Mozilla Firefox Club - Page 187 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Mozilla Firefox Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 1863 (permalink) Old 08-27-2017, 01:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
HowYesNo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I have to post this somewhere, so sorry if in wrong section.
1. every time they make a new version it messes up with flash (i play settlers online),
2. WHAT is with firefox RAM consumption.
I do love firefox and been using it for a decade, but seriously, check the difference. same 4 pages in tabs open, Opera uses diferent proces for each tab but even combined not close to firefoxes
1 GIGABYTE of RAM usage????
Opera is half way there total.
Mozilla Firefox you are an inch away for me ditching you.

HowYesNo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 1863 (permalink) Old 08-29-2017, 09:19 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,547
Rep: 319 (Unique: 231)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowYesNo View Post

I have to post this somewhere, so sorry if in wrong section.
1. every time they make a new version it messes up with flash (i play settlers online),
2. WHAT is with firefox RAM consumption.
I do love firefox and been using it for a decade, but seriously, check the difference. same 4 pages in tabs open, Opera uses diferent proces for each tab but even combined not close to firefoxes
1 GIGABYTE of RAM usage????
Opera is half way there total.
Mozilla Firefox you are an inch away for me ditching you.

Meanwhile I'm at 1.5GB with some 700+ tabs in 16 windows, don't install flash and other garbage. It's the Flash, which is the worst thing ever made followed by Java.

Seems v55 finally has the announced speed ups and Firefox finally runs the way it should when it comes to starting and closing, they removed that stupid single thread loop hog that was there for ages and did who knows what beside massive startup and close delay when FF has many tabs. Now it opens/closes the same way almost whether it has 100+ tabs or 10 tabs.

There seems to be some issue with certain extension in 55 but should be fixed in 56... so far good for me though. The extensions API is changing but most popular apps should transfer fine IMHO.
JackCY is offline  
post #1863 of 1863 (permalink) Old 08-30-2017, 12:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Lionheart1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 504
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Lionheart1980 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off