Ivy Bridge Overclocking Guide ? Asus Motherboards - Page 81 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Ivy Bridge Overclocking Guide ? Asus Motherboards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #801 of 7083 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 01:59 PM
TotallydubbedHD on YT
 
Totally Dubbed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Somewhere in England - Sway
Posts: 11,370
Rep: 626 (Unique: 349)
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonDutch View Post

i know youre asking Swag but,
if you calculated that like this,
lowest voltages, 1.264 - 1.2209 = 0.043
highest voltages 1.272 - 1.2260 = 0.046
0.045V offset prolly would have been enough already,
instead of 0.0511..
i lower it till it gets unstable again, then up 1 or 2 notches smile.gif
gratz on the 24H stable thumb.gif

I went for 0.045 bro - see my edit biggrin.gif!
Thanks for the input regardless! +reped


Totally Dubbed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #802 of 7083 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 02:09 PM
TotallydubbedHD on YT
 
Totally Dubbed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Somewhere in England - Sway
Posts: 11,370
Rep: 626 (Unique: 349)
UPDATE 07/02/13:
1. An explanation on offset can be found - Here

2. After folding 24/7 I had a BSOD with my +0.045 offset, and thus went back to manual to 1.27v (upped 1 notch from 1.265v) -> the reason behind this is because folding and prime 95 had DIFFERENT VID values. As I don't run prime everyday, unlike folding - I will take my folding value and apply that offset, which is +0.070v

Here's what I had before:

Full BIOS settings for my 4.5ghz OC - Stable (RAM has been changing in quantity from 12GB to 16GB due to me testing a stick):

Pics include, manual voltage & offset used.
VID on 100% load: 1.2209 & 1.2260

Vcore Manual: 1.265
Vcore Offset: +0.045

EDIT:
Here's my CPU-Z Validation too:
http://valid.canardpc.com/2719966

BIOS:











Prim 95 screenshots:

Settings:



Benchmarks




Totally Dubbed is offline  
post #803 of 7083 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 03:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Porto Alegre - BRA
Posts: 382
Rep: 13 (Unique: 13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Totally Dubbed View Post

Full BIOS settings for my 4.5ghz OC - Stable (RAM has been changing in quantity from 12GB to 16GB due to me testing a stick):
Pics include, manual voltage & offset used.
VID on 100% load: 1.2209 & 1.2260
Vcore Manual: 1.265
Vcore Offset: +0.045
BIOS:

We have the same chip,same mb, same vcore, almost same settings (no offset here), same temps (highest core at 92ºC).

But i have an antec 620, with 2 viper-x push pull (pulling from case)... ambient temp around 26-28. Whats your ambient temp?
Carlos Hilgert Ferrari is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #804 of 7083 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 03:09 PM
TotallydubbedHD on YT
 
Totally Dubbed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Somewhere in England - Sway
Posts: 11,370
Rep: 626 (Unique: 349)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos Hilgert Ferrari View Post

We have the same chip,same mb, same vcore, almost same settings (no offset here), same temps (highest core at 92ºC).
But i have an antec 620, with 2 viper-x push pull (pulling from case)... ambient temp around 26-28. Whats your ambient temp?

higher here - 30-32 here smile.gif

and cool !


Totally Dubbed is offline  
post #805 of 7083 (permalink) Old 11-05-2012, 10:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
stellamonster7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 117
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyder66 View Post

Hello,
I followed the guide and I set the multipler to 48 and the CPU Voltage ► Offset Mode ► Auto, and in windows vcore in full load is 1,549, cpuVID 1.3010. Not too much the vcore?


@Swag....hey I've been crazy busy for a while, my kid is running crazy and growing fast, so much that I can't keep up here, but I think we need to find a way to better explain the target concept of finding a stable Vcore and then approaching offset if folks want to learn and use that.

pretty sure on page 1, the guide does say to set to Auto Vcore and Auto Offset. That's dangerous for most people that don't realize that's just your mobos wild guess targeting from Intel VID policy and of course it will run you into the red if you don't understand that quickly. I'll PM you and see if my teaching skills will allow us to make some kind of creative outline to bring in the concept. any others are welcome to add and I'll PM you with Swag if you want to work on it. I think this is a great guide, I think it's just missing that concept about finding the stable Vcore first by manual and that's a HUGE item to miss based on Auto offset's wild guess because I see a lot of people make a post like this and I think we can cover it upfront in stead of correcting potential fatal voltages and degradation and all. biggrin.gif
stellamonster7 is offline  
post #806 of 7083 (permalink) Old 11-05-2012, 11:28 AM
Totally Dubbed is offline  
post #807 of 7083 (permalink) Old 11-05-2012, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Swag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Calgary in the Land of Moose
Posts: 4,955
Rep: 290 (Unique: 201)
Quote:
Originally Posted by stellamonster7 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyder66 View Post

Hello,
I followed the guide and I set the multipler to 48 and the CPU Voltage ► Offset Mode ► Auto, and in windows vcore in full load is 1,549, cpuVID 1.3010. Not too much the vcore?


@Swag....hey I've been crazy busy for a while, my kid is running crazy and growing fast, so much that I can't keep up here, but I think we need to find a way to better explain the target concept of finding a stable Vcore and then approaching offset if folks want to learn and use that.

pretty sure on page 1, the guide does say to set to Auto Vcore and Auto Offset. That's dangerous for most people that don't realize that's just your mobos wild guess targeting from Intel VID policy and of course it will run you into the red if you don't understand that quickly. I'll PM you and see if my teaching skills will allow us to make some kind of creative outline to bring in the concept. any others are welcome to add and I'll PM you with Swag if you want to work on it. I think this is a great guide, I think it's just missing that concept about finding the stable Vcore first by manual and that's a HUGE item to miss based on Auto offset's wild guess because I see a lot of people make a post like this and I think we can cover it upfront in stead of correcting potential fatal voltages and degradation and all. biggrin.gif

Just PM me. I'm in the middle of trying to do a lot of things and originally wanted to edit the OP a long time ago but I was too lazy. tongue.gif


Swag is offline  
post #808 of 7083 (permalink) Old 11-06-2012, 12:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,608
Rep: 69 (Unique: 60)
I can't seem to reach 4.7GHz even with 1.4V, would increasing my PLL from 1.7-1.8V get me there? Still using iGPU, that will soon change come middle of month!
Systemlord is offline  
post #809 of 7083 (permalink) Old 11-06-2012, 01:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ChaosAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 673
Rep: 40 (Unique: 36)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Systemlord View Post

I can't seem to reach 4.7GHz even with 1.4V, would increasing my PLL from 1.7-1.8V get me there? Still using iGPU, that will soon change come middle of month!

I can run up to 5ghz with 1.4v PLL and mem at 2133. I might need more for 2400 but i ll try this weekend. It doesnt harm to try and play will different PLL values. It works like vcore. All cpus are not the same. But afaik it doent help to reduce required vcore for a certain speed.

Pure Dark TJ07
(17 items)
CPU
[email protected] - 1.34v
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero
GPU
Palit GTX 1060 6Gb Super JetStream
RAM
Gskill Trident Z RBG 2x8Gb 3600C16 @ 4000C17
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo 250Gb
Hard Drive
WD Red 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 850W
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm
Cooling
ThermoChill PA120.3 - 3xAP15
Cooling
Swiftech MCP655V - EK Top
Case
TJ07 Full Matte Black (Modded)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Samsung S27A850D (2560x1440)
Keyboard
Logitech G Pro
Mouse
Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Audio
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Audio
Εpoz Aktimate Mini on IsoAcoustics
▲ hide details ▲


ChaosAD is offline  
post #810 of 7083 (permalink) Old 11-06-2012, 03:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
spyder66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Transylvania (Romania)
Posts: 34
Rep: 0
Finally succeeded. 4.4 Ghz 1.264 Vcore, 1,650 CPU PLL
spyder66 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off