The pfsense Club - Page 52 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

The pfsense Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 561 (permalink) Old 08-21-2018, 08:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
EniGma1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,305
Rep: 338 (Unique: 248)
Quote: Originally Posted by Mega Man View Post
Supermicro and intel are heavily involved when it comes to driver support with freebsd


Can you say the same about Chelsio ?
We are not talking about FreeBSD. Yes pfsense runs on a modified FreeBSD, but driver support is not full FreeBSD capability. And for anything higher than 1gb ports, you must not know that pfsense 1st party hardware specifically uses all Chelsio NICs... And either way, you are trying to pivot the topic here.


Last edited by EniGma1987; 08-22-2018 at 06:20 AM.
EniGma1987 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 561 (permalink) Old 08-21-2018, 08:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kana Chan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 683
Rep: 16 (Unique: 14)
Is this a router or something you put between your router?
Kana Chan is offline  
post #513 of 561 (permalink) Old 08-22-2018, 06:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Prophet4NO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3,081
Rep: 162 (Unique: 119)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kana Chan View Post
Is this a router or something you put between your router?
pfsense is your router/firewall in most cases. It's flexible enough to fill a few rolls, but it really is intended to be your edge device. For a home setup you would have a computer that has pfsense as it's OS and it will function as your wired router and firewall. You would connect it to a switch and that would have your devices and wifi attached to it. You can also run wifi off the pfsense box directly, but that can be more work to config.

For home use, almost any computer you have laying around will work in most cases.
Prophet4NO1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #514 of 561 (permalink) Old 08-22-2018, 11:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kana Chan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 683
Rep: 16 (Unique: 14)
Does it outperform the ones you can buy at a store? Even the latest ac/ad routers?
Kana Chan is offline  
post #515 of 561 (permalink) Old 08-23-2018, 08:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
EniGma1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,305
Rep: 338 (Unique: 248)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kana Chan View Post
Does it outperform the ones you can buy at a store? Even the latest ac/ad routers?



Depends on the hardware you use, but in most cases yes it will out perform any consumer router by a good bit.

EniGma1987 is offline  
post #516 of 561 (permalink) Old 08-23-2018, 02:28 PM
Missing friends
 
Mega Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Littleton, CO USA
Posts: 15,996
Rep: 700 (Unique: 431)
Quote: Originally Posted by EniGma1987 View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by Mega Man View Post
Supermicro and intel are heavily involved when it comes to driver support with freebsd


Can you say the same about Chelsio ?
We are not talking about FreeBSD. Yes pfsense runs on a modified FreeBSD, but driver support is not full FreeBSD capability. And for anything higher than 1gb ports, you must not know that pfsense 1st party hardware specifically uses all Chelsio NICs... And either way, you are trying to pivot the topic here.
Thanks for making me laugh.

Freebsd is freebsd nice job on attempting to reverse it on me, but no they are not as active.

Are you using the EXACT same card they do.

Rigbuilder and how to put it in your sig post-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gif budget components = budget resultsPearls before swine! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 go_quote.gif

Also rma wise, regardless of what vendor used it's always like getting a tooth pulled imo.
Quote:
Originally Posted by szeged go_quote.gif

I facepalmed when trying to explain cpu and gpu overclocking to him after he got his 4930k. It was like teaching trigonometry to a rock.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 go_quote.gif

That's like wrapping your car around a pole then asking for warranty service.
Dont be hard on yourself, we all break stuff sooner or later.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables go_quote.gif

I don't appreciate your judgment here. I am just stating facts. That's all I'm doing. If you are taking offense to it or something, then that's not my problem, so don't put it on me. Ok?...Good god man. You would know that if you would actually carefully read...
Mega Man is offline  
post #517 of 561 (permalink) Old 08-23-2018, 03:07 PM
Retired Staff
 
Mikecdm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,173
Rep: 740 (Unique: 540)
The other day I was reading up on pfsense and it sparked some interest. Maybe a side project type thing. I saw that some people virtualize pfsense and it seemed like a reasonable way to go. I don't really want another computer or anything run. Right now I'm using unraid for a media server and nothing else. I figure it could be good enough to try this pfsense stuff too.

I suppose I still need to do a lot more research before taking the plunge. I currently have a netgear R7500 for my router. I don't even know if it's worth the hassle or what I'd want more. From what I've gathered, I see people using those 4 port intel nics, i've seen some unifi AP, and probably need some switch. Also something about PoE.

Any suggestions or things I should know or look into?



Mikecdm is offline  
post #518 of 561 (permalink) Old 08-23-2018, 07:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Prophet4NO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3,081
Rep: 162 (Unique: 119)
You can run it in a VM, but it comes with some odd quirks. Generally, it's best to run it on bare metal if possible. Do some googling and you will find plenty of threads discussing this on the pfsense/netgate forums.

Biggest thing with pfsenes or any other FreeBSD based OS is using Intel NICs. They will always work, perform well, and be trouble free. Others work, but you really need to search to see if what you have is supported. The pfsense forums are a wealth of information. And the Lawrence Systems Youtube channel has tons of great vids to watch on various parts of the system. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHk...ZbuGhwsADBd9ZQ

Last edited by Prophet4NO1; 08-23-2018 at 07:23 PM.
Prophet4NO1 is offline  
post #519 of 561 (permalink) Old 08-23-2018, 07:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kana Chan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 683
Rep: 16 (Unique: 14)
Is the x86 cpu superior to the arm/broadcom cpus for routers? Do the Intel NICs have greater range too?
Kana Chan is offline  
post #520 of 561 (permalink) Old 08-23-2018, 09:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Prophet4NO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3,081
Rep: 162 (Unique: 119)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kana Chan View Post
Is the x86 cpu superior to the arm/broadcom cpus for routers? Do the Intel NICs have greater range too?
Generally, most pfsense setups are on X86. As for range, Intel NIC is a wired connection. So, it's range is limited by cable length.

For wifi, you will need to run an access point as well. This can be a dedicated unit or most routers can be run in a bridging mode that disables all routing functions. Basically making it a switch and access point and that's it.

A consumer "router" is actually three devices in one. A router, a switch, and access point. Some add a fourth part, a modem.

My personal setup uses a dedicated machine for pfsense. That connects to a 24 port switch. From that all wired machines and my wireless access points are connected. That's how most people will setup their networks. But it's not the only option.

If you want to go ARM or low power Atom based, look at the Netgate units. That is the company currently behind pfsense.
Prophet4NO1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off