Why is intel faster then amd? - Page 6 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Why is intel faster then amd?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #51 of 85 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 11:28 AM
FOCAL ARIA FTW
 
Wishmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Luxembourg Ville
Posts: 9,315
Rep: 362 (Unique: 282)
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormX2 View Post

well clock speed are often BS to look at.
In AMD Socket 939 days vs Pentium D
1.8ghz AMD was faster than 3.0 GHZ Pentium D

It is common knowledge that the small ghz are faster than the big GHZ. True story! biggrin.gif

FLOOR STANDING SYSTEM: FOCAL ARIA 948 WITH NAD C388 & NAD C568 & REGA PLANAR 3 / HOME CINEMA : YAMAHA AVENTAGE RX-A860
DESKTOP AUDIO: DENON AHD-2000/5000 -MARK LAWTON & DENON AHD-9200 WITH PIZZA STACK / TOPPING A50 HiFi BALANCED HEADPHONE AMP & D50S HI-RES DAC & P50 REGULATED LINEAR PSU


Wishmaker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #52 of 85 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 11:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Schmuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 15,011
Rep: 709 (Unique: 566)
well..while the intel and amd hamsters run the same speed through the maze...intel's hamsters take a more direct route..and amd unwittingly put a few too many dead-ends in theirs for some reason :kookoo.gif ..amd used to use the relay-hamsters...which was faster...but now..they just feed a boxful a bunch of illicit drugs and turn them loose in the maze where they run willy nilly
Schmuckley is offline  
post #53 of 85 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 11:32 AM
Totally New to OCN
 
StormX2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jerzey
Posts: 10,626
Rep: 260 (Unique: 209)
i believe the term was "Clocks per Cycle" ?


*R.I.P Syrillian, May your Words and Actions Live forever!*
†he cu|†
(13 items)
CPU
Opty 165 CCBBE @ 300fsb
Motherboard
DFI LanP UT SLI-DR
GPU
eVGA 8800gts 640mb
RAM
2x1gb Corsair XMS TwinX P
Hard Drive
250 g sataII Max†or
Optical Drive
NEC DVD+/-DL
Power Supply
OCZ GameXstream 600w
Case
Spire Baby!
Operating System
XP pro
Monitor
20.1 inch wide 5ms
Keyboard
Some old Thing
Mouse
Logitech G5
Mouse
What?
▲ hide details ▲


StormX2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #54 of 85 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 11:34 AM
FOCAL ARIA FTW
 
Wishmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Luxembourg Ville
Posts: 9,315
Rep: 362 (Unique: 282)
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormX2 View Post

i believe the term was "Clocks per biCycle" ?

Fixed it for ye biggrin.gif

FLOOR STANDING SYSTEM: FOCAL ARIA 948 WITH NAD C388 & NAD C568 & REGA PLANAR 3 / HOME CINEMA : YAMAHA AVENTAGE RX-A860
DESKTOP AUDIO: DENON AHD-2000/5000 -MARK LAWTON & DENON AHD-9200 WITH PIZZA STACK / TOPPING A50 HiFi BALANCED HEADPHONE AMP & D50S HI-RES DAC & P50 REGULATED LINEAR PSU


Wishmaker is offline  
post #55 of 85 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 11:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dstoler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lakeland, FLA
Posts: 1,127
Rep: 52 (Unique: 44)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwoodz View Post

Why is Intel faster than AMD? Not a simple question.
I will say there are many reasons why,from simply designing a better product,to engaging in illegal and immoral acts to destroy a competitor. Even manipulating coding and benchmarks to sabotage competitors CPU's.
Do some reading
http://www.forbes.com/2005/06/28/amd-intel-lawsuit-cx_ah_0628amd.html
http://www.agner.org/optimize/blog/read.php?i=49
http://areweb.berkeley.edu/~sberto/AMDIntel.pdf
In the end you end up with 1 giant monopoly.That's why Intel is faster than
and this! That's only a small percentage of their corrupt ways. U people are so blind but whatever. I've served my country for 8 years and been to the sandbox. I didn't fight for corporations like this that have so much power they can do as they please. Or atleast think they can... If intel would just fight fair then id shut up but they r dirty and I have no love for them what so ever.

Sent from my SPH-M910 using Tapatalk

<<<<<<<< OCN Junkie typer.gif With a lot of doh.gif moments

AMD FX Clubsniper.gif
dstoler is offline  
post #56 of 85 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 11:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
jtom320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 3,804
Rep: 128 (Unique: 109)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstoler View Post

and this! That's only a small percentage of their corrupt ways. U people are so blind but whatever. I've served my country for 8 years and been to the sandbox. I didn't fight for corporations like this that have so much power they can do as they please. Or atleast think they can... If intel would just fight fair then id shut up but they r dirty and I have no love for them what so ever.
Sent from my SPH-M910 using Tapatalk

LOL

Oh people.

Nvidia Sparse Grid Supersampling guide.
Ryzen 3000
(17 items)
CPU
R9 3900x
Motherboard
Gigabyte Master
GPU
GTX 1080
RAM
32gb DDR4 3433 CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 256gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 512gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 512gb
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus 850 Gold
Cooling
HeatKiller IV AM4
Cooling
EK 1080 FE GPU Block
Cooling
Black Ice 360mm SR2
Cooling
Black Ice Nemesis 360mm
Cooling
Aquacomputer Aqualis Fountain Thing
Cooling
D5 Vario
Cooling
PETG
Case
Fractal S2
Operating System
Win 10
CPU
6700k (EK Supremacy Evo) *4.7 @ 1.312
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VIII gene
GPU
GTX 1080 FE (EK nickel/plexi)* 2075/5401
RAM
16gb Corsair 3200
Hard Drive
Samsung 950pro M.2 256gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo - 512 - Steam
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo - 512 - Other Apps
Power Supply
EVGA 650
Cooling
EK Res
Cooling
EK pump top
Cooling
XSPC EX 360
Cooling
XSPC EX 240
Case
Fractal Arc Mini 2
Operating System
10
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 3 TKL
Mouse
G303
▲ hide details ▲
jtom320 is offline  
post #57 of 85 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 11:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ironman517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 5,246
Rep: 437 (Unique: 314)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstoler View Post

and this! That's only a small percentage of their corrupt ways. U people are so blind but whatever. I've served my country for 8 years and been to the sandbox. I didn't fight for corporations like this that have so much power they can do as they please. Or atleast think they can... If intel would just fight fair then id shut up but they r dirty and I have no love for them what so ever.
Sent from my SPH-M910 using Tapatalk

You do realize this is completely irrelevant to what the OP was asking about. If the OP was worried about fair business practices, he would buy AMD. If he was worried about making his computer the best it can be, he would buy intel.
Here I found a Wikipedia entry about you

Software Engineer in Satellite CommunicationsFaceepalm Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathelm go_quote.gif

Office + 3 monitors = more than 8gb.
rolleyes.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paratrooper1n0 go_quote.gif

A PC from 2000 can play Crysis at 20FPS. Playable.
Apparently 20 FPS is playable kookoo.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by DinaAngel go_quote.gif

how come i get 30 more fps with 16 gb than 8gb?
Aparently un-used ram can give you a 30 FPS boost! doh.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr0st. go_quote.gif

Your motherboard burst into flames.

No, you cannot use it.
Clubs/Validations (Click to show)
Ironman517 is offline  
post #58 of 85 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 11:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dstoler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lakeland, FLA
Posts: 1,127
Rep: 52 (Unique: 44)
So u guys can go into amd forums and post irrevelant replies but I can't? He asked why intel is faster? I replied because they are corrupt and buy their way to the top. That is a true response that IS relevant to the question.

Sent from my SPH-M910 using Tapatalk

<<<<<<<< OCN Junkie typer.gif With a lot of doh.gif moments

AMD FX Clubsniper.gif
dstoler is offline  
post #59 of 85 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 12:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
adridu59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 6,536
Rep: 313 (Unique: 230)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstoler View Post

So u guys can go into amd forums and post irrevelant replies but I can't? He asked why intel is faster? I replied because they are corrupt and buy their way to the top. That is a true response that IS relevant to the question.
Sent from my SPH-M910 using Tapatalk

Its more like they have better chips. Thank you anyway.

OCN's Recommended: Power SuppliesAudio Products

~ Sig now ToS compliant
adridu59 is offline  
post #60 of 85 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 12:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BlackVenom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indianland
Posts: 5,221
Rep: 157 (Unique: 137)
OP: The answer is architectural differences. /thread Intel hasn't always been faster than AMD, though. So don't think of it like that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormX2 View Post

i believe the term was "Clocks per Cycle" ?
Architecture is more than that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by reyo View Post

Clocks and cores aren't everything
it's the architecture behind it
Fixed
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstoler View Post

So u guys can go into amd forums and post irrevelant replies but I can't? He asked why intel is faster? I replied because they are corrupt and buy their way to the top. That is a true response that IS relevant to the question.
rolleyes.gif Intel is no golden Apple. tongue.gif

Windows 10 is the platform, you are the product.
Official GTA V Discussion Thread | TheOfficialCarStereoClubYawn...
Ryzen Build
(9 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 2700x
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix X470-F
GPU
MSI GTX 970
RAM
16gb (2x8)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo NVMe
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-620GM
Cooling
Wraith
Case
Fractal Design Focus G
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
i5 2500k
Motherboard
ASRock Z77 Extreme6
GPU
MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G
RAM
16GB Ripjaw X
Hard Drive
R0: 2x1TB WD Se
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO
Optical Drive
LG UH12LS28 BDD
Power Supply
Seasonic 600W
Case
CM HAF 932A
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
Dell E2414H x2
Keyboard
M$ Sidewinder x4
Mouse
Logitec M705
Mouse
MouseMat
CPU
Athlon II X3 3.24GHz (Deneb)
Motherboard
Gigabyte MA785GM-US2H
GPU
MSI R5770 Hawk
RAM
3GB PC26400
Hard Drive
2x500gb Seagate, 160GB WD
Optical Drive
DVD/CD +-R, RW
Power Supply
OCZ ModXStream-Pro 700w
Case
NZXT Gamma (M59 Window)
Operating System
Windows 7U x64 - XP x86
Monitor
AOC 23" LCD
Keyboard
M$ Sidewinder x6
Mouse
Logitec LX8
Mouse
Twodollardeal
▲ hide details ▲
BlackVenom is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off