad
Cooling
Alphacool 5.25 pump / resivoir combo DC-LT
Cooling
Phobya Balancer 250mm Res - Black Nickle
Case
Corsair Obsidian 900D
Operating System
Windows 7 Professional
Monitor
LG 34" Ultrawide IPS 21:9
Monitor
HP 27xw ips
Monitor
HP 27xw IPS
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MX Silent
Mouse
Corsair M65 Pro RGB
Audio
Corsair Void Pro RGB
CPU
Xeon 5300
CPU
Xeon 5300
Motherboard
Dell 2950 v3 Server
RAM
ECC DDR2 RAM
Hard Drive
Hitachi 1tb 7200rpm
Optical Drive
SLIM DVD-RW
Power Supply
redundant 750w
Case
OEM
Operating System
Windows Server R2
Other
DRAC 6/i
CPU
Celeron N2930
RAM
G.Skill 8gb 204 pin
Hard Drive
Seagate 500gb 2.5"
Case
Zotac Zbox CI320 Nano
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


HardheadedMurphy is offline  
post #19 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-24-2015, 07:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
jgrote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Denver-ish
Posts: 85
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
In a previous life, I worked for a security company (before everything was wireless). It is ALWAYS possible to hide a wire. Here are some options:

1) Baseboard- You can pull the base board and cut a notch in the back to staple the wire to. The re-install baseboard and be careful where you put the nails.
b. Get some 1/4 round or shoe molding. Notch the back corner of it on table saw. Lay the wire down where the baseboard meets the floor, and install molding over it. care with nails again.

2) Crown molding- Same idea, but a little more difficult since the run up the wall to get to the ceiling is more difficult to hide.

3) A/C ducts. You have to use plenum rated wire! All of your duct work connects to all of your rooms. This way is REALLY difficult, and it doesn't help in hiding the wire once it comes out of the duct. If you have floor ducts, this can look pretty decent. I've seen people tie fish string (not fishing line, but string meant specifically for pulling wire) to duct cleaning tools, RC cars with a camera attached, and even a trained rat! (The guy with the rat was eff'ing awesome!)

Just a couple of tricks of the trade for getting from room to room. We used closets a lot. Hide a wire in a closet along the corner behind the door. No one looks there. Doorways: If you are going to use the baseboard technique, you will need to get around door jambs to get from one room to another. Drill a hole through the wall where the baseboard meets the door casing, but don't try to go straight to where you want it to pop out on the other side. You will either miss and be in the middle of the wall on the other side, or catch the edge of the casing and split it on the other side. Drill from both sides at the same angle toward the door. About a 20 degree angle works well. Drill about half way through, and do the same on the other side. The goal is for the two holes to intersect, but not at such a sharp angle that the wire won't make the turn when shoving it through.

My favorite way to do it was to pull the base board, but everyone had their own way.
jgrote is offline  
post #20 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-24-2015, 09:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
NKrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,927
Rep: 105 (Unique: 93)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgrote View Post

In a previous life, I worked for a security company (before everything was wireless). It is ALWAYS possible to hide a wire. Here are some options:

1) Baseboard- You can pull the base board and cut a notch in the back to staple the wire to. The re-install baseboard and be careful where you put the nails.
b. Get some 1/4 round or shoe molding. Notch the back corner of it on table saw. Lay the wire down where the baseboard meets the floor, and install molding over it. care with nails again.

2) Crown molding- Same idea, but a little more difficult since the run up the wall to get to the ceiling is more difficult to hide.

3) A/C ducts. You have to use plenum rated wire! All of your duct work connects to all of your rooms. This way is REALLY difficult, and it doesn't help in hiding the wire once it comes out of the duct. If you have floor ducts, this can look pretty decent. I've seen people tie fish string (not fishing line, but string meant specifically for pulling wire) to duct cleaning tools, RC cars with a camera attached, and even a trained rat! (The guy with the rat was eff'ing awesome!)

Just a couple of tricks of the trade for getting from room to room. We used closets a lot. Hide a wire in a closet along the corner behind the door. No one looks there. Doorways: If you are going to use the baseboard technique, you will need to get around door jambs to get from one room to another. Drill a hole through the wall where the baseboard meets the door casing, but don't try to go straight to where you want it to pop out on the other side. You will either miss and be in the middle of the wall on the other side, or catch the edge of the casing and split it on the other side. Drill from both sides at the same angle toward the door. About a 20 degree angle works well. Drill about half way through, and do the same on the other side. The goal is for the two holes to intersect, but not at such a sharp angle that the wire won't make the turn when shoving it through.

My favorite way to do it was to pull the base board, but everyone had their own way.
OP, I think you should train a rat to pull the wires.
Because, awesome.

[Build Log] - Pizza Under the Sea - SuperNAS - Caselabs/Seasonic/Supermicro
CPU
Integrated - Intel® Xeon D-1540 8c/16t 2Ghz
Motherboard
SuperMicro X10SDV-TLN4F-O
GPU
Integrated - Aspeed AST2400
RAM
Samsung 64GB (2 x 32GB) ECC Registered DDR4 2133
Hard Drive
SuperMicro - 64GB DOM SSD - vSphere & NAS VM
Hard Drive
LSI 9300-8i w/ Noctua NF-A4x10 40mm
Hard Drive
2x SuperMicro CSE-M35T-1B
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO - 250GB - Media Server VM & Seedbox VM
Hard Drive
3x WD Red Pro - 8TB (14TB ZFS Array)
Hard Drive
WD Black - 4TB - NAS Scratchspace
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-660XP2
Cooling
CPU - Noctua A-Series NF-A9x14 w/ 3d printed 50mm/92mm fan adapter
Cooling
Top Exhaust - 2x Noctua NF-A14 ULN 140mm
Cooling
Front Intake - 2x Noctua NF-A9 PWM 92mm
Cooling
Rear Intake - Noctua NF-A12x15 PWM 120mm
Case
Caselabs X2M & MNPCTech ITX Case Feet
Operating System
VMware vSphere ESXi-6.5
Operating System
NAS VM - Ubuntu Server 16.04 - ZFS Array, SMB/NFS
Operating System
Media Server VM - Ubuntu Server 16.04 - PLEX, Owncloud
Operating System
Seedbox VM - Windows 10 Pro - QBittorrent, Sonarr
Other
Travel Case - Pelican Storm iM2875 & Custom Foam
Other
APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 UPS
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX 3270I w/TPM
RAM
Ballistix Tactical 32GB Kit (16GB x 2) DDR4 3000
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 512GB NVMe
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 1TB NVMe
Optical Drive
ASUS External 12X Blu-Ray Writer
Power Supply
CORSAIR SF600 - 600W
Cooling
Noctua NH-C14S w/ Noctua 140mm NF-A14 IndustrialPPC 2000 IP67 PWM
Cooling
4x Noctua NF-F12 IndustrialPPC 2000 IP67 PWM
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Monitor
Samsung - S34E790C - 34" 21:9 Curved Screen
Keyboard
CODE 87 - Cherry MX Green
Mouse
RAZER DeathAdder Chroma
Mouse
Glorious PC Gaming Race 3XL Mouse Mat - 48X24"
Audio
Steelseries - Arctis 7
Audio
Bose Companion 2 Series III
Other
CyberPower UPS - PR1500LCDRTXL2U - 1500w
▲ hide details ▲
NKrader is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off