Discovery made in Stopping dreaded random x101 and x124 BSOD! READ THIS THREAD! ( Even pesky random monthly or yearly x124 or x101 BSOD's) - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Discovery made in Stopping dreaded random x101 and x124 BSOD! READ THIS THREAD! ( Even pesky random monthly or yearly x124 or x101 BSOD's)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-13-2012, 06:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
153D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 17
Rep: 0
Other than trial and error, is there a surefire way to determine if x124 is QPI/VTT or Vcore related?

153D is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-13-2012, 06:54 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
pent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 870
Rep: 40 (Unique: 37)
Quote:
Originally Posted by IJAHman View Post

This was my 2nd time around running test 1344 & 1792 at 90% of ram (passed the first test) the only difference(this time) is I let it continue testing stability even though I passed 1344 & 1792 for 20mins in the 1st loop for primary testing.
though I eally need to up my voltage by .005v (right now at +.0035v) or it's just the way how PRIME95 works?(I mean 1st test you will pass the next time not).

No it signals instability it may have taken a second time to catch it due to the length of the stress test but prime should not BSOD as it signals a problem. And X101 is VCORE. x124 can be memory related or VCORE. but More VCORE should help the x101.

Life is a series of 1's and 0's. biggrin.gif
pent is offline  
post #23 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-13-2012, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
pent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 870
Rep: 40 (Unique: 37)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 153D View Post

Other than trial and error, is there a surefire way to determine if x124 is QPI/VTT or Vcore related?

Well if it occurs under high CPU load then it could be VCORE. If your getting x124 when your browsing in firefox or doing something that isnt really much of a CPU intensive task then it can more likely be Memory related.

Life is a series of 1's and 0's. biggrin.gif
pent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-14-2012, 10:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
IJAHman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 46
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pent View Post

No it signals instability it may have taken a second time to catch it due to the length of the stress test but prime should not BSOD as it signals a problem. And X101 is VCORE. x124 can be memory related or VCORE. but More VCORE should help the x101.

can I run torture test in prime95 for just 5mins per iteration? so that I can complete it with just 6hrs? Is it ACCEPTABLE?
IJAHman is offline  
post #25 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-14-2012, 09:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
pent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 870
Rep: 40 (Unique: 37)
Quote:
Originally Posted by IJAHman View Post

can I run torture test in prime95 for just 5mins per iteration? so that I can complete it with just 6hrs? Is it ACCEPTABLE?

Id be more comfortable with 10 minutes.

Life is a series of 1's and 0's. biggrin.gif
pent is offline  
post #26 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-14-2012, 10:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
IJAHman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 46
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Hey Pent! I'd set My BIOS to 4.7ghz but still having trouble with some thread running P95 1344 & 1792 (RAM @ 90%) in 15mins per Iterations.

here's my settings :
clock : 4.7
pll overvoltage : enabled
speedstep : enabled
turbo limit : manual
short : 250
long : 250
Core current limit : 250
spread spectrum : disabled

Vcore : offset (0.105v)
DRam Voltage : 1.529 (default)
pll voltage : 1.709v
vtt ; auto

temps
max TEMP at RealTemp at 68c

voltages
BIOS : 1.368, 1.376, 1.384 voltages
CPU-Z (under load) 1.360, 1.680, 1.376, 1.384 sometimes it's just 1.344v (is this normal voltages, not having stable or sticking to one or two kinds of voltages?)

Questions :
* what should I tweak? add vcore (note that I'm already at .105v at offset settings and temps are high too)
* should I set my VTT to 1.122 or 1.131v (currently at AUTO)
* should I decrease or increase my PLL Voltage (Currently at manual : 1.709v)
What would be the solution of THREAD ERROR in PRIME95?
Thank you!

IJAHman is offline  
post #27 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-15-2012, 01:05 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
pent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 870
Rep: 40 (Unique: 37)
Quote:
Originally Posted by IJAHman View Post

Hey Pent! I'd set My BIOS to 4.7ghz but still having trouble with some thread running P95 1344 & 1792 (RAM @ 90%) in 15mins per Iterations.
here's my settings :
clock : 4.7
pll overvoltage : enabled
speedstep : enabled
turbo limit : manual
short : 250
long : 250
Core current limit : 250
spread spectrum : disabled
Vcore : offset (0.105v)
DRam Voltage : 1.529 (default)
pll voltage : 1.709v
vtt ; auto
temps
max TEMP at RealTemp at 68c
voltages
BIOS : 1.368, 1.376, 1.384 voltages
CPU-Z (under load) 1.360, 1.680, 1.376, 1.384 sometimes it's just 1.344v (is this normal voltages, not having stable or sticking to one or two kinds of voltages?)
Questions :
* what should I tweak? add vcore (note that I'm already at .105v at offset settings and temps are high too)
* should I set my VTT to 1.122 or 1.131v (currently at AUTO)
* should I decrease or increase my PLL Voltage (Currently at manual : 1.709v)
What would be the solution of THREAD ERROR in PRIME95?
Thank you!


Try Auto PLL Voltage or set it to 1.796 which is the default my mobo has.

Life is a series of 1's and 0's. biggrin.gif
pent is offline  
post #28 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-16-2012, 12:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
IJAHman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 46
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I've ran P95 for overnight at 10mins per iteration and at 90% of my RAM. Everything was quiet stable unitl FFT 288 (that was about 10 hrs 53 mins). So I stop the torture test and raise my vcore to a notch (.005v).
But running again from the start would consume a lot time in me since I've got of a lot videos to edit. So my idea was to manually torture every single FFT left with the same settings I used..starting from 288 FFT down to 4096 FFT (w/c is the last TEST) which is about 8 FFT tests. (not sure, 8 or 9 left)
My question is :
My idea of MANUAL TORTURE TEST, is it acceptable?
Is it still the same way how p95 test?
pls help.
IJAHman is offline  
post #29 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-16-2012, 12:59 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
pent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 870
Rep: 40 (Unique: 37)
Quote:
Originally Posted by IJAHman View Post

I've ran P95 for overnight at 10mins per iteration and at 90% of my RAM. Everything was quiet stable unitl FFT 288 (that was about 10 hrs 53 mins). So I stop the torture test and raise my vcore to a notch (.005v).
But running again from the start would consume a lot time in me since I've got of a lot videos to edit. So my idea was to manually torture every single FFT left with the same settings I used..starting from 288 FFT down to 4096 FFT (w/c is the last TEST) which is about 8 FFT tests. (not sure, 8 or 9 left)
My question is :
My idea of MANUAL TORTURE TEST, is it acceptable?
Is it still the same way how p95 test?
pls help.

Well if you managed to get 10 hours thru a slight bump in vcore could seal the deal as long as its a vcore issue and not RAM . If your busy then a manual test following up from the missed FFT Could work. Why not just run prime95 at night when you sleep? thats what i do. Its a much better feeling of satisfaction and reassurance when you re-run the full test as its confirmed its stable.

Life is a series of 1's and 0's. biggrin.gif
pent is offline  
post #30 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-16-2012, 01:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
IJAHman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 46
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pent View Post

Well if you managed to get 10 hours thru a slight bump in vcore could seal the deal as long as its a vcore issue and not RAM . If your busy then a manual test following up from the missed FFT Could work. Why not just run prime95 at night when you sleep? thats what i do. Its a much better feeling of satisfaction and reassurance when you re-run the full test as its confirmed its stable.

Except for running P95 from the start would take a lot of my time..the other things id my ELECTRICITY BILL! bulb.gifbiggrin.gif lol.
But as long as its acceptable running P95 manually for the remaining tests left, that would be FINE for me thumb.gif
IJAHman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off