[OFFICIAL] 775 to 771 mod Club! - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[OFFICIAL] 775 to 771 mod Club!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 971 (permalink) Old 11-29-2013, 07:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Niles, IL
Posts: 70
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
http://valid.canardpc.com/9jzxyw

Asus Striker Extreme running an x5460 OCed to 3.66

I had to get a modded BIOS but it worked great after that. It did boot into windows fine without the BIOS but I couldn't OC it without it.
gsmith2885 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 971 (permalink) Old 11-29-2013, 08:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
NeoT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 98
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
NeoT is offline  
post #33 of 971 (permalink) Old 12-02-2013, 02:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RippedTee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Hi all, my first post after a lengthy review. Great work to all contributors.
I picked up a E5440 xeon and an adapter on ebay and very quickly upgraded an asus PK5 green board to a quad CPU for ~$50. Nice!
Now I have a few optiplex 755's that I want to mod. I bit the bullet and bought another E5440 and adapter but it doesn't work. I confirmed that it works on the PK5 board. I'm running the latest bios A22. The computer power light is amber instead of amber (~1sec) then green. No post beeps, nothing on screen, etc. Is this an issue of needing to get the bios cpu codes modified in the A22 bios (if that is possible with this bios) or is there another issue that I am over looking?
Thanks in advance for your help.
RT
RippedTee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 971 (permalink) Old 12-02-2013, 03:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RippedTee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
FYI - I moved this from the general Intel CPU section. I'm finishing up a conversation there at the moment then I'll drop it.
Thanks
RippedTee is offline  
post #35 of 971 (permalink) Old 12-02-2013, 03:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
doyet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Louisburg, NC USA
Posts: 18
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RippedTee View Post

FYI - I moved this from the general Intel CPU section. I'm finishing up a conversation there at the moment then I'll drop it.
Thanks


Hey hey, I have been playing in a DELL BIOS for awhile now. It is actually pretty easy to extract .HDR and edit it in HxD with new microcode. Also fixing CRCs is a breeze. THE PROBLEM I AM HAVING IS: there is no 48 byte header in the microcode- so no date, plat_, etc.

I believe there may be another set of 4 bytes somewhere in the BIOS that allows 771 usage.

I have a few 755s as well. If you have luck then I may jump over to those ( I am trying a Precision T3400) but I suspect that our BIOS will be very similar.

http://wholesale-pc.com/opti755mod.zip
doyet is offline  
post #36 of 971 (permalink) Old 12-02-2013, 04:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RippedTee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Doyet, are you getting the T3400 to post with the 771 CPU? I can't get to post with the 771 cpu installed.
RippedTee is offline  
post #37 of 971 (permalink) Old 12-02-2013, 04:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
doyet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Louisburg, NC USA
Posts: 18
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Yep, the Optiplex 755 is very much like the Precision T3400. The offset 0054-F0053 in the .HDR is the .ROM location - and immediately after is the 4 bytes for the CRC check. Originally 09 2D 52 06 and changed to E1 0F 71 3D. CRC checks good. Made Windows silent installer with DCCU. Let it run and it reboots itself after a minute or 2. My fingers are crossed. I don't think it will brick it but may make you find an older Core2 or PentD to boot with tongue.gif Don't be scared.

** after extracting the file be sure to run as administrator in Windows. It looks like it is doing nothing so eat a sandwich and just let it reboot.
doyet is offline  
post #38 of 971 (permalink) Old 12-03-2013, 01:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
g3p0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 85
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
We're working on a spreadsheet, it is unfinished and requires data and bios files.
If you have a 771 working on a 775 board PM me with the board, cpu, and attach the bios file..
I will update the sheet periodically and hopefully help to clean things up here.
If you are interested in helping maintain the spreadsheet PM me and I will set you up with permissions

Here's the link to the submission form and spreadsheet, comments and suggestions welcome.

Share your results, include a link to a CPU-Z verification, upload your bios

771 supporting 775 boards and bios list

Have a Xeon 771 in your 775 motherboard? Working or not please take a minute to fill out the form and submit your modded bios file.

Share your results, include a link to a CPU-Z verification, upload your bios

771 supporting 775 boards and bios list


post-flame-small.gif****I put a 771 chip in mah 775 slocket!****post-flame-small.gif

g3p0 is offline  
post #39 of 971 (permalink) Old 12-03-2013, 08:07 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,849
Going to try mine out tonight. X5460 in my sig rig motherboard, using latest official BIOS. Let's see if that works. If not, I'll try a modded BIOS somebody was kind enough to PM me (I'll thank them via PM once I dig it back up). I'll post updates. smile.gif

DisposalAreav4.0
(15 items)
BeigeBox
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.4GHz, 1.33v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
GPU
Asus RX580 8GB @ 1400 / 2150
RAM
Kingston HyperX (4x4GB) @ DDR3-1600, 8-9-8-24-1T
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB + Sandisk Ultra 240GB RAID0
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 3.5"
Power Supply
PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKIII 950w
Cooling
CoolerMaster 240mm
Case
DIY PC Cuboid Blue mATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23" 1080p / 60Hz
Keyboard
Redragon 10 keyless
Mouse
Logitech Optical Mouse USB
Mousepad
Generic Onn Black
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 120GB SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 2.5" RAID0 1TB (500x2)
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Philips 32" Roku TV
Keyboard
Logitech K400R
Mouse
Logitech K400R
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
TV Speakers / Monoprice Headphones
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #40 of 971 (permalink) Old 12-04-2013, 12:00 AM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,849
If we're keeping track anywhere, my Gigabyte 965p DS3 rev 3.3 board worked right out of the box with the latest official BIOS and my X5460. Working on overclocks now.

DisposalAreav4.0
(15 items)
BeigeBox
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.4GHz, 1.33v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
GPU
Asus RX580 8GB @ 1400 / 2150
RAM
Kingston HyperX (4x4GB) @ DDR3-1600, 8-9-8-24-1T
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB + Sandisk Ultra 240GB RAID0
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 3.5"
Power Supply
PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKIII 950w
Cooling
CoolerMaster 240mm
Case
DIY PC Cuboid Blue mATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23" 1080p / 60Hz
Keyboard
Redragon 10 keyless
Mouse
Logitech Optical Mouse USB
Mousepad
Generic Onn Black
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 120GB SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 2.5" RAID0 1TB (500x2)
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Philips 32" Roku TV
Keyboard
Logitech K400R
Mouse
Logitech K400R
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
TV Speakers / Monoprice Headphones
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off