The pfsense Club - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

The pfsense Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 561 (permalink) Old 12-19-2012, 10:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Antonio-Malcolm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 96
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
Good to see we have a club for this biggrin.gif

Mid-2011 Mac Mini Server
2.0GHz Quad-core i7-2635QM
16Gb RAM (2x8Gb Patriot Signature PC3 1333MHz)
128Gb OCZ Vertex (primary drive)
500Gb 7200rpm Seagate (secondary drive)
Thunderbolt to gigabit ethernet adapter (as a second ethernet port)

I'm currently running pfSense in a VirtualBox vm, with 1CPU, 3Gb of RAM and a 2Gb virtual disk for routing, NATing, and protection of both my physical network and two other vms (Debian instances running websites and services in Apache HTTPD server and Tomcat).

The instance is running with the Snort, iperf, Darkstat and iBlocklist packages.

I have the Mini's built-in gigabit ethernet port in use as the WAN port, which is connected to a modem in bridge mode, with all ports on the modem's built-in switch disabled, save for the one connected to the WAN. A Thunderbolt to gigabit ethernet adapter serves as the LAN port. On the LAN, I have a gigabit switch, and a Netgear WNDR3700 configured as a WAP (DHCP and firewall are disabled). Using bridged adapters as virtual ports for the VM, in this configuration, the Mac Mini is, itself, assigned an IP by the pfSense instance and is on the LAN.

I have 5 physical machines on the network (two Macs, two Wintels, and an Amiga 1200 on the wireless with a PC Card), as well as an XBox 360, a first-generation Playstation 3, and a Wii.

I provided some rough instructions for setup, as well as iperf test results in this thread

I also wrote a complete tutorial, with screenshots, but it's not up, yet. I'll get it online when I finish my site redesign.
Antonio-Malcolm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 561 (permalink) Old 12-19-2012, 12:51 PM
Car cheaper than computer
 
H-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,049
Rep: 108 (Unique: 99)
Quote:
Originally Posted by parityboy View Post

@Idiot
Is that a wall-mounted laptop? It sure looks like one...smile.gif
Yep. I'm working on the build log in the case mod build log section.

Applying power tools to delicate problems since 2009.
What have I done......... -Murlocke
CPU
AMD Ryzen x6 1600
Motherboard
Asus Prime B350 Plus
GPU
Nvidia 970 3.5GB
RAM
ECC 16GB*2 2933MHz 14-16-16-16-32-52 M391A2K43BB1-CPB (B-die)
Hard Drive
500GB WD Blue 3D NAND
Power Supply
Seasonic SSR-650FM
Cooling
CRYORIG H7 Tower Cooler For AMD/Intel CPU CRYORIG H7
Cooling
FAN: 4x ARCTIC F12 PWM PST (120mm) Idles at 400RPM.
Case
Thermaltake Core G21 with rubber isolators to carry all fans.
Operating System
Windows 10 EDU/ OO shut up 10
Monitor
QNIX 2710 @110Hz with a bunch of k'nex to hold papers above and around it.
Monitor
Dell 21.5"
Keyboard
Kinesis advantage modded to PS/2, 4th foot Pedal connected.
Keyboard
Some random HP branded USB unit I redirect to Virtual Machines
Keyboard
Kinesis Savant Elite Programmable Triple Foot Pedal
Mouse
Razer Deathadder 3.5G | Anker Vertical Mouse
Audio
Klipsch iFi I found dumpster diving.
Other
CyberPower 810 Watt Pure Sine wave UPS
CPU
Core i5-3210M
Motherboard
HM77
GPU
GT 640LE
RAM
4GB soldered+ 8GB SO-DIMM
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO
Optical Drive
Slot loading
Power Supply
4200 mAh internal and 4800 mAh extended battery.
Cooling
Stock
Operating System
W7 x64
Monitor
1600x900 13.3" LCD
Keyboard
Backlit
CPU
AMD Phenom II x3 710
Motherboard
GA-MA790X-UD4P
GPU
XFX 4850 1GB
RAM
Gskill 2x2&B DDR2 1066 CL5
Hard Drive
Seagate 7200.12 500GB.
Optical Drive
DVD RW drive
Power Supply
Antec BP550 Plus
Cooling
Xiggy Dark Knight
Case
Antec 900
Operating System
Windows Vista x64 Home Premium.
Monitor
Asus 23"
Keyboard
Microsoft Ergo from thrift store
Mouse
Razar Copperhead
Audio
Some random system from big lots.
▲ hide details ▲
H-man is offline  
post #23 of 561 (permalink) Old 12-19-2012, 03:26 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
parityboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 192.168.13.37
Posts: 3,713
Rep: 272 (Unique: 213)
Hehe, cool! biggrin.gif

Ryzen
(16 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-AB350M Gaming 3
GPU
Sapphire Pulse Vega 56
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Storage Array
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME 1000 Ultra
Cooling
AMD Wraith Spire
Case
Fractal Design Arc Mini R2
Operating System
KDE Neon 18.04 LTS
Monitor
Dell UltraSharp U2414H
Keyboard
Dell SK-8185
Mouse
Logitech Trackman Wheel
▲ hide details ▲
parityboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 561 (permalink) Old 12-19-2012, 07:04 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
quadx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,144
Rep: 41 (Unique: 38)
IDIOT, that is hilarious. Surely not my style, but I like making use of an old laptop.

I run pfsense virtually (vSphere 5.0). But I'm thinking about moving to a linux distro, most likely Arch. Maybe physical... who knows - change is inevitable.

The irony of the user-friendly systems is that the layers of user-friendliness are by necessity layers of complexity. The systems are offloading the tasks of system management from the relatively smart super-powerful human brains and moving it onto a relatively stupid piece of complex and fragile system management software. ---linuxtoday

quadx is offline  
post #25 of 561 (permalink) Old 12-19-2012, 08:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Iris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sin City, NV
Posts: 273
Rep: 17 (Unique: 16)
I didn't know this thread existed. I love pfSense. biggrin.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS_Patrick View Post

14khy
Intel E3-1230
8GB Ram
120GB Crucial M4
1GBPS ports in/out
It filters traffic to my gameservers. Mostly the country of China.

I see someones using Google's Public DNS servers. thumb.gif



Iris is offline  
post #26 of 561 (permalink) Old 02-02-2013, 12:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dushan24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,059
Rep: 38 (Unique: 24)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iris View Post

I didn't know this thread existed. I love pfSense. biggrin.gif
I see someones using Google's Public DNS servers. thumb.gif

Wouldn't you...

Back on topic, I've ran it on several machines in the past, an old P4 was my last one...

Currently running it at the office on a little HP MicroServer with a dual port Intel NIC in the PCIe slot.

And I will be doing another one at home very soon using a C2D HP workstation I picked up for $100.

Programming is all logic, the language is just the syntax you use to express the logic. Learn the logic and the language becomes immaterial.

Original user of this avatar - 6th October 2012.
dushan24 is offline  
post #27 of 561 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 08:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
linkinparkfan007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 2,097
Rep: 128 (Unique: 120)
I used to have like Google + OpenDNS + Level3 on my Box tongue.gif

University of Ontario Institute of Technology 14' Networking and IT Security Graduate with Bachelor of Information Technology (Hons.)Warning: Quotes and Clubs (Click to show)
We Are Gr33n Machine
Windows 7 Fan Club
Canadian OCN Club
95.567% of people make up the stats in their sig. If you are part of the 4.433% who uses real stats, put this in your sig.



linkinparkfan007 is offline  
post #28 of 561 (permalink) Old 02-22-2014, 10:50 AM
Car cheaper than computer
 
H-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,049
Rep: 108 (Unique: 99)
I found a widget for NUT (Network Ups Tools,) and added to it so that it would also read out the current load and the current line voltage.
Code:
<?php
/*
        $Id$
        Copyright 2008 Seth Mos
        Part of pfSense widgets (www.pfsense.com)
        originally based on m0n0wall (http://m0n0.ch/wall)

        Redistribution and use in source and binary forms, with or without
        modification, are permitted provided that the following conditions are met:

        1. Redistributions of source code must retain the above copyright notice,
           this list of conditions and the following disclaimer.

        2. Redistributions in binary form must reproduce the above copyright
           notice, this list of conditions and the following disclaimer in the
           documentation and/or other materials provided with the distribution.

        THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED ``AS IS'' AND ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES,
        INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY
        AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE ARE DISCLAIMED. IN NO EVENT SHALL THE
        AUTHOR BE LIABLE FOR ANY DIRECT, INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, SPECIAL, EXEMPLARY,
        OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES (INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, PROCUREMENT OF
        SUBSTITUTE GOODS OR SERVICES; LOSS OF USE, DATA, OR PROFITS; OR BUSINESS
        INTERRUPTION) HOWEVER CAUSED AND ON ANY THEORY OF LIABILITY, WHETHER IN
        CONTRACT, STRICT LIABILITY, OR TORT (INCLUDING NEGLIGENCE OR OTHERWISE)
        ARISING IN ANY WAY OUT OF THE USE OF THIS SOFTWARE, EVEN IF ADVISED OF THE
        POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGE.
*/

$nocsrf = true;

require_once("guiconfig.inc");
require_once("pfsense-utils.inc");
require_once("functions.inc");

$nut_config = $config['installedpackages']['nut']['config'][0];

/* functions */

function secs2hms($secs) {
        if ($secs<0) return false;
        $m = (int)($secs / 60); $s = $secs % 60;
        $h = (int)($m / 60); $m = $m % 60;
        return array($h, "h ", $m, "m ", $s, "s ");
}


function tblrowbar ($value, $symbol, $red, $yellow, $green) {
        if(!$value) return;

        $value = sprintf("%.1f", $value);

        $red = explode('-', $red);
        $yellow = explode('-', $yellow);
        $green = explode('-', $green);

        sort($red);
        sort($yellow);
        sort($green);

        if($value >= $red[0] && $value <= ($red[0]+9)) {
                $color = 'black';
                $bgcolor = 'red';
        }
        if($value >= ($red[0]+10) && $value <= $red[1]) {
                $color = 'white';
                $bgcolor = 'red';
        }
        if($value >= $yellow[0] && $value <= $yellow[1]) {
                $color = 'black';
                $bgcolor = 'yellow';
        }
        if($value >= $green[0] && $value <= ($green[0]+9)) {
                $color = 'black';
                $bgcolor = 'green';
        }
        if($value >= ($green[0]+10) && $value <= $green[1]) {
                $color = 'white';
                $bgcolor = 'green';
        }

        print(<<<EOD
<div style="width: 125px; height: 12px; border-top: thin solid gray; border-bottom: thin solid gray;">
  <div style="width: {$value}{$symbol}; height: 12px; background-color: {$bgcolor};">
    <div style="text-align: center; color: {$color}">{$value}{$symbol}</div>
  </div>
</div>
EOD
        ."\n");
}


?>
         <table bgcolor="#990000" width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
                <tr>
                  <td class="listhdrr">Monitoring</td>
                  <td class="listhdrr">Model</td>
                  <td class="listhdrr">Status</td>
<td class="listhdrr">Input Voltage</td>
                </tr>
                                <tr>
                                  <td class="listr" align="center" id="monitoring">

<?php

        $running = ((int)exec('pgrep upsmon | wc -l') > 0) ? true : false;

        if($nut_config['monitor'] == 'local') {
                echo "Local UPS";
                $cmd = "upsc {$nut_config['name']}@localhost";
        } elseif($nut_config['monitor'] == 'remote') {
                echo "Remote UPS";
                $cmd = "upsc {$nut_config['remotename']}@{$nut_config['remoteaddr']}";
        } elseif($nut_config['monitor'] == 'snmp') {
                echo "SNMP UPS";
                $cmd = "upsc {$nut_config['snmpname']}@localhost";
        }

?>

                                  </td>
                                  <td class="listr" align="center" id="model">

<?php

if($running)
                $handle = popen($cmd, 'r');
        elseif($nut_config['monitor'] == 'snmp')
                $condition = "NUT enabled but service not running!\nSNMP UPS may be unreachable.";
        else
                $condition = "NUT enabled but service not running!";

        if($handle) {
                $read = fread($handle, 4096);
                pclose($handle);

                $lines = explode("\n", $read);
                $ups = array();
                foreach($lines as $line) {
                        $line = explode(':', $line);
                        $ups[$line[0]] = trim($line[1]);
                }

                if(count($lines) == 1)
                        $condition = "ERROR:Data stale!";

                echo $ups['ups.model'];

                print(<<<EOD
</td>
<td class="listr" align="center" id="status">
EOD
        ."\n");

                $status = explode(' ', $ups['ups.status']);
                foreach($status as $condition) {
                        if($disp_status) $disp_status .= ', ';
                        switch ($condition) {
                                case 'WAIT':
                                        $disp_status .= 'Waiting';
                                        break;
                                case 'OFF':
                                        $disp_status .= 'Off Line';
                                        break;
                                case 'OL':
                                        $disp_status .= 'On Line';
                                        break;
                                case 'OB':
                                        $disp_status .= 'On Battery';
                                        break;
                                case 'TRIM':
                                        $disp_status .= 'SmartTrim';
                                        break;
                                case 'BOOST':
                                        $disp_status .= 'SmartBoost';
                                        break;
                                case 'OVER':
                                        $disp_status .= 'Overload';
                                        break;
                                case 'LB':
                                        $disp_status .= 'Battery Low';
                                        break;
                                case 'RB':
                                        $disp_status .= 'Replace Battery';
                                        break;
                                case 'CAL':
                                        $disp_status .= 'Calibration';
                                        break;
                                default:
                                        $disp_status .= $condition;
                                        break;
                        }
                }

                echo $disp_status;
                print(<<<EOD
</td>
<td class="listr" align="center" id="inputvoltage">
EOD
."\n");
                echo $ups['input.voltage'] . "V";
                print(<<<EOD
                /* takes the input voltage and adds a V to the end of it. This part (id="inputvoltage") was added by H-man at Overclock.net. */               
</td>

</tr>
</td>




<tr>
 <td class="listhdrr">Battery Charge</td>
 <td class="listhdrr">Runtime Remaining</td>
 <td class="listhdrr">Battery Voltage</td>
 <td class="listhdrr">UPS Load</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="listr" align="left" id="charge">
EOD
        ."\n");

/*              echo $ups['battery.charge'] . "%"; */

                tblrowbar($ups['battery.charge'], '%', '0-29' ,'30-79', '80-100');

                print(<<<EOD
</td>
<td class="listr" align="center" id="runtime">
EOD
        ."\n");

                echo implode(secs2hms($ups['battery.runtime']));

                print(<<<EOD
</td>
<td class="listr" align="center" id="bvoltage">
EOD
        ."\n");

                echo $ups['battery.voltage'] . "V";
        

print(<<<EOD
</td>
<td class="listr" align="center" id="upsload">
EOD
."\n");
                echo $ups['ups.load'] * $ups['ups.realpower.nominal'] * .01 . "W";
                /*takes UPS load which is in percent, multiplies it by the UPS's nominal rating, then divides by 100[%] to get the wattage. This part (id="upsload") was added by H-man at Overclock.net */
        
        }
?>

</td>
</tr>
</table>

Applying power tools to delicate problems since 2009.
What have I done......... -Murlocke
CPU
AMD Ryzen x6 1600
Motherboard
Asus Prime B350 Plus
GPU
Nvidia 970 3.5GB
RAM
ECC 16GB*2 2933MHz 14-16-16-16-32-52 M391A2K43BB1-CPB (B-die)
Hard Drive
500GB WD Blue 3D NAND
Power Supply
Seasonic SSR-650FM
Cooling
CRYORIG H7 Tower Cooler For AMD/Intel CPU CRYORIG H7
Cooling
FAN: 4x ARCTIC F12 PWM PST (120mm) Idles at 400RPM.
Case
Thermaltake Core G21 with rubber isolators to carry all fans.
Operating System
Windows 10 EDU/ OO shut up 10
Monitor
QNIX 2710 @110Hz with a bunch of k'nex to hold papers above and around it.
Monitor
Dell 21.5"
Keyboard
Kinesis advantage modded to PS/2, 4th foot Pedal connected.
Keyboard
Some random HP branded USB unit I redirect to Virtual Machines
Keyboard
Kinesis Savant Elite Programmable Triple Foot Pedal
Mouse
Razer Deathadder 3.5G | Anker Vertical Mouse
Audio
Klipsch iFi I found dumpster diving.
Other
CyberPower 810 Watt Pure Sine wave UPS
CPU
Core i5-3210M
Motherboard
HM77
GPU
GT 640LE
RAM
4GB soldered+ 8GB SO-DIMM
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO
Optical Drive
Slot loading
Power Supply
4200 mAh internal and 4800 mAh extended battery.
Cooling
Stock
Operating System
W7 x64
Monitor
1600x900 13.3" LCD
Keyboard
Backlit
CPU
AMD Phenom II x3 710
Motherboard
GA-MA790X-UD4P
GPU
XFX 4850 1GB
RAM
Gskill 2x2&B DDR2 1066 CL5
Hard Drive
Seagate 7200.12 500GB.
Optical Drive
DVD RW drive
Power Supply
Antec BP550 Plus
Cooling
Xiggy Dark Knight
Case
Antec 900
Operating System
Windows Vista x64 Home Premium.
Monitor
Asus 23"
Keyboard
Microsoft Ergo from thrift store
Mouse
Razar Copperhead
Audio
Some random system from big lots.
▲ hide details ▲
H-man is offline  
post #29 of 561 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 03:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CalypsoRaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 734
Rep: 27 (Unique: 26)
Hey all!

I haven't exactly gotten my pfsense box completely integrated into my network yet but, I'm close.

I've got it running on an AMD athlon 6000+ along with 2gb of ram and an 80gb hdd. Probably overkill but oh well.

I think I may have configured my cards wrong as I cannot get connected to the internet. I'm sure I just got in a hurry and goofed.
One dual intel gigabit nic and a tplink dual band 450mbps wireless card.

Probably no more than a dozen devices will ever be on my network, just a fun project.

Quote:
Originally Posted by UrbanSmooth go_quote.gif
Cataclysm saved my life.

CalypsoRaz is offline  
post #30 of 561 (permalink) Old 03-06-2014, 01:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,574
Rep: 91 (Unique: 70)
Try all of the plugs, on the dual card I use the link names didn't make sense on which port it was.
cones is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off