What is the official max temperature of the i7 4770k? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

What is the official max temperature of the i7 4770k?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2013, 10:42 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TheEnergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,370
Rep: 25 (Unique: 21)
Is there one released by Intel yet?

I see everyone say "anything above 80C is too hot" for them, and most say around 90C -100C the CPU thermal throttles....

...but this doesn't seem very solidified nor factual...

is there official #'s from intel or are the aforementioned numbers correct?


TheEnergy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2013, 10:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
seross69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,999
Rep: 224 (Unique: 145)
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxAlbertoxX View Post

Is there one released by Intel yet?

I see everyone say "anything above 80C is too hot" for them, and most say around 90C -100C the CPU thermal throttles....

...but this doesn't seem very solidified nor factual...

is there official #'s from intel or are the aforementioned numbers correct?

yes there would be numbers on the data sheet for the processor. just need to go to intel and find this.

No trees were harmed in the sending of this message. However, a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced

Build Log Ukrainian Banderas devil.gifgunner2.gifgunner.gifsniper.gif

Just playing with cooling and Computers
seross69 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2013, 10:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ghostrider85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,386
Rep: 329 (Unique: 273)
105C according to intel, it will throttle after that.



ghostrider85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2013, 11:03 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TheEnergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,370
Rep: 25 (Unique: 21)
The tcase is listed at 72.72

http://ark.intel.com/products/75123/

So why the heck has every review video for overclocking and even on the AIDA64 FAQ was telling me that it was safe to go up to 80's and the CPU wouldn't even thermal throttle until 90s or 100?


???


TheEnergy is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2013, 11:18 PM
Enthusiast
 
Takla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 735
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxAlbertoxX View Post

The tcase is listed at 72.72

http://ark.intel.com/products/75123/

So why the heck has every review video for overclocking and even on the AIDA64 FAQ was telling me that it was safe to go up to 80's and the CPU wouldn't even thermal throttle until 90s or 100?


???

because they can take it

Micron E-die Memory Timings Cheat Sheet
Computer #2
(9 items)
Computer #1
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair 6 Hero (Bios 7401)
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 4GB
RAM
DDR4 2x8GB @3800MHz Micron E-die (19nm)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Case
Streacom BC1 Benchtable
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro Build 18912
Monitor
LG 29WK600-W @30-76Hz FreeSync
CPU
Intel i5 3570k
Motherboard
Asus Z77-A
GPU
Asus Radeon R9 280X DirectCU II
RAM
DDR3 4x4GB @1600MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Takla is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-22-2013, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TheEnergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,370
Rep: 25 (Unique: 21)
Oh and from what I am reading now , Tcase if different from the core temperatures.

So from what people are saying ,even if the CPU hits 100C, Tcase will still not me 72.72 at the IMC.


TheEnergy is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-22-2013, 10:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ghostrider85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,386
Rep: 329 (Unique: 273)
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxAlbertoxX View Post

Oh and from what I am reading now , Tcase if different from the core temperatures.

So from what people are saying ,even if the CPU hits 100C, Tcase will still not me 72.72 at the IMC.

yes. install coretemp and you will see the "TJ.MAX", that is your max temp.




ghostrider85 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off