Wall Ethernet Plug Issues - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Wall Ethernet Plug Issues

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 11-07-2019, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Volcom13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida
Posts: 2,980
Rep: 203 (Unique: 177)
Wall Ethernet Plug Issues

Had Verizon set up my internet for the apartment. They set up the modem in the electrical box in the bedroom. My own router is plugged into the Ethernet port on the wall in the living room. Router wifi works fine and I anything I plug into the router works great too.

My computer is in my bedroom and there's an Ethernet port in that bedroom as well. But that Ethernet port isnt working.

Pictures below are of the two electrical boxes. Bottom box has Verizon's equipment. Above box must be the ports for each rooms Ethernet port. Yellow cable goes to top box and I'm assuming that top port is for the living room.

How do I get the Ethernet wall port on my bedroom to work?




camera.gifNikon D5100camera.gif
AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 VR
AF-S NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4-5.6


Volcom13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 11-08-2019, 10:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Ideally, you should move your router there and put it between the modem and your patch panel, thought this might not be an ideal placement for wifi. If you need to place the wifi somewhere else for better connectivity you have a few options. Easiest would be to replace your router with a set of mesh routers, this way you can keep one there and then place the other ones for wifi coverage throughout your house. You could also use access points instead. For my setup I added a second wall jack to where I wanted my router and I'm feeding the modem from the panel through the first jack to the router and then the router feeds back to my patch panel through the second jack and from there into a switch I use to distribute out to the other ports in the patch panel. I "borrowed" the picture from a Leviton forum which shows wiring for the first scenario.

Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
Bustout is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 11-11-2019, 08:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
retrogamer999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East London
Posts: 262
Rep: 14 (Unique: 14)
Get a cheap cable tester and a punch down tool.

You patching looks fine so it could just be bad termination on the patch panel/data ports on each end.

Plug in the test and see if all the lights come up. If they dont remove and punch down the cables again and test again. If you get no luck again it could be a break in the cable at which point you will need to re-run the ethernet cable.

Link to the tools below

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Chilly-Ethe...xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==
retrogamer999 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off