SMB same physical location, separate lans - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

SMB same physical location, separate lans

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Dante_son_of_sparda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 496
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
SMB same physical location, separate lans

Hello everyone,
I have a... Unique.. Set up that I am wondering if this is even possible on.

I rent a room where the owner of the home has given me leave to add my own router into the DMZ for purpose of portforwarding a server I own. It's been working great minus some double NAT issues preventing NAT Loopback working but I digress...

I'd like to open up access to my file server to someone in the same physical location, but connected onto the other LAN.

Could I forward the SMB ports used by windows to my server on my router to my server and connect to it from the router IP given to me by the second router?


Or is it not possible?
Dante_son_of_sparda is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 11:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shawnb99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In Van Down by the River
Posts: 1,344
Rep: 46 (Unique: 31)
Couldn't this be accomplished by using a subnet? It's been years since I learned CCNA so I'm just spitballing

My Baby
(23 items)
CPU
Delidded Direct Die I9 9900K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Apex
GPU
EVGA FTW3 Hydro Copper GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 3600 F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Asus Hyper M.2 card
Hard Drive
2 x Intel 660P 2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000 Titanium
Cooling
Optimus Signature V2
Cooling
2x Swiftech MCP35X2 with MCP35X2 Heat Sink w/ 2x NB-BlackSilent Pro's
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 560GTX w/ 8x Arctic P14 PST PWM's
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 480GTX w/ 16x Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM
Cooling
Aquacomputer aqualis XT 450 ml with nano coating
Cooling
9x Noctua NF-S12A PWM
Cooling
Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS w/ 6 Arctic P12 PST PWM's
Case
Case Labs Magnum TH10A with Pedestal
Monitor
Asus PG278Q
Keyboard
Das Keyboard 5Q
Mouse
Swiftpoint Z
Audio
Light Harmonic Oscar XXI
Audio
Geek Pulse Inifnity DAC/AMP
Audio
Cavalii Audio Liquid Carbon HPA
Other
Aquacomputer Aquaero XT
▲ hide details ▲
Shawnb99 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 12:15 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Dante_son_of_sparda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 496
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Could you elaborate?

The networks subnets are different and to my knowledge cannot be the same, else they'd be the same network.

10.0.0.x
Is the "primary"
192.168.0.x is my own.
Dante_son_of_sparda is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 03:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,215
Rep: 170 (Unique: 132)
Sure, why wouldnt you? Depending on what routers your have theres no reason you couldnt

So on the network, assuming that 192.168.0.1 is the router, 192.168.1.1 is your router, 192.168.0.2 is a client on the first lan, and 192.168.1.2 is the server

Easy / correct option
Router 1 needs a static route adding so it knows that 1.1/24 is hanging out off a port thats plugged into it, then it will just work. https://www.linksys.com/id/support-a...icleNum=135048

Medium / Eh option
If you want to keep nat, (bad idea as you allready know!) , then you may be able to do it if 192.168.0.1 supports DNAT or Dynamic routing.

If dynamic routing, (try this first it may "just work") : if you have plugged the routers in the correct way *(client port on 192.168.0.1 to the WAN port of 192.168.1.1) and both routers support whatever random protocol the router manufacture chose, you may only need to add a rule on 192.168.1.1 to forward SMB to the server and it will work.

For DNAT : If it supports DNAT, you can add a nat rule to forward the traffic from 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.1.1 and then add another DNAT onto router two to forward the traffic onto your server. Most consumer routers will set up a rule to forward the traffic back, and as SMB is all client initated, it should all be NAT safe and work.

Super Easy method, Just get 2X 10 quid wireless adapters from Amazon, connect one to Lan 1, one to Lan 2, and dual host the sever. Turn off routing on windows server to prevent network insanity and boom done, lan 1 connects to lan 1 wifi adapter, lan 2 connected to lan 2 wifi adapter




Also the Networks can be "the same" if your router supports it, is called super netting and it lets you have a /24 over all, and then each router just manages a /25.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thydevil go_quote.gif
AWESOME. Buy 1600 point card = $19.99. Buy two 800 point cards = $19.98
Save big.
Quote:
Originally Posted by someone153 go_quote.gif
Shhhh! Don't tell Microsoft. They might discover our secret.
>XXX
Ulquiorra is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 06:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
EniGma1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,401
Rep: 342 (Unique: 252)
Ulquiorra is correct, this is done with setting up static route in the routers.
You will also need to be doing port forwarding in the main router as well to get around your double-NAT situation to access your server properly. Just because you are in a DMZ specified port doesn't mean you arent still behind the router and going through his NAT stuff.

EniGma1987 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off