Complete Overclocking Guide: Sandy Bridge & Ivy Bridge | *ASRock Edition* - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

View Poll Results: Was this guide helpful?
Yes (and I DO have an ASRock motherboard). 237 80.07%
Yes (but I DO NOT have an ASRock motherboard). 45 15.20%
No (and I DO have an ASRock motherboard). 7 2.36%
No (but I DO NOT have an ASRock motherboard). 7 2.36%
Voters: 296. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

Complete Overclocking Guide: Sandy Bridge & Ivy Bridge | *ASRock Edition*

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 9903 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 02:41 AM - Thread Starter
sɪɴɢɪɴɢ ɢᴏᴅᴅᴇss
 
kennyparker1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 35.190.36.24
Posts: 3,356
Rep: 352 (Unique: 304)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherman9800 View Post

Hey all,

Just recently purchased my new rig. Loving it so far and having fun OCing it. Upgraded from a cheapy MSI board and Phenom II X3 720BE to this 2500k. Having trouble getting stable at 4.7GHz and want to push higher for fun but would like to leave it around 4.6-4.7 for daily use. After 15 mins prime 95 blend worker 4 gets an error. Help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Ambient Temps - 23C
Idle around - 27C
Under load - Max 61C <-- REALLY GOOD temps! thumb.gif Max under load should be 85C. It will rise alot with vcore but will be perfectly fine. The chip won't even shut down till a whopping 98C.

BIOS settings are below:

BCLK - 100 X 47 Multiplier

Vcore - 1.35 in cpu-z Wowsers... thats really low imho. 1.5v is the max for me, and almost all agree that 1.45v is the low max. So I would at least got to 1.4-1.45v and try to get stable at 4800MHz.
LLC - Level 2
Voltage offset + .090v
Internal PLL - Disabled (possibly need to enable for higher OC's but would like confirmation) Enabling will help a TON, but It may cause Sleep problems (or it may not, different across boards). Try going to your max vcore before enabling this if you want.

Spread Spectrum - Auto Disable this.

Dram - 1.529v 1600mhz XMP

PCH Voltage - 1.059v Leave auto.
PLL Voltage - 1.832v (I've read that's set pretty high and might want to reduce it) 1.89v is the limit, however raising it rarely affects overclocking.
VTT - 1.047v Leave auto.
VCSSA - 0.925v Leave auto.

Gave you some tips, which almost all are in my guide. tongue.gifrolleyes.gif(My comments are in bold or italicized.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derko1 View Post

Well that both sucks and gives me relief that it's not something that is dying.

Now ANOTHER issue that I am having... is that several games will crash either when loading at the begining... loading in between levels... or when exiting. The worst is NFS The Run... which will crash and then I can kill it through the task manager, but will BSOD right after I kill it. It's usually that the driver has stopped working... with a 126 BSOD.

Any ideas on what could be causing this?

That BSOD isn't on the list of related ones to Overclocking the CPU, so I would suspect that your GPU drivers are doing it. I would get the latest drivers from AMD/ATI for your graphics card and make sure that you pass the final test on my guide. Also when you install the drivers, make sure you do a clean install, or use driver sweeper to wipe the old drivers out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by griffulas View Post

Nice guide, helped me get stable at 5ghz + rep had been using manual control of vcore, and L1, L2 is working better for me biggrin.gif
https://www.overclock.net/image/id/1676791/width/600/height/374
5hrs on prime95 blend, still trucking going for 12

Lucky!!! wubsmiley.gif

I tried so hard to get 5GHz but my chip won't go more than a min in prime95 at 5GHz even with a 1.52v. But I've learned to let it go...4.9GHz is blazingly fast. devil-smiley-019.gif


Complete Overclocking Guide: Sandy Bridge & Ivy Bridge | *ASRock Edition*
"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe." ― Carl Sagan
"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." ― Christopher Hitchens
"The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it." ― Neil deGrasse Tyson


kennyparker1337 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 9903 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 03:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
griffulas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 136
Rep: 6 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyparker1337 View Post

Gave you some tips, which almost all are in my guide. tongue.gifrolleyes.gif(My comments are in bold or italicized.)
That BSOD isn't on the list of related ones to Overclocking the CPU, so I would suspect that your GPU drivers are doing it. I would get the latest drivers from AMD/ATI for your graphics card and make sure that you pass the final test on my guide. Also when you install the drivers, make sure you do a clean install, or use driver sweeper to wipe the old drivers out.
Lucky!!! wubsmiley.gif
I tried so hard to get 5GHz but my chip won't go more than a min in prime95 at 5GHz even with a 1.52v. But I've learned to let it go...4.9GHz is blazingly fast. devil-smiley-019.gif

another place i deviate from your guide, i found the sweet spot for my chip to be 1.709 for pll so if you bsod is x0124 try this change i bet it will work

edit: https://www.overclock.net/t/940091/bsod-codes-when-ocing-must-have-info great resource, list of common error codes and causes, if your getting x0124 try lowering pll ive read some 1155 chips like the lower voltage at higher multis

update374
12hrs of custom blend if you look my pll voltage is 1.709
griffulas is offline  
post #23 of 9903 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 04:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sherman9800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Have currently tried 4.8 on 1.40 fixed vcore with Internal PLL enabled, no dice. Wont even post with these settings, but can get 4.7 running prime 95 blend for a bit with 1.35vcore...

Spread spectrum disabled.
LLC Level - 2


My power supply is the less current Corsair TX550 (non modular). I dont have a crazy setup with the HD6870 not being overclocked with a single 10k Raptor drive and a 500GB HDD and 4 fans plus the H60. Could my power supply being running out of juice trying to get those speeds? Its never shown to have been bad before but I save the BIOS settings and it just continually restarts itself with either no power the peripherals or shuts down right away. I have to clear CMOS and start over again. I've looked at the draw on Real Temp and its hovering around 95w which isnt much. VID is 1.3861.
sherman9800 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 9903 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 04:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Derko1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Jersey!
Posts: 3,305
Rep: 200 (Unique: 157)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyparker1337 View Post


That BSOD isn't on the list of related ones to Overclocking the CPU, so I would suspect that your GPU drivers are doing it. I would get the latest drivers from AMD/ATI for your graphics card and make sure that you pass the final test on my guide. Also when you install the drivers, make sure you do a clean install, or use driver sweeper to wipe the old drivers out.

Cool. I think I'll stop playing with the OC settings then... that's really the only two issues I am having with it and seem like they are unrelated to the OC.

I have tried the other drivers too... but still have the same issue. It might just be a problem with the games them selves too. Cause Skyrim runs flawlessly. Above 60fps everywhere and no crashes at all.

Thanks for the help!thumb.gif

I'll probably be back when I get my water set up to try to hit 5.0.

skull.gif[Official] Delidded Crewman skull.gifCurrently Playing
Dead Space 2 | Batman Arkham Asylum | Grid AS | Mass Effect 2 | The Wolf Among Us | Max Payne 3
Finished Games
Anamoly | Home | DLC Quest | Limbo | Dead Space | Tomb Raider | Oil Rush | Legendary
The Walking Dead | Ittle Dew | Saints Row The Third | Outlast | Dyad | Max Payne | Max Payne 2
Steam Profile
Derko1 is offline  
post #25 of 9903 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
sɪɴɢɪɴɢ ɢᴏᴅᴅᴇss
 
kennyparker1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 35.190.36.24
Posts: 3,356
Rep: 352 (Unique: 304)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherman9800 View Post

Have currently tried 4.8 on 1.40 fixed vcore with Internal PLL enabled, no dice. Wont even post with these settings, but can get 4.7 running prime 95 blend for a bit with 1.35vcore...

Spread spectrum disabled.
LLC Level - 2


My power supply is the less current Corsair TX550 (non modular). I dont have a crazy setup with the HD6870 not being overclocked with a single 10k Raptor drive and a 500GB HDD and 4 fans plus the H60. Could my power supply being running out of juice trying to get those speeds? Its never shown to have been bad before but I save the BIOS settings and it just continually restarts itself with either no power the peripherals or shuts down right away. I have to clear CMOS and start over again. I've looked at the draw on Real Temp and its hovering around 95w which isnt much. VID is 1.3861.

http://extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine

System Type: 1 physical CPU
Motherboard: Regular - Desktop
CPU Socket: Socket LGA 1155
CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K 3300 MHz Sandy Bridge
Overclocked: 4800 MHz, 1.4 V
CPU Utilization (TDP): 90% TDP

RAM: 4 Sticks DDR3 SDRAM
Video Card 1: AMD Radeon HD 6870

Regular SATA: 1 HDD
High rpm SATA: 1 HDD

DVD/CDRW Combo Drive: 1 Drive

USB: 4 Devices

Fans
Regular: 4 Fans 120mm;
Water Cooling Kit: Corsair Hydro H60

Keyboard and mouse: Yes

System Load: 90 %

Capacitor Aging (+ W %): 20 %


Minimum PSU Wattage: 486 Watts
Recommended Wattage: 536 Watts

Complete Overclocking Guide: Sandy Bridge & Ivy Bridge | *ASRock Edition*
"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe." ― Carl Sagan
"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." ― Christopher Hitchens
"The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it." ― Neil deGrasse Tyson


kennyparker1337 is offline  
post #26 of 9903 (permalink) Old 01-25-2012, 12:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sherman9800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Thanks for that. I might look into getting a new power supply. Possibly a silver or gold 750w for Crossfire later as well.

Also, I took griffulas' advice and changed the PLL lower to 1.75 and it was much much better. No restarts, boots first try and just needed more voltage to get up to 5.0 Ghz. Worker 4 is always the culprit on prime and I just clocked it back down to 4.6 as that was the last rock solid stable with much lower voltage. Way better temps but once I get a new PSU and push pull typhoons I will give it a try again for a better stable OC.
sherman9800 is offline  
post #27 of 9903 (permalink) Old 01-25-2012, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter
sɪɴɢɪɴɢ ɢᴏᴅᴅᴇss
 
kennyparker1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 35.190.36.24
Posts: 3,356
Rep: 352 (Unique: 304)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherman9800 View Post

Thanks for that. I might look into getting a new power supply. Possibly a silver or gold 750w for Crossfire later as well.

Also, I took griffulas' advice and changed the PLL lower to 1.75 and it was much much better. No restarts, boots first try and just needed more voltage to get up to 5.0 Ghz. Worker 4 is always the culprit on prime and I just clocked it back down to 4.6 as that was the last rock solid stable with much lower voltage. Way better temps but once I get a new PSU and push pull typhoons I will give it a try again for a better stable OC.

If you want a great power supply to last you for at least 2-3 years, get one of these:

Non-modular ($90): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139020

Modular ($125): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139012

Personally unless I could find a cheap used HX650, I would get the non-modular V2 one.

I have more power demand then your setup, and both the TX and HX650 worked fine for me.

Complete Overclocking Guide: Sandy Bridge & Ivy Bridge | *ASRock Edition*
"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe." ― Carl Sagan
"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." ― Christopher Hitchens
"The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it." ― Neil deGrasse Tyson


kennyparker1337 is offline  
post #28 of 9903 (permalink) Old 01-25-2012, 10:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
griffulas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 136
Rep: 6 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherman9800 View Post

Have currently tried 4.8 on 1.40 fixed vcore with Internal PLL enabled, no dice. Wont even post with these settings, but can get 4.7 running prime 95 blend for a bit with 1.35vcore...
Spread spectrum disabled.
LLC Level - 2
My power supply is the less current Corsair TX550 (non modular). I dont have a crazy setup with the HD6870 not being overclocked with a single 10k Raptor drive and a 500GB HDD and 4 fans plus the H60. Could my power supply being running out of juice trying to get those speeds? Its never shown to have been bad before but I save the BIOS settings and it just continually restarts itself with either no power the peripherals or shuts down right away. I have to clear CMOS and start over again. I've looked at the draw on Real Temp and its hovering around 95w which isnt much. VID is 1.3861.

i also hit a brick wall at 4.8, but after using this guide and going from fixed to offset vcore i was able to get to 5ghz no problem so i would try it
ill be posting my bios screens when i get home sometime tonight if that can also be helpful

under 100% load vdroop puts bounces my vcore between 1.486 and 1.520 so it really does need some voltage, but lowering the pll and setting everything but vcore to offset, setting your ram to 1.5x or 1.6x and setting pll to 1.7x should give you some wattage to work with
griffulas is offline  
post #29 of 9903 (permalink) Old 01-25-2012, 03:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cico14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 27
Rep: 0
Been trying to overclock my 2600k. I got it to run stable @ 4.5 GHz and 1.4V, but my max temp while running prime was 97C. For some reason my temps seem really high. I am currently @ 4.2 and 1.25V with a max temp of 75C. Does this sound Okay?

Cico14 is offline  
post #30 of 9903 (permalink) Old 01-25-2012, 03:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
crondable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 41
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cico14 View Post

Been trying to overclock my 2600k. I got it to run stable @ 4.5 GHz and 1.4V, but my max temp while running prime was 97C. For some reason my temps seem really high. I am currently @ 4.2 and 1.25V with a max temp of 75C. Does this sound Okay?

97C is WAY too hot. You should be able to go a LOT lower with your voltages at those speeds. Average for most chips at 4.5 is somewhere between 1.28 and 1.35.

Steam/Origin/XBL: lecrondable
crondable is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off