[MOD] LGA775 Support For LGA771 Xeon CPUs - Page 1058 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[MOD] LGA775 Support For LGA771 Xeon CPUs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10571 of 12911 (permalink) Old 10-06-2016, 02:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Revhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 281
Rep: 18 (Unique: 14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuffer View Post

I took the newest from asus 2002

Hope this helps
Asus Striker Extreme 2002 BIOS
Just to make sure we're talking about the same board I took the BIOS from here. Nice looking board by the way
https://www.asus.com/ROG-Republic-Of-Gamers/Striker_Extreme/HelpDesk_Download/

Modded version includes support for all Core 2 Duo and later LGA 775 desktop processors (no Pentium 4 or mobile support) and support for all LGA 771 Xeon processors (except older Pentium 4 based 50xx models)

Striker2002xeon.zip 675k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Striker2002xeon.zip (675.3 KB, 51 views)

Thanks, Revhead
Revhead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10572 of 12911 (permalink) Old 10-06-2016, 08:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revhead View Post

Hope this helps
Asus Striker Extreme 2002 BIOS
Just to make sure we're talking about the same board I took the BIOS from here. Nice looking board by the way
https://www.asus.com/ROG-Republic-Of-Gamers/Striker_Extreme/HelpDesk_Download/

Modded version includes support for all Core 2 Duo and later LGA 775 desktop processors (no Pentium 4 or mobile support) and support for all LGA 771 Xeon processors (except older Pentium 4 based 50xx models)

Striker2002xeon.zip 675k .zip file
Thank you so much. Now it's working :-D
wuffer is offline  
post #10573 of 12911 (permalink) Old 10-06-2016, 11:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuffer View Post

Thank you so much. Now it's working :-D
Too fast. It did only start up one time, I could see it posted xeon 3ghz. Now its back to black screen. Something is definitely wrong. My other cpu works fine
wuffer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10574 of 12911 (permalink) Old 10-07-2016, 05:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SantasDeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 23
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Hello everyone, since I am not sure which Bios I will pick in the end, I wanted to ask if someone could mod the P03 bios for me aswell.
Thank you very much! smile.gif

P7N2BiosA7523NMS.P03.zip 457k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip P7N2BiosA7523NMS.P03.zip (457.4 KB, 2 views)
SantasDeer is offline  
post #10575 of 12911 (permalink) Old 10-07-2016, 06:17 AM
771on775 user,Complainer
 
schuck6566's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,492
Rep: 91 (Unique: 60)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuffer View Post

Too fast. It did only start up one time, I could see it posted xeon 3ghz. Now its back to black screen. Something is definitely wrong. My other cpu works fine
try this page for some advice. smile.gif http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?435200-Asus-Striker-Extreme-Bios-reset-manual-problem-info and https://hardforum.com/threads/ram-for-asus-striker-extreme-mobo.1170647/
schuck6566 is offline  
post #10576 of 12911 (permalink) Old 10-07-2016, 06:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Revhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 281
Rep: 18 (Unique: 14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SantasDeer View Post

Hello everyone, since I am not sure which Bios I will pick in the end, I wanted to ask if someone could mod the P03 bios for me aswell.
Thank you very much! smile.gif

P7N2BiosA7523NMS.P03.zip 457k .zip file

Here you go . . .
A7523NMSP03MOD.zip 464k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip A7523NMSP03MOD.zip (463.6 KB, 19 views)

Thanks, Revhead
Revhead is offline  
post #10577 of 12911 (permalink) Old 10-07-2016, 07:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Revhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 281
Rep: 18 (Unique: 14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by schuck6566 View Post

'K you're gonna have to see if someone else can maybe help ya, I tried the bios & I was stumped.It didn't want to open after being renamed.rolleyes.gif a few peeps like Rev,Best,& a few others are good with them and often help people if the bios file that needs modding/changing is posted here.smile.gif

Hey mate.
What did you try to open it with?
You can't use the MMTool because it's not an AMI BIOS. You have to use the other method, which doesn't involve renaming anything.

Give it another go.
Set yourself up with a folder for each of the two BIOS types with the necessary files. Then each time you do a new BIOS it's just a matter of copying them into the new folder where the new BIOS is located.
Try practising with the BIOS you tried to open. Take it slow and check the result at the end with the command intelmicrocodelist.exe biosname.bin (or whatever the extension is on the end). Note the BIOS doesn't have to end in *.bin. It could be *.rom or something else - it doesn't matter but for the purposes of the example we'll use *.bin.
It sounds complicated but it's really not. After you've done it a few times it's fairly easy unless you get a tricky one that doesn't want to play ball.

Here's the procedure . . .
1. Change the name of file with the 771 and 775 microcodes that you will have downloaded from "ncpucode-lga-771-775-microcode-cpuid-1067x-6Fx.bin" to simply "ncpucode.bin"
2. Open a DOS command window and issue the following commands.
3. attrib +R ncpucode.bin
4. intelmicrocodelist.exe biosname.bin (This will show you the list of existing microcodes - note the dates).
5. cbrom195.exe biosname.bin /nc_cpucode ncpucode.bin (this is the command that works the magic)
6. intelmicrocodelist.exe biosname.bin (This will show you the list of microcodes again, hopefully with the relevant ones updated to the latest 2010 model - there should be 7 of them in all ( 2 x 067A, 4 x 0676 and 1 x 0677).

Thanks, Revhead
Revhead is offline  
post #10578 of 12911 (permalink) Old 10-07-2016, 07:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SantasDeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 23
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revhead View Post

Here you go . . .
A7523NMSP03MOD.zip 464k .zip file
Thank you very much, got the CPU ready and will mod the socket now. thumb.gif
SantasDeer is offline  
post #10579 of 12911 (permalink) Old 10-07-2016, 09:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
shhek0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 157
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Could you advise what are the "safe" temps for a x5460. I mean my PSU is a joke and the case i have does not have any fans installed( I have just removed the side panel of it). When playing a GTA 5 for example my core temps at stock are around 50-55 degrees. Clocking it to 3.8( absolutely stable) the temps jump to 70-75. I see that the max temp given is 63 temps. I know that my PSU and case are for upgrade however at the moment this is not possible. I am also cooling it with be quiet! Pure Rock. Right now i am again running it at stock just want to know how much i can push it. I have also seen videos were the processor is running at 85 however do not know how healthy is this for the proc and how long it would live that way.

Thanks in an advance guys smile.gif
shhek0 is offline  
post #10580 of 12911 (permalink) Old 10-07-2016, 12:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SantasDeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 23
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
It's done! biggrin.gif
The most nerve-wracking part was cutting inside the socket. I didn't realise how tight the CPUs sit inside the socket so I always cut away too few. Had to cut each side three times until it finally fit. rolleyes.gif

So far it seems to run fine.

Front and back of the Xeon E5430 before the mod.


Xeon with applied sticker. Wow, didn't remember how tiny the CPUs are till I had the Xeon in my hands. Haven't seen/touched a CPU in years. biggrin.gif
(Coin for size comparison, 16.25mm in diameter.)


And here goes the old E8200, eight years on the clock and still running. Although it never saw any OC. redface.gif


Stock Xeon in Idle and under Load.


Now let's see how well my board and this CPU overclock. biggrin.gif


Edit: One question about the TJ Max on these things. I read that for the E54xx series, it's 85°C.
When I set the TJ Max in RealTemp to 85°C, it shows temperatures of 15-20°C, although it's like 18°C ambient in my room right now. Is there an "easy" way to calibrate it properly? I read about it in the documentation at TechPowerup but to me it sounds like they are making rocket science out of this. headscratch.gif
SantasDeer is offline  
Reply

Tags
asus p5k64 ws , Evga 680i , Evga 680i Board , Evga 680i Installed , Evga680i , Intel Boxd5400xs Dual Lga 771 Intel 5400 Skulltrail Extended Atx Motherboard , Rampage Formula X48

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off