[OFFICIAL] 775 to 771 mod Club! - Page 70 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[OFFICIAL] 775 to 771 mod Club!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 971 (permalink) Old 08-01-2015, 03:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ade360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 39
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Not sure where to post this! So i thought here, if somebody could update what's needed. Thanks.

I now have an E5440 slans c0 working with an ASUS P5K SE/EPU! Hurray.

No OCing yet. Let you know when i work out what to do?

CPU: Xeon E5440 SLANS C0
Mobo: GA-EP43-S3LR
RAM: 8GB PC6400 (DDR2 800) 6-6-6-18, 1.8v
Video: NVIDIA 8800GTX OC
PSU: ACE A-700BR 700W Single 12V rail @ 34A O(Changing as this broke - 18 mnths)
HSF: ID-Cooling SE 204K single fan
Cooling: Coolmaster JetFlo 120mm PWM – reduced to silent mode! Crappy 80cm intake on side.
Temps: CPU 37°C Idle, 50°C Load
Non OC: 2.83Ghz, FSB 1333, Base Freq/Bus Speed 333, Multiplier 8.5 (6 - 8.5)
OCed: Not there yet!
DRAM Frequency: 400Mhz FSBRAM 5:6
vCore: 1.128 – 1.184
OS: Windows 10 Pro
Ade360 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 971 (permalink) Old 08-02-2015, 11:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
1033ruben's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 115
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ade360 View Post

Not sure where to post this! So i thought here, if somebody could update what's needed. Thanks.

I now have an E5440 slans c0 working with an ASUS P5K SE/EPU! Hurray.

No OCing yet. Let you know when i work out what to do?
thats cool but if i were u i would have bought an E0 stepping one, they overclock a whole lot better i personally have a x5470 overclocked to 4.0 ghz/ 1600 fsb/or 400. for my daily gaming but when i am not gaming i have set to factory. i also have 8gb of crucial ballastix tracer 800mhz overclocked to 1000mhz for my daily gaming on an asrock p5b-de mobo.
RUBEN
1033ruben is offline  
post #693 of 971 (permalink) Old 08-03-2015, 02:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ade360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 39
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1033ruben View Post

thats cool but if i were u i would have bought an E0 stepping one, they overclock a whole lot better i personally have a x5470 overclocked to 4.0 ghz/ 1600 fsb/or 400. for my daily gaming but when i am not gaming i have set to factory. i also have 8gb of crucial ballastix tracer 800mhz overclocked to 1000mhz for my daily gaming on an asrock p5b-de mobo.
RUBEN
Hi Ruben,
When I set out on this course I thought C0/E0 stepping was something to do with the Foxtrot :-)
The rest (e.g. 1600 fsb/400) is a learning curve waiting to happen.
Thanks for the figures. It gives me some idea of where I should be heading.
Now, let's just hope there is no more expenditure. I think the only thing remaining out of the old box is, well, the box!
Thanks.
Ade.

CPU: Xeon E5440 SLANS C0
Mobo: GA-EP43-S3LR
RAM: 8GB PC6400 (DDR2 800) 6-6-6-18, 1.8v
Video: NVIDIA 8800GTX OC
PSU: ACE A-700BR 700W Single 12V rail @ 34A O(Changing as this broke - 18 mnths)
HSF: ID-Cooling SE 204K single fan
Cooling: Coolmaster JetFlo 120mm PWM – reduced to silent mode! Crappy 80cm intake on side.
Temps: CPU 37°C Idle, 50°C Load
Non OC: 2.83Ghz, FSB 1333, Base Freq/Bus Speed 333, Multiplier 8.5 (6 - 8.5)
OCed: Not there yet!
DRAM Frequency: 400Mhz FSBRAM 5:6
vCore: 1.128 – 1.184
OS: Windows 10 Pro
Ade360 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #694 of 971 (permalink) Old 08-03-2015, 05:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
1033ruben's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 115
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ade360 View Post

Hi Ruben,
When I set out on this course I thought C0/E0 stepping was something to do with the Foxtrot :-)
The rest (e.g. 1600 fsb/400) is a learning curve waiting to happen.
Thanks for the figures. It gives me some idea of where I should be heading.
Now, let's just hope there is no more expenditure. I think the only thing remaining out of the old box is, well, the box!
Thanks.
Ade.
not a problem happy to help a fellow modder although not sure what you meant by Foxtrot. you should keep in mind that all systems/rigs overclock differently and as you said the figures should give you a rough idea of where to start.
RUBEN
1033ruben is offline  
post #695 of 971 (permalink) Old 08-03-2015, 01:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ade360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 39
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1033ruben View Post

not a problem happy to help a fellow modder although not sure what you meant by Foxtrot. you should keep in mind that all systems/rigs overclock differently and as you said the figures should give you a rough idea of where to start.
RUBEN
Foxtrot - stepping, dance moves? My poor attempt at humor!
No, I understand about the figures. No two rigs the same.
Just need to get my head around it all now! FSB 1600 equates to 400 - that sort of thing.

CPU: Xeon E5440 SLANS C0
Mobo: GA-EP43-S3LR
RAM: 8GB PC6400 (DDR2 800) 6-6-6-18, 1.8v
Video: NVIDIA 8800GTX OC
PSU: ACE A-700BR 700W Single 12V rail @ 34A O(Changing as this broke - 18 mnths)
HSF: ID-Cooling SE 204K single fan
Cooling: Coolmaster JetFlo 120mm PWM – reduced to silent mode! Crappy 80cm intake on side.
Temps: CPU 37°C Idle, 50°C Load
Non OC: 2.83Ghz, FSB 1333, Base Freq/Bus Speed 333, Multiplier 8.5 (6 - 8.5)
OCed: Not there yet!
DRAM Frequency: 400Mhz FSBRAM 5:6
vCore: 1.128 – 1.184
OS: Windows 10 Pro
Ade360 is offline  
post #696 of 971 (permalink) Old 08-03-2015, 03:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
1033ruben's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 115
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ade360 View Post

Foxtrot - stepping, dance moves? My poor attempt at humor!
No, I understand about the figures. No two rigs the same.
Just need to get my head around it all now! FSB 1600 equates to 400 - that sort of thing.
oh i got it lol my bad i was just focused on technical terms makes a lot more sense now. well if you need any help just write here or if u need so you can PM me.
RUBEN
1033ruben is offline  
post #697 of 971 (permalink) Old 08-19-2015, 01:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Agret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Hi, I have performed the LGA 771 to 775 MOD and got one of the better CPUs, the X5492 but for some reason the CPU is underclocked massively.

How can I get it to run at the stock speed? If I "overclock" it by like 90mhz the system fails to POST and then reboots with factory default settings. Do I need to increase the voltage to run this chip at stock speeds, what's the correct voltage for this chip? I have flashed the board with the latest BIOS that I have modded with the microcode for this CPU, windows is correctly detecting it as the X5492 with 4 cores. Before the microcode update it was detecting it as some other CPU and limiting it to 2 cores.

Here is a screenshot of my mod - http://i.imgur.com/16ct3A1.png, as you can see the FSB and CPU Clock are way lower than they should be.

As you can see by the CPU compatibility list - http://www.gigabyte.com.au/support-downloads/cpu-support-popup.aspx?pid=2321 it supports the Core™ 2 Extreme QX9770 with 3.2GHZ Clock & 1600mhz FSB.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Edit: Here is a link to my BIOS and the modded version I created with the microcode too - https://www.dropbox.com/s/zmpk3vof3p8wtpv/motherboard_bios_ga-965p-s3_f14.rar?dl=0

(¯`·._¤²°°²Agret²°°²¤_.·´¯)
¸.-~·*'˜¨¯Ï”m_†hê_ôñë_åñd_õñl¥_Åg®ê†¨˜'*·~-.¸
Agret is offline  
post #698 of 971 (permalink) Old 08-20-2015, 12:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 303
Rep: 15 (Unique: 15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agret View Post

Hi, I have performed the LGA 771 to 775 MOD and got one of the better CPUs, the X5492 but for some reason the CPU is underclocked massively.

How can I get it to run at the stock speed? If I "overclock" it by like 90mhz the system fails to POST and then reboots with factory default settings. Do I need to increase the voltage to run this chip at stock speeds, what's the correct voltage for this chip? I have flashed the board with the latest BIOS that I have modded with the microcode for this CPU, windows is correctly detecting it as the X5492 with 4 cores. Before the microcode update it was detecting it as some other CPU and limiting it to 2 cores.

Here is a screenshot of my mod - http://i.imgur.com/16ct3A1.png, as you can see the FSB and CPU Clock are way lower than they should be.

As you can see by the CPU compatibility list - http://www.gigabyte.com.au/support-downloads/cpu-support-popup.aspx?pid=2321 it supports the Core™ 2 Extreme QX9770 with 3.2GHZ Clock & 1600mhz FSB.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Edit: Here is a link to my BIOS and the modded version I created with the microcode too - https://www.dropbox.com/s/zmpk3vof3p8wtpv/motherboard_bios_ga-965p-s3_f14.rar?dl=0

Might need to lower the RAM/FSB ratio to allow the FSB to go higher without the RAM speed being too high.

With a 1:1 ratio you should be able to increase the fsb to 333 without overclocking your RAM. Anything beyond 333fsb will be testing how far your 667 RAM can overclock. If your RAM can do 800 you should be able to get the fsb to 400. Might need to loosen RAM timings to get the RAM that high.

MAIN RIG: 3570K 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Z77Extreme4 8GB GSkill 2400 @ 2200 9-11-11-28 1.60v Fractal Design Arc
GTX670 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 480GB-SSD Seasonic X750 G9 6.1 DTS-ES
42S2 1080P Plasma || PLV-Z4 720P Projector 95" Logitech G27 Wheel + Microsim Racing Pod

MAIN OFFICE: G3258 4.6GHz 1.271v H70 Z97-Pro4 8GB 2200MHz 9-10-10-29 1T 1.575v
GTX660 1241/6772 256GB-SSD Antec300-430W Custom Triple Screen 4998x1080 Z5500-5.1

BEDROOM: Q9550 4GHz TRUE Max2Form 4GB 1150MHz 5-5-5-15 2T 1.8v
280GTX 240GB-SSD Thermaltake Case-750W Hanns-G 28" 1200p

unRAID FILE SERVER 21TB: E5200 2GHz 0.88v P43Neo3-F 4GBCorsair 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
20TB-Parity Protected Storage / 1TB-Cache + 2TB-Parity + 10x2TB-Storage

***HEAT***
jason4207 is offline  
post #699 of 971 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 01:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Droidriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 329
Rep: 8 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason4207 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agret View Post

Hi, I have performed the LGA 771 to 775 MOD and got one of the better CPUs, the X5492 but for some reason the CPU is underclocked massively.

How can I get it to run at the stock speed? If I "overclock" it by like 90mhz the system fails to POST and then reboots with factory default settings. Do I need to increase the voltage to run this chip at stock speeds, what's the correct voltage for this chip? I have flashed the board with the latest BIOS that I have modded with the microcode for this CPU, windows is correctly detecting it as the X5492 with 4 cores. Before the microcode update it was detecting it as some other CPU and limiting it to 2 cores.

Here is a screenshot of my mod - http://i.imgur.com/16ct3A1.png, as you can see the FSB and CPU Clock are way lower than they should be.

As you can see by the CPU compatibility list - http://www.gigabyte.com.au/support-downloads/cpu-support-popup.aspx?pid=2321 it supports the Core™ 2 Extreme QX9770 with 3.2GHZ Clock & 1600mhz FSB.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Edit: Here is a link to my BIOS and the modded version I created with the microcode too - https://www.dropbox.com/s/zmpk3vof3p8wtpv/motherboard_bios_ga-965p-s3_f14.rar?dl=0

Might need to lower the RAM/FSB ratio to allow the FSB to go higher without the RAM speed being too high.

With a 1:1 ratio you should be able to increase the fsb to 333 without overclocking your RAM. Anything beyond 333fsb will be testing how far your 667 RAM can overclock. If your RAM can do 800 you should be able to get the fsb to 400. Might need to loosen RAM timings to get the RAM that high.

From what the guys have been telling me, the X5460 and x5470 are the best CPUs to get, they use lower voltage and cost a lot less. Try one of those and I'll bet you'll get a better OC.
Droidriven is offline  
post #700 of 971 (permalink) Old 08-23-2015, 12:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
hurda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 126
Rep: 13 (Unique: 9)
ASUS P5K, BIOS 1201 modded with AHCI-support, E5450 SLBBM E0, reporting for duty. biggrin.gif
hurda is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off