The Intel Devil's Canyon Owners Club - Page 2287 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

The Intel Devil's Canyon Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22861 of 22911 (permalink) Old 02-11-2019, 03:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,347
Rep: 135 (Unique: 102)
Yeah I should probably just seal it up and do that.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22862 of 22911 (permalink) Old 03-09-2019, 01:30 AM
Not New to Overclock.net
 
Sea Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 65
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
I redid the liquid metal and thermal paste on my 4690K. Hottest peak core temp in IntelBurnTest on Very High, 10 runs is now 84C, which I'm quite happy with. My 32GB of 2400MHz RAM isn't stable at anything faster than 2133. I didn't toy with the timings, so it's currently running at 11-14-14-36. Did some cursory stress tests just for the sake of proof, but I've been running with these settings for a while now. Benchmark times are irrelevant, as I had all of my usual background processes running while stress testing.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	23
Size:	267.6 KB
ID:	258146  


Sea Monkey is offline  
post #22863 of 22911 (permalink) Old 03-10-2019, 12:50 PM
Are you sure about that?
 
TwilightRavens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: OBX, North Carolina
Posts: 913
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
I'm probably going to snag up a 4790K here in the near future and drop my 5775C, all depends on the available funding I have. I really wanna shoot for 5GHz for the first time since my 3770K.

"In Yorkfield, crossing the Ivy Bridge to get over Coffee Lake, while Ryzen to the challenge with my Broadwell."
LGA 1150
(16 items)
AM4 (Wife's Rig)
(14 items)
CPU
Intel® Core™2 Extreme Processor QX9650 4.10GHz (1.48v) 432 x 9.5
Motherboard
EVGA nForce 790i SLI Ultra (132-CK-NF79)
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 SC (2009MHz boost) (+525MHz mem)
RAM
Patriot Signature DDR3 2 x 4GB (8GB) 1726MHz CL9
Hard Drive
Kingston A400 2.5" SATA III SSD 120GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX400
Power Supply
Thermaltake White 80+
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB
Case
Fractal Design Focus G
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (x64)
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy RGB
Mouse
Logitec M510 Wireless Mouse
Other
Noctua NF-F12 PWM
Other
Noctua NF-F12 PWM
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-5775C 4.4GHz (1.4v)
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1 (LGA 1150)
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Superclocked 2.1GHz (boost) 1325MHz GDDR5X
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 4 x 8GB (32GB) 2400MHz 11-13-13-31-2T (1.675v)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo SATA III SSD 120GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM HDD 2TB
Power Supply
Corsair RM850 850W 80+ Gold Efficiency
Cooling
Corsair H100i v2
Case
Corsair Carbide Clear 400C
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
42” HDTV (Temporary)
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy (RGB Illuminated)
Mouse
Logitech M510 Wireless Mouse
Other
Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra
Other
Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Other
Xbox One Wireless Controller for Windows w/ Wireless USB dongle
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 AORUS Ultra Gaming AM4
GPU
MSI R9 380 Core: 1110MHz, GDDR5: 1500MHz
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz CL16 2 x 8GB (16GB)
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 SSD
Hard Drive
HGST 1TB 2.5"
Optical Drive
ASUS CD/DVD Drive
Power Supply
Corsair CX650
Cooling
Wraith Spire AM4 Cooler
Case
DEEPCOOL ATX Case Kendomen TI
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Samsung 24" 1080p curved
Keyboard
Standard Dell wired keyboard from the early 2000's
Mouse
Logitech Standard Wired Mouse
▲ hide details ▲
TwilightRavens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22864 of 22911 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 09:42 AM
Are you sure about that?
 
TwilightRavens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: OBX, North Carolina
Posts: 913
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by Sea Monkey View Post
I redid the liquid metal and thermal paste on my 4690K. Hottest peak core temp in IntelBurnTest on Very High, 10 runs is now 84C, which I'm quite happy with. My 32GB of 2400MHz RAM isn't stable at anything faster than 2133. I didn't toy with the timings, so it's currently running at 11-14-14-36. Did some cursory stress tests just for the sake of proof, but I've been running with these settings for a while now. Benchmark times are irrelevant, as I had all of my usual background processes running while stress testing.
Did you try any of the voltages like system agent, I/O Analog, I/O digital, VCCIN? All of those helped me get my RAM from 2000MHz with 2 x 8GB to 2400MHz with 4 x 8GB. Dram termination voltage may also help. Granted I’m on Broadwell, but it should be exactly the same for Haswell as its still Z97 except slightly easier.

"In Yorkfield, crossing the Ivy Bridge to get over Coffee Lake, while Ryzen to the challenge with my Broadwell."
LGA 1150
(16 items)
AM4 (Wife's Rig)
(14 items)
CPU
Intel® Core™2 Extreme Processor QX9650 4.10GHz (1.48v) 432 x 9.5
Motherboard
EVGA nForce 790i SLI Ultra (132-CK-NF79)
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 SC (2009MHz boost) (+525MHz mem)
RAM
Patriot Signature DDR3 2 x 4GB (8GB) 1726MHz CL9
Hard Drive
Kingston A400 2.5" SATA III SSD 120GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX400
Power Supply
Thermaltake White 80+
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB
Case
Fractal Design Focus G
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (x64)
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy RGB
Mouse
Logitec M510 Wireless Mouse
Other
Noctua NF-F12 PWM
Other
Noctua NF-F12 PWM
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-5775C 4.4GHz (1.4v)
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1 (LGA 1150)
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Superclocked 2.1GHz (boost) 1325MHz GDDR5X
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 4 x 8GB (32GB) 2400MHz 11-13-13-31-2T (1.675v)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo SATA III SSD 120GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM HDD 2TB
Power Supply
Corsair RM850 850W 80+ Gold Efficiency
Cooling
Corsair H100i v2
Case
Corsair Carbide Clear 400C
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
42” HDTV (Temporary)
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy (RGB Illuminated)
Mouse
Logitech M510 Wireless Mouse
Other
Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra
Other
Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Other
Xbox One Wireless Controller for Windows w/ Wireless USB dongle
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 AORUS Ultra Gaming AM4
GPU
MSI R9 380 Core: 1110MHz, GDDR5: 1500MHz
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz CL16 2 x 8GB (16GB)
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 SSD
Hard Drive
HGST 1TB 2.5"
Optical Drive
ASUS CD/DVD Drive
Power Supply
Corsair CX650
Cooling
Wraith Spire AM4 Cooler
Case
DEEPCOOL ATX Case Kendomen TI
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Samsung 24" 1080p curved
Keyboard
Standard Dell wired keyboard from the early 2000's
Mouse
Logitech Standard Wired Mouse
▲ hide details ▲
TwilightRavens is offline  
post #22865 of 22911 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 05:58 PM
Not New to Overclock.net
 
Sea Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 65
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by TwilightRavens View Post
Did you try any of the voltages like system agent, I/O Analog, I/O digital, VCCIN?
No.

Sea Monkey is offline  
post #22866 of 22911 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 07:18 PM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 704
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
So, weirdest thing's happening. I used to run my CPU at 4.8GHz at 1.32V (In BIOS, 1.344V actual in HWiNFO64). At some point, I decided to try the newer microcodes that were supposed to improve overclocking a bit. I installed the new BIOS and my CPU couldn't hold 4.8GHz no matter what I did. So I reverted to the BIOS I was using before (3003 from Asus, I think) and it still wouldn't do 4.8GHz with the same settings as before. Like, it wouldn't even complete a Cinebench run at settings that were stable for multiple hours a while back. Then I decided to start running the damn thing at 4.7GHz with the same settings that I used to use for 4.8GHz before. Fast forward 4-5 months and I decided to retry for 4.8GHz. I changed nothing else, just the multiplier. Boom, it works. Just like that. I'm confused.

Quote: Originally Posted by Sea Monkey View Post
No.
Then do. If your memory is hindering stability, I've found that pushing IO voltages and, especially, system agent voltage helps a lot. My RAM wouldn't go above 2200MHz by any means at first, but when I increased VCCSA it started doing 2400MHz happily. And with tighter timings than the stock 2133MHz.

Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB
tolis626 is offline  
post #22867 of 22911 (permalink) Old 03-24-2019, 03:52 AM
Not New to Overclock.net
 
Sea Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 65
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by tolis626 View Post
Then do. If your memory is hindering stability, I've found that pushing IO voltages and, especially, system agent voltage helps a lot. My RAM wouldn't go above 2200MHz by any means at first, but when I increased VCCSA it started doing 2400MHz happily. And with tighter timings than the stock 2133MHz.
Tried some of the quick settings in the Gigabyte Z97 OC thread with no luck. Still hard crashes pretty quickly at anything above 2133.

Sea Monkey is offline  
post #22868 of 22911 (permalink) Old 03-24-2019, 06:14 AM
Are you sure about that?
 
TwilightRavens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: OBX, North Carolina
Posts: 913
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by tolis626 View Post
So, weirdest thing's happening. I used to run my CPU at 4.8GHz at 1.32V (In BIOS, 1.344V actual in HWiNFO64). At some point, I decided to try the newer microcodes that were supposed to improve overclocking a bit. I installed the new BIOS and my CPU couldn't hold 4.8GHz no matter what I did. So I reverted to the BIOS I was using before (3003 from Asus, I think) and it still wouldn't do 4.8GHz with the same settings as before. Like, it wouldn't even complete a Cinebench run at settings that were stable for multiple hours a while back. Then I decided to start running the damn thing at 4.7GHz with the same settings that I used to use for 4.8GHz before. Fast forward 4-5 months and I decided to retry for 4.8GHz. I changed nothing else, just the multiplier. Boom, it works. Just like that. I'm confused.
I had a similar thing like that except with RAM and not core clock. When I originally built the system I bought 4 x 8GB of Corsair Vengeance 2400MHz, and it would run at that with all 4 sticks, one day something happened (I forgot what exactly) and it would no longer work at 2400MHz. So I ran it at 2000MHz for a good two years, a few weeks ago I started messing around with settings to try and I think it was up my cache to 4.1GHz (I didn’t, but I was trying) and set the BCLK:RAM ratio to 100:100 instead of Auto, I set my timings and speed on my RAM to 2400 11-13-13-31 and BAM for some reason the computer posted with no stability issues. Don’t know why it all of a sudden decided to work but it did. The whole time I knew it wasn’t the RAM kit because I had it running on my old Z77 board at 2666MHz back before I killed it. The even weirder part comes in to when I change a voltage (doesn’t even have to be RAM related, It could be Vcore for example) and the computer will not post at all and I have to spend about 45 minutes switching it in and out of Auto and 100:100 until it decides to post. Its so weird and I still don’t understand it to this day, because I’m used to setting XMP and rolling with it but that does not work on this board at all so it has to be done manually.

Edit: Sometimes 100:100 won’t work and I’ll have to do 100:133 and do 2400MHz, it’s completely random when it decides to work. Once it is set though it has no problems posting unless like I said change literally anything in bios or power gets shut off unbeknownst to me. Then its fighting an uphill battle. Granted I’m on a modded BIOS but it still does it even on a non modded one so *shrug*. Some computers are just freaking weird.

"In Yorkfield, crossing the Ivy Bridge to get over Coffee Lake, while Ryzen to the challenge with my Broadwell."
LGA 1150
(16 items)
AM4 (Wife's Rig)
(14 items)
CPU
Intel® Core™2 Extreme Processor QX9650 4.10GHz (1.48v) 432 x 9.5
Motherboard
EVGA nForce 790i SLI Ultra (132-CK-NF79)
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 SC (2009MHz boost) (+525MHz mem)
RAM
Patriot Signature DDR3 2 x 4GB (8GB) 1726MHz CL9
Hard Drive
Kingston A400 2.5" SATA III SSD 120GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX400
Power Supply
Thermaltake White 80+
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB
Case
Fractal Design Focus G
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (x64)
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy RGB
Mouse
Logitec M510 Wireless Mouse
Other
Noctua NF-F12 PWM
Other
Noctua NF-F12 PWM
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-5775C 4.4GHz (1.4v)
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1 (LGA 1150)
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Superclocked 2.1GHz (boost) 1325MHz GDDR5X
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 4 x 8GB (32GB) 2400MHz 11-13-13-31-2T (1.675v)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo SATA III SSD 120GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM HDD 2TB
Power Supply
Corsair RM850 850W 80+ Gold Efficiency
Cooling
Corsair H100i v2
Case
Corsair Carbide Clear 400C
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
42” HDTV (Temporary)
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy (RGB Illuminated)
Mouse
Logitech M510 Wireless Mouse
Other
Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra
Other
Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Other
Xbox One Wireless Controller for Windows w/ Wireless USB dongle
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 AORUS Ultra Gaming AM4
GPU
MSI R9 380 Core: 1110MHz, GDDR5: 1500MHz
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz CL16 2 x 8GB (16GB)
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 SSD
Hard Drive
HGST 1TB 2.5"
Optical Drive
ASUS CD/DVD Drive
Power Supply
Corsair CX650
Cooling
Wraith Spire AM4 Cooler
Case
DEEPCOOL ATX Case Kendomen TI
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Samsung 24" 1080p curved
Keyboard
Standard Dell wired keyboard from the early 2000's
Mouse
Logitech Standard Wired Mouse
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by TwilightRavens; 03-24-2019 at 06:19 AM.
TwilightRavens is offline  
post #22869 of 22911 (permalink) Old 03-24-2019, 08:11 AM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 704
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by Sea Monkey View Post
Tried some of the quick settings in the Gigabyte Z97 OC thread with no luck. Still hard crashes pretty quickly at anything above 2133.
Well, take it easy, take it slow. If you want to mess with memory on Haswell, you're getting in pretty deep waters. Not because it's advanced or anything, but because Haswell's propensity to bull**** is unmatched as you can see in my post and that of TwilightRavens.

So, first off, change one thing at a time. Not juts because it's good practice to change things gradually so that you know what helps and what doesn't, but also because one thing may help stability and another may hinder it, getting you back to square one. Before you do anything else, do you have HWiNFO64 installed? If not, install it and check what your system agent and IO voltages are (VCCIO-A, VCCIO-D and VCCSA for me). Also, what's your input voltage and your cache voltage? RAM voltage? Timings? Could very well be that the damn thing is trying to boot 2400MHz with 2133MHz secondary and tertiary timings, which would be no good, so you may need to mess with those too. And if you do, you're really in deep waters.
Quote: Originally Posted by TwilightRavens View Post
I had a similar thing like that except with RAM and not core clock. When I originally built the system I bought 4 x 8GB of Corsair Vengeance 2400MHz, and it would run at that with all 4 sticks, one day something happened (I forgot what exactly) and it would no longer work at 2400MHz. So I ran it at 2000MHz for a good two years, a few weeks ago I started messing around with settings to try and I think it was up my cache to 4.1GHz (I didn’t, but I was trying) and set the BCLK:RAM ratio to 100:100 instead of Auto, I set my timings and speed on my RAM to 2400 11-13-13-31 and BAM for some reason the computer posted with no stability issues. Don’t know why it all of a sudden decided to work but it did. The whole time I knew it wasn’t the RAM kit because I had it running on my old Z77 board at 2666MHz back before I killed it. The even weirder part comes in to when I change a voltage (doesn’t even have to be RAM related, It could be Vcore for example) and the computer will not post at all and I have to spend about 45 minutes switching it in and out of Auto and 100:100 until it decides to post. Its so weird and I still don’t understand it to this day, because I’m used to setting XMP and rolling with it but that does not work on this board at all so it has to be done manually.

Edit: Sometimes 100:100 won’t work and I’ll have to do 100:133 and do 2400MHz, it’s completely random when it decides to work. Once it is set though it has no problems posting unless like I said change literally anything in bios or power gets shut off unbeknownst to me. Then its fighting an uphill battle. Granted I’m on a modded BIOS but it still does it even on a non modded one so *shrug*. Some computers are just freaking weird.
I swear man, Z97's tendency to make absolutely no sense is unparalleled. Other than the issue I described in my previous post, I also had issues with my RAM (settings that were unstable before would go on to work with some errors first and then with no errors at all), issues with me not being able to overclock my cache at all whereas now it's at 4.3GHz 1.15V, I had my rig running stable at 1.7V input voltage for months until one day it decided to not work and it wanted 1.85V, while now it's more stable at 1.9V for some reason... I can go on, but you get the point. It makes no sense. It's not even degradation we're talking about here. Unless the damn thing degraded and then healed itself. In that case, I'm impressed. Otherwise, I'm pissed.

EDIT : Ah, I forgot to mention my favorite nonsensical behavior. So, when it was stable at 4.8GHz a few months back, it wasn't stable after a cold boot. It went like this. Cold boot-> Instability within 10 minutes of any stress test or game. Reboot (Be it manual right after booting or because of BSOD)-> Everything was stable and it would pass stress tests all day long. That behavior persisted until it decided to not work at 4.8GHz at all (Even with voltage set to nearly 1.4V). Now it works without needing all that jazz. Oh well...

Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB

Last edited by tolis626; 03-24-2019 at 08:23 AM.
tolis626 is offline  
post #22870 of 22911 (permalink) Old 03-24-2019, 09:10 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,880
Rep: 293 (Unique: 214)
With RAM you will want to invest the time to lock down every single setting to manual instead of automatic. The automatics will use different settings based mood each system start... making resolving issues near impossible.

Vsa, ioa, iod tend to automatically go very high with XMP enabled, you don't need that much as many mobos use unless you're pushing some rare expensive 2933 DDR3.

For every setting you want to set manual instead of automatic.
JackCY is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off