Complete Overclocking Guide: Sandy Bridge & Ivy Bridge | *ASRock Edition* - Page 991 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

View Poll Results: Was this guide helpful?
Yes (and I DO have an ASRock motherboard). 237 80.07%
Yes (but I DO NOT have an ASRock motherboard). 45 15.20%
No (and I DO have an ASRock motherboard). 7 2.36%
No (but I DO NOT have an ASRock motherboard). 7 2.36%
Voters: 296. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

Complete Overclocking Guide: Sandy Bridge & Ivy Bridge | *ASRock Edition*

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9901 of 9907 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 10:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
deepor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4,716
Rep: 472 (Unique: 318)
Quote: Originally Posted by PauliePeanuts View Post
@DarthFK or anyone else here paying attention to this thread... I no longer can get into my bios, and I am not sure why.. i click f2/del, but it just bypasses and goes right into windows... I read there is an option under settings to restart into UFEFI , but my windows doesn't have that option displayed.. no idea what to do..
Do you actually use UEFI boot or do you use "Legacy" = "BIOS" boot? If you don't use UEFI there's no such option to reboot into the UEFI/BIOS menus in Windows. You know that you use UEFI boot if you can see a 100MB sized partition with a text "EFI System" in the Disk Management tool in Windows.

If you do use UEFI, this kind of thing is caused by enabling a "fast boot" option somewhere in the UEFI/BIOS menus. At boot it will then not look for the keyboard and will instead go into Windows immediately. There should be a way to make the UEFI/BIOS boot with its default, slower mode where it will look for the keyboard. I don't know how to trigger this, but what I would try is disconnecting power for the whole PC for something like ten seconds.

If you do not use UEFI, then maybe your problem is that the UEFI/BIOS can't detect your keyboard at boot. Did you change something about that recently? Like, are you using a different keyboard? Or did you connect it to a different USB port? I've seen motherboards where only PS/2 keyboard were guaranteed to work, and USB keyboard were often problematic, especially gaming stuff with "n-key roll-over" over USB.

This keyboard problem idea could of course also hit you when using UEFI boot, so the keyboard not being detected is always something to think about.
deepor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9902 of 9907 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 03:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by PauliePeanuts View Post
@DarthFK or anyone else here paying attention to this thread... I no longer can get into my bios, and I am not sure why.. i click f2/del, but it just bypasses and goes right into windows... I read there is an option under settings to restart into UFEFI , but my windows doesn't have that option displayed.. no idea what to do..

Try shutdown /r /f /t 0 /fw at the command prompt, or if you are using an asrock mobo download restart2uefi from their website
aflack is offline  
post #9903 of 9907 (permalink) Old 04-03-2019, 01:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 119
Rep: 0
When i look in system info, it says my bios is legacy mode.. Is that something I should change? I got it to work by resetting the bios with the jumper , Im not sure what happened. I was always able to get into the bios using the F2 key.. I might have shut off legacy USB in bios, maybe that is what disabled it? Not sure. It seems to be working now after the CMOS clear with the jumper.. I see USB legacy is now enabled by default.. I think someone recommended i turned that off to help trouble shoot some issues with my VR headset.
PauliePeanuts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9904 of 9907 (permalink) Old 06-29-2019, 11:49 AM
pel
New to Overclock.net
 
pel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 71
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I try to change offset voltage on bios and it wont change,it will not update, i can only change it via Asrock Extreme Tunner in windows
pel is offline  
post #9905 of 9907 (permalink) Old 06-29-2019, 12:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 229
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by pel View Post
I try to change offset voltage on bios and it wont change,it will not update, i can only change it via Asrock Extreme Tunner in windows
Sorry everyone whom I didn't reply previously - was away and them moved to another apartment. Still navigating between boxes. As I said earlier I will leave this thread soon.

Anyway, before that:

pel, what's the exact model of the board, BIOS revision and CPU?

P.S. i might reply only sporadically due the the move-in.

I am your father?
DarthFK is offline  
post #9906 of 9907 (permalink) Old 06-29-2019, 03:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
deepor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4,716
Rep: 472 (Unique: 318)
@DarthFK : You might want to know that there's a terrible bug right now on overclock.net when people are posting with a smartphone browser. For people browsing with a desktop PC, in your post the "s" and "S" letters disappear and are replaced by strange codes "& # 1 1 5 ;" and "& # 8 3 ;", making things very hard to read. This only shows up for people using desktop browsers, you can't see it on the smartphone.

You can check out the problem on your smartphone as well if you choose "show desktop site" in your browser's menu. You'll then see the same broken text that's showing up on a desktop browser.
deepor is offline  
post #9907 of 9907 (permalink) Old 06-29-2019, 03:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 229
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Thanks @deepor ! Was on the phone, as I am moving into another apartment. Will re-write right away from a laptop:

Quote: Originally Posted by pel View Post
I try to change offset voltage on bios and it wont change,it will not update, i can only change it via Asrock Extreme Tunner in windows
Sorry everyone whom I didn't reply to previously - was away and then moved to another apartment. Still navigating between boxes As I said earlier I will leave this thread soon. Anyway, before that:

@pel , what's the exact model of the board, BIOS revision and CPU?

P.S. i might reply only sporadically due to the move-in.

I am your father?
DarthFK is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off