[OFFICIAL] 775 to 771 mod Club! - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[OFFICIAL] 775 to 771 mod Club!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 971 (permalink) Old 11-13-2013, 06:49 AM
I like computers
 
Aaron_Henderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 7,546
Rep: 309 (Unique: 251)
I wish I could help with the BIOS modding, but a 4GHz 5450 is very nice thumb.gif

* Dell T3500 motherboard - Xeon W3570 3.86-4.0Ghz - 10GB RAM - Gigabyte R9 290X Windforce 4GB - Corsair Carbide Spec-01 - Corsair CX600 - CoolIt ECO 120 AIO - Corsair 120GB SSD - 1TB HDD - Corsair Katar - QCK+ Limited - Ajazz AK33 - Acer H233H 71Hz 1080P 75Hz 720P - Kinter MA-170 - Yamaha 6" monitors

* HP Z400 motherboard - Xeon W3565 3.45GHz - 8GB RAM - Gigabyte GTX 770 Windforce 2GB - DeepCool Dukase White - Corsair VS450 - DeepCool Gammaxx 300 - 256GB SSD - 320GB HDD
Aaron_Henderson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 971 (permalink) Old 11-13-2013, 09:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
doyet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Louisburg, NC USA
Posts: 18
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Hey g3p0, Well, I am kinda still trying to figure this out, myself. You Do indeed have the latest BIOS release. I downloaded the .rom zipfile from this page: http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/P5Q_PRO/#support then extracted and opened with HxD (hex editor) . Searched for your CPUID - I believe that you should be able to delete a KNOWN CPUID and replace with the microcode from an ASUS (as similar as possible) BIOS for your Xeon. You may also have to resize the BIOS .rom or it will give you CRC errors.

If I stumble into any better info or tutorial then I will be sure to come back and post.

Sorry if I have any wrong info in here. FEEL FREE to help out, guys.

EDIT* Okay, I saw a guy on another forum that updated his ASUS BIOS using MMTOOL v3.19 and patched it with the latest Intel microcode. I do happen to have the microcode in this update: www.wholesale-pc.com/microcode-20130906.tgz ... MMTOOL should be easy to find. GOOD LUCK and update us on the progress.
doyet is offline  
post #23 of 971 (permalink) Old 11-13-2013, 03:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
g3p0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 85
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Got it! -link-
Thanks, now it's officially an unauthorized 771 board, now if I could just rewire the socket itself instead of sticking some tape in there.

Have a Xeon 771 in your 775 motherboard? Working or not please take a minute to fill out the form and submit your modded bios file.

Share your results, include a link to a CPU-Z verification, upload your bios

771 supporting 775 boards and bios list


post-flame-small.gif****I put a 771 chip in mah 775 slocket!****post-flame-small.gif

g3p0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 971 (permalink) Old 11-13-2013, 05:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
thelace43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
X5260 working in an ASRock G41C-GS!
thelace43 is offline  
post #25 of 971 (permalink) Old 11-20-2013, 09:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kitchener,Ontario
Posts: 1,186
Rep: 47 (Unique: 40)
I found myself a E5450 and plugged it into the xfx 680i lt board I have replacing the E6550 core 2 duo.

Just getting those pins swapped was a pain. I had enough and just risked it. Tomorrow I'll up the picture that I took of the connection. Good news was that it booted and the bios recognized it. Gotta place everything back to run it longer though.

Stevo is offline  
post #26 of 971 (permalink) Old 11-23-2013, 03:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
NeoT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 98
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Successfully modded x3353 on Intel DG41RQ:biggrin.gif


Its a Yorkfield-cl CPU, but CPU-z shows X5430 harpertown. rolleyes.gif

Win 7 thinks its I7

Total expenditure to upgrade the HW:
Mother board - $20 (locally)
x3353 - $10 from Canada
NeoT is offline  
post #27 of 971 (permalink) Old 11-23-2013, 06:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Vanquished's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 151
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoT View Post

Successfully modded x3353 on Intel DG41RQ:biggrin.gif


Its a Yorkfield-cl CPU, but CPU-z shows X5430 harpertown. rolleyes.gif

Win 7 thinks its I7

Total expenditure to upgrade the HW:
Mother board - $20 (locally)
x3353 - $10 from Canada

That's great that it worked in a generic board. Did you need to update the bios or have you tried to yet?

LGA 1155 Owners Club


Vanquished is offline  
post #28 of 971 (permalink) Old 11-23-2013, 06:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
NeoT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 98
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanquished View Post

That's great that it worked in a generic board. Did you need to update the bios or have you tried to yet?

No I didn't update the BIOS. It seems the motherboard came with latest BIOS.
NeoT is offline  
post #29 of 971 (permalink) Old 11-23-2013, 12:33 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,849
Can anybody show me where I can get a sticker or two?

DisposalAreav4.0
(15 items)
BeigeBox
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.4GHz, 1.33v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
GPU
Asus RX580 8GB @ 1400 / 2150
RAM
Kingston HyperX (4x4GB) @ DDR3-1600, 8-9-8-24-1T
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB + Sandisk Ultra 240GB RAID0
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 3.5"
Power Supply
PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKIII 950w
Cooling
CoolerMaster 240mm
Case
DIY PC Cuboid Blue mATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23" 1080p / 60Hz
Keyboard
Redragon 10 keyless
Mouse
Logitech Optical Mouse USB
Mousepad
Generic Onn Black
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 120GB SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 2.5" RAID0 1TB (500x2)
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Philips 32" Roku TV
Keyboard
Logitech K400R
Mouse
Logitech K400R
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
TV Speakers / Monoprice Headphones
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #30 of 971 (permalink) Old 11-23-2013, 04:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
g3p0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 85
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
This guy seems to have an abundance of them, but holy crap on the mark-up...
Sticker guy on Ebay

I would suggest asking around in the Socket mod thread

Have a Xeon 771 in your 775 motherboard? Working or not please take a minute to fill out the form and submit your modded bios file.

Share your results, include a link to a CPU-Z verification, upload your bios

771 supporting 775 boards and bios list


post-flame-small.gif****I put a 771 chip in mah 775 slocket!****post-flame-small.gif

g3p0 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off