[MOD] LGA775 Support For LGA771 Xeon CPUs - Page 1291 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[MOD] LGA775 Support For LGA771 Xeon CPUs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12901 of 12909 (permalink) Old 02-08-2019, 09:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Leemarvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 173
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by HelpDatBIOS View Post
Sounds like maybe CPU is bad then! I've seen CPU only work partially, or start then not etc. If it was blocked by board/BIOS, then it would never magically work once even at low speed, then not again.


Buy another same CPU, they're cheap right? Then you'll know for sure if it's faulty CPU or not.
Quote: Originally Posted by schuck6566 View Post
I suggest going with the x5470. It has a faster base clock,(3,3GHz vs 3.0) has a 10x multiplier,and is a 1333Mhz bus. Prices are running $30-$40 U.S. on average.While that's almost double of the cheapest x5472 ($18),it's only about half again the average.($25 vs $35)[email protected] least with the x5470,the question of the 1600Mhz base setting would be removed,and U would have a cpu that's known to OC MUCH better. (4.0GHz is a normal OC for these cpu's to reach without much effort on most boards)
Sadly it's not an option. It took 3 weeks to arrive this one, but it also took 4 months to be released by customs (here in the arse of the world things are more complicated regarding buying stuff abroad)...so basicly I'm not going to try my luck again. It was just a shot in the dark to try with an old mobo that I have here. Plus, I'm unemployed right now so I'm in the selling mode, more than the buying one...I even sold my X99 mobo and there it is my Xeon v3 waiting for a new owner....it really hurt selling my X99 deluxe

Back to the E5472, these last couple of days I managed to make it work quite stable but underperforming, I will upload some pics later. The odd thing is that I could only managed to make it work at certain parameters in the BIOS. And the pain in the arse is that if I change and try new ones, the PC won't boot into BIOS.
On the other hand, when installing my old C2D if some OC fails, I'll be prompted to change my settings in the BIOS. But in the case of the Xeon, it just won't boot AT ALL...so is a pain in the arse to put the C2D, change de settings in the BIOS, put the Xeon again, try new settings, fail, and the whole process time and again...

I have spent more thermal paste in these few days than in my lifetime

PD: this stupid arsehole that is writning here, thought that he has bought the X5472 to just realize when the chip already arrived, that in fact he has bought an E5472 ....yeap, I was that stupid...

X99
(16 items)
CPU
Xeon E5-2673 v3
Motherboard
Asus X99 Deluxe
GPU
ASUS STRIX GTX1080 ti
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX
Hard Drive
WD Black M2 SSD PCIe NVMe 500GB
Hard Drive
HDD1 WD Black 4TB
Hard Drive
HDD2 WD Black 4TB
Power Supply
Seasonic 850w GOLD
Cooling
Cryorig H7 Quad Lumi
Case
NZXT S340 Elite Matte Black
Operating System
Windows 10 PRO 64 bits
Monitor
LG 27UD68P 4K
Keyboard
Corsair K65 LUX RGB MX RED
Mouse
Corsair M95
Audio
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 1st GEN
Other
Yamaha HS5 Audio Monitors
▲ hide details ▲
Leemarvin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12902 of 12909 (permalink) Old 02-09-2019, 10:33 AM
771on775 user,Complainer
 
schuck6566's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,486
Rep: 91 (Unique: 60)
Quote: Originally Posted by Leemarvin View Post
Sadly it's not an option. It took 3 weeks to arrive this one, but it also took 4 months to be released by customs (here in the arse of the world things are more complicated regarding buying stuff abroad)...so basicly I'm not going to try my luck again. It was just a shot in the dark to try with an old mobo that I have here. Plus, I'm unemployed right now so I'm in the selling mode, more than the buying one...I even sold my X99 mobo and there it is my Xeon v3 waiting for a new owner....it really hurt selling my X99 deluxe

Back to the E5472, these last couple of days I managed to make it work quite stable but underperforming, I will upload some pics later. The odd thing is that I could only managed to make it work at certain parameters in the BIOS. And the pain in the arse is that if I change and try new ones, the PC won't boot into BIOS.
On the other hand, when installing my old C2D if some OC fails, I'll be prompted to change my settings in the BIOS. But in the case of the Xeon, it just won't boot AT ALL...so is a pain in the arse to put the C2D, change de settings in the BIOS, put the Xeon again, try new settings, fail, and the whole process time and again...

I have spent more thermal paste in these few days than in my lifetime

PD: this stupid arsehole that is writning here, thought that he has bought the X5472 to just realize when the chip already arrived, that in fact he has bought an E5472 ....yeap, I was that stupid...

the e5472 would be a slightly better cpu because it was a lower power usage chip.(80watts vs 120watts with the x5472) BUT make sure the bios has the correct code. (they use different codes 10676 for the x5472, and 10676 for the CO stepping e5472 & 1067A for the EO stepping e5472. CO(SLANR) & E0 (QFTD, SLBBH) cpu steppings) a CO stepping cpu is shown in the pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	e5472 slanr.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	56.1 KB
ID:	252452  

schuck6566 is offline  
post #12903 of 12909 (permalink) Old 02-09-2019, 10:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Leemarvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 173
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by schuck6566 View Post
the e5472 would be a slightly better cpu because it was a lower power usage chip.(80watts vs 120watts with the x5472) BUT make sure the bios has the correct code. (they use different codes 10676 for the x5472, and 10676 for the CO stepping e5472 & 1067A for the EO stepping e5472. CO(SLANR) & E0 (QFTD, SLBBH) cpu steppings) a CO stepping cpu is shown in the pic.
Thanks for the help man...actually HelpDatBIOS, helped me, (the lad is cool as fvck, he had even also helped me before with my sold X99 rig)....He modded the BIOS that finally allowed me to use the Xeon (Ive tried some modded BIOS I've made that failed miserable), I really dunno what code he has use, or at least I can't recall

X99
(16 items)
CPU
Xeon E5-2673 v3
Motherboard
Asus X99 Deluxe
GPU
ASUS STRIX GTX1080 ti
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX
Hard Drive
WD Black M2 SSD PCIe NVMe 500GB
Hard Drive
HDD1 WD Black 4TB
Hard Drive
HDD2 WD Black 4TB
Power Supply
Seasonic 850w GOLD
Cooling
Cryorig H7 Quad Lumi
Case
NZXT S340 Elite Matte Black
Operating System
Windows 10 PRO 64 bits
Monitor
LG 27UD68P 4K
Keyboard
Corsair K65 LUX RGB MX RED
Mouse
Corsair M95
Audio
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 1st GEN
Other
Yamaha HS5 Audio Monitors
▲ hide details ▲
Leemarvin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12904 of 12909 (permalink) Old 02-11-2019, 12:21 AM
B10S TInk3r
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 443
Rep: 0
Great you have it running somewhat now @Leemarvin - can't believe that about the X vs E CPU!


You'll have to order one of those cheap 30g tubes of paste for $3-5 on ebay, I use those all the time for testing, swapping in/out CPU's, works fine and lasts LONG time!


Yes the mod BIOS you were trying previously did not even had the microcode at all for your CPU, I added latest for all.
I don't remember, your CPU needed 1067A or 10676, and the BIOS you showed me only had the other one which wasn't your CPU, so that's why it wasn't working at all with that BIOS.
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
post #12905 of 12909 (permalink) Old 02-16-2019, 10:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Hi everybody, I have an Asus desktop V3-P5G31 with an Asus P5KPL-VM as motherboard. Now the cpu is an intel E5200 and I would like to install an intel xeon L5420. I’ve installed the latest 0610 BIOS version.

So, first of all, is it possible to install an L5420 ? Which steppings will be supported ? Could anyone help me updating the BIOS microcodes ? You can find the original BIOS HERE.

Also I’ve noticed that I can’t flash the original BIOS of Asus P5KPL-VM but I can only flash the original BIOS of Asus V3-P5G31 even if we are talking about the same motherboard but the first one is the piece standalone and the second one is a desktop (with that motherboard). Is it normal ?

Thanks in advance
Terminator90 is offline  
post #12906 of 12909 (permalink) Old 02-16-2019, 07:07 PM
771on775 user,Complainer
 
schuck6566's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,486
Rep: 91 (Unique: 60)
Quote: Originally Posted by Terminator90 View Post
Hi everybody, I have an Asus desktop V3-P5G31 with an Asus P5KPL-VM as motherboard. Now the cpu is an intel E5200 and I would like to install an intel xeon L5420. I’ve installed the latest 0610 BIOS version.

So, first of all, is it possible to install an L5420 ? Which steppings will be supported ? Could anyone help me updating the BIOS microcodes ? You can find the original BIOS HERE.

Also I’ve noticed that I can’t flash the original BIOS of Asus P5KPL-VM but I can only flash the original BIOS of Asus V3-P5G31 even if we are talking about the same motherboard but the first one is the piece standalone and the second one is a desktop (with that motherboard). Is it normal ?

Thanks in advance
The l5420 has been tested on the ASUS P5KPL-VM mobo and worked. Both steppings should work,I'd use the EO as it's newer. Asus may have a different code on the pc bios then the Mobo bios which would cause it to only flash the pc bios using the bios flash software.(preventing flashing wrong bios).
Here's the bios you linked to with the microcodes for the xeon's added and the 45 & 65nm socket 775 codes updated.
Attached Files
File Type: zip P5KPL-VM-ASUS-V-P5G31-0610 xeon modded.zip (616.0 KB, 2 views)
schuck6566 is offline  
post #12907 of 12909 (permalink) Old 02-18-2019, 11:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Ok, I've flashed successfully the modded BIOS. Now I will buy the L5420 and have to wait for some weeks to receive it. I will let you know the result. Big thanks schuck6566
Terminator90 is offline  
post #12908 of 12909 (permalink) Old 02-18-2019, 12:16 PM
Retired Staff
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 32,759
Rep: 1386 (Unique: 956)
Just out of curiosity here, my main rig is currently in my signature. I've done this mod before successfully on old Gigabyte boards (965p, P35 and P45). My CPU in my sig rig isn't fully up to date yet, that's the planned upgrade path.

My question to you guys, is this Q45 HP DC 7900 Slim Tower motherboard going to work with say a BSEL 400FSB modded, vmodded (slightly overvolt to allow 4.0GHz), Intel Xeon X5470? I happen to have one laying around, but I'd have to order the sticker, and I have no idea if this BIOS will even work with it. The Gigabyte boards were stupid easy, cut the socket, put the sticker on, good to go. But this HP, I have no idea how to even save it without a floppy.

But how cool would it be to have a 4GHz C2Q, 8GB RAM, and 750Ti for a "retro rig" for Windows XP and Linux? I could play every game possible for XP old and new! And Linux, I could play more modern titles (that I can get to work).

Retro Rig
(17 items)
CPU
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4GHz, 1.15v BSEL Modded
Motherboard
HP DC 7900 Series
GPU
MSI GTX750Ti Low Profile
RAM
4x2GB Samsung DDR2-800
Hard Drive
Intel 330 120GB
Hard Drive
2x 500GB WD Black 2.5" RAID0
Optical Drive
Samsung DVDRW
Power Supply
Lite On 240w Bridged Rails
Cooling
Stock HP DC7900 Intel
Case
HP DC7900 Slim Tower
Operating System
Windows XP Professional SP3 x86
Operating System
Kubuntu 18.04 x64
Monitor
Dell 2007FP
Keyboard
Razer Chroma
Mouse
Logitech G602
Audio
Dayton DTA-120
Audio
Micca MB42x
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #12909 of 12909 (permalink) Old 02-18-2019, 07:21 PM
771on775 user,Complainer
 
schuck6566's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,486
Rep: 91 (Unique: 60)
Quote: Originally Posted by pioneerisloud View Post
Just out of curiosity here, my main rig is currently in my signature. I've done this mod before successfully on old Gigabyte boards (965p, P35 and P45). My CPU in my sig rig isn't fully up to date yet, that's the planned upgrade path.

My question to you guys, is this Q45 HP DC 7900 Slim Tower motherboard going to work with say a BSEL 400FSB modded, vmodded (slightly overvolt to allow 4.0GHz), Intel Xeon X5470? I happen to have one laying around, but I'd have to order the sticker, and I have no idea if this BIOS will even work with it. The Gigabyte boards were stupid easy, cut the socket, put the sticker on, good to go. But this HP, I have no idea how to even save it without a floppy.

But how cool would it be to have a 4GHz C2Q, 8GB RAM, and 750Ti for a "retro rig" for Windows XP and Linux? I could play every game possible for XP old and new! And Linux, I could play more modern titles (that I can get to work).
The Q & X series chipsets tended to have issues with the 5xxx series xeon cpu's. For more on that & a possible reason why, see here--> https://www.delidded.com/lga-771-to-775-adapter/2/
schuck6566 is offline  
Reply

Tags
asus p5k64 ws , Evga 680i , Evga 680i Board , Evga 680i Installed , Evga680i , Intel Boxd5400xs Dual Lga 771 Intel 5400 Skulltrail Extended Atx Motherboard , Rampage Formula X48

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off